We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overcrowded, Bad Behavior”
Review of Dam Sen Water Park

Dam Sen Water Park
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The water park's slides and rides make it a popular local attraction that gets busy on the weekends. Go on a weekday for a welcome break from the hustle and heat of the city.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Ho Chi Minh City
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Overcrowded, Bad Behavior”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Went with my local partner - big mistake. Other than the fact that this place is utterly packed with people, there are some other issues like:

People making extremely rude comments about you/women
Men swimming around, touching women inappropriately
Probably a lot of urine, of course
Long waits for just about everything

Stuff you might experience anywhere with water, but with the high density of people it happens a lot more than at a beach.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank ReviewDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    208
    104
    37
    28
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“What what you wear to this park!”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

It is hard to know even where to start. There was a large group of us 10 adults and 4 kids we were there from 9AM until the park closed at 6PM. The first thing to mention is be careful what you wear. If your bathing suit, shorts or whatever you may be wearing has even one small metal ring on it you will not be allowed on the slides. My bathing suit had one small ring on the back pocket to let the water drain out and I was lucky as it wasn’t noticed until 3PM when I was told after waiting in line for 30+ minutes that I would not be allowed to go on the slide. Other points to take note of: the walkways around the park are very slick as the cement blocks in the ground have been painted. I saw at least 6 kids go down as well as a two adults I nearly went down myself several times. Don’t let the little ones run! Park was over crowded way to many people. Lines were long with a lot of people cutting in line. The staff does nothing when they see people cut in line. The slides can be a bit rough as I came off the tornado slide with a hunk of skin taken out of my back. I also hut cuts on elbows and black and blue fingers. There were others in the group also had black and blues and various bruises and sore necks from the rides. The rope swing over the waterfall can be neck jarring I would advise to let go before you hit the end. Bathrooms were small and overcrowded. It was fairly clean in the morning but with such a large crowd it quickly became quite dirty. I would avoid weekend or public holidays if you want to avoid the pure craziness the we experienced. Kids need to be 1.4 meters tall to get on all but two of the slides. You can be have fun but be careful what you wear and what rides you go on. We brought our own food in which I would recommend.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mcd69paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“not really interesting”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

There are other amusement park more interesting for kids. Weekend is very crowded. Swimming pool is dirty.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Theresa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great fun”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I dont quite get some of the negative reviews on here about this place.

This waterpark located in central HCMC is great fun for the whole family.
Visited on a spare day we had. Yes it is full of locals but there very friendly and it is their city!
There is a tourist sun deck if you wish to be away from locals and free lockers are provided for tourists.
Entry fee in about 120.000 VD but reduced to about 80.000 VD after 4pm. open till 6pm ish.

The park is huge! and plenty of space and rides, resturants and sunbeds etc etc
Ques for rides are short i mean 7-8 mins max, and i went on what seemed to be a very busy day.

Variety of rides / slides all great fun!.


Tip. Female tourists you are expected to keep coverd (tshirts / shorts) its not compulsary but frowned upon if not abided too. Plenty of sun lotion.

my thoughts if you have a spare few hours and want to cool off, then you will have a great time.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank carlingWolverhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu Island, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good for kids”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

The place is clean, there are a lot of attractions to choose from specially for kids. The train ride allowed aerial view of the whole park.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GloRy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dam Sen Water Park also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Dam Sen Water Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing