We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best breakfast, not a great dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Madam Cuc 127

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Madam Cuc 127
Ranked #126 of 426 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best breakfast, not a great dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

Great location on a main backpacker street but still quiet to sleep. Small basic but clean rooms. Staff were helpful and provided good tours and city information. Breakfast and dinner were included, the breakfast was definitely worth getting up for but dinner wasnt great - spend the money you save and go out for dinner! Really great value hostel

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gribbin89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    63
    34
    16
    8
See reviews for
16
82
34
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

the toilet leaked everytime it flushed, all over the floor where u shower. There was aircon and a fan but only one sheet so I became too cold with aircon on. Very noisy, could here a lot of street noise. Wasn't very impressed. Had planned to stay 3 nights, checked out after 1st night, staff weren't very friendly when I asked to leave.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank megausarus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We thought that Madam Cuc was very good value for money - free internet, and breakfast, juice, snacks, and dinner all included in the price! The location was also very good, only a short walk from all the main sights. The staff were also very friendly and helpful, and the rooms were large, comfortable, and air-conditioned. My only complaint is that our room was up a lot of stairs and there was no lift! Would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajijic, Mexico
Level Contributor
227 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We spent 4 nights at Madam Cuc 127 and we were thoroughly satisfied with the service, rooms and location. All the staff are friendly & English speaking. The rooms were spacious and spotless.
There was abundant hot water for long showers. we had a triple room ($25 USD), our friends had
a double ($25). Breakfasts were quite good with fairly good options. Airport pick-up was $14 for
3 people. The rooms had TV, AC and fan, and a large fridge. The staff called taxis for us and made sure we headed in the right direction. For a back-packer hotel we were surprised at the level of service and accommodation. One caveat; there is no elevator and you may be up 4 levels
and no shoes allowed above the street floor. An added bonus for HCMC....the hotel was quiet!

Room Tip: Madam Cuc has several hotels in the area. 127 is the best of the lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marshall K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

We went on the advise on tripadvisor and from a friend and this place did not disappoint. There is quite a lot of risk taken when booking into accom in Vietnam sight unseen but this place was totally fine. Location is good, near the busy Bui vein road but not on it. Local market on the corner nearby as well. The staff are super helpful and the food they provide for free is an added bonus as it is simple but much appreciated for travelers on a budget. Room was simple and clean - having a fridge was good too. The lady in charge is genuinely concerned that you are enjoying your stay and will help out with tours etc. we booked a making delta tour which was an action packed day...and sooo cheap. After doing other tours in Vietnam and Thailand this was definitely one of the better ones. Overall, great stay.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

I really enjoyed!!! good location, room and a great hospitality everything that I was looking for...plus the services such as: booking trips, finding flights and free advice of what to do and where to go...and I love my soup!!!
:)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Japanese_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

this place is quite a bit different to the usual backpackers we visited!

I warmly recommend it. The rooms themselves are pretty much standard. You get what you pay for. they are clean and not expensive.

the great thing about this place that makes it so different are the FREE SOUP and unlimited FREE BANANAS, that you get. - a bit random but makes a great experience and goes really well with the backpackers budget!!

they have two buildings and we were assured they are of the same quality. In any way, we got sent to the newer one (the older one is the one with the positive lonely planet review recommendation), and the newer one where we stayed was all you really needed.

So in this case I guess, go for either place, as to my knowledge they both seem alright!

the owners are incredibly friendly which made this one of my favourite backpackers while travelling thru vietnam!!

warmly recommend it!! free daily soup and unlimited bananas! you wont find this twice!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itssosoph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.0 mi away
Madam Cuc 184
Madam Cuc 184
#114 of 426 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 stars 129 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ngoc Linh Hotel
Ngoc Linh Hotel
#64 of 426 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 310 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cat Huy Hotel
Cat Huy Hotel
#39 of 426 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Meraki Hotel
Meraki Hotel
#89 of 426 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 stars 300 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bich Duyen Hotel
Bich Duyen Hotel
#23 of 426 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,070 reviews
0.1 mi away
Graceful Saigon Hotel
Graceful Saigon Hotel
#93 of 426 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madam Cuc 127? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madam Cuc 127

Property: Madam Cuc 127
Address: 127 D Cong Quynh | Pham Ngu Lao Area, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Madam Cuc 127 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Madam Cuc 127 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madam Cuc 127 Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing