We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good morning Vietnam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thuan Duc

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Thuan Duc
Ranked #174 of 426 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good morning Vietnam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We chose this hotel because of its price but stayed because it was flipping amazing. Clean, tidy, good hosts and in the middle of..well ... Real life. We spent our time here actually mixing with Vietnamese people. We could have stayed in the backpackers area (2 streets but a whole world away). We ate only street food ( no danger) booked good value trips, the host was super helpful and didn't even mind us hanging our washing on her balcony. There were amazing backstreets which were super safe that sold beer at night and fresh smoothies for the morning after.
Even when we stayed out till 4 they let us in
Thanks for an amazing stay I hope every body else loves it as much as we did.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank theresa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    28
    10
    6
    3
See reviews for
3
25
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay at the Thuan Duc hotel! It is a small hotel with only a couple of rooms. I had a room on the 4th floor, with a little window. The room was very clean, only had some minor ant issues as is apparantly common in Vietnam (they are really small, crawl only on the ground and do not bother you at all). The shower had warm water. Furthermore there was a TV, a fridge and airco. Of course for this price you get a basic hotel, no luxury, but if you only want to sleep in the room but still want to have a neat room this is your first choice!

The hotel is run by a family who care for their hotel and the well-being of their guests. The lady was really very helpful and gave me great hints on how to get on to Tra Vinh cheaply by public transport. She even called a bus company for me!

Would stay here again without hesitating!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BenTraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

This hotel and the owner really made that difference to our Vietnam holiday. It is tucked away in a small lane way away from the traffic noise of Hoi Chi Minh City. The room we stayed in was comfortable and clean with air conditioning and a ceiling fan.. The room had an Asian 'wet room' ensuite bathroom in which when you turn on the shower just about everything gets wet. (:-).
The hotel staff were very helpful.

Room Tip: All rooms have free wifi and are comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 7CherylK7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

The owner of this hotel is extremely helpful. She gave you many options of tours/restaurants/etc, including the budget ones, not just recommending what she may receive a commission for. Also helpful in teaching you some useful Vietnamese phrases! She will organise tours for you with Tropic Tours but is not at all pushy. I loved that this hotel was down a bit of a winding alleyway - it felt that every time you went back it was more like going home to your 'apartment' rather than an obvious hotel. And I don't think it's that hard to find - it's 219 Pham Ngu Lau - just find the closest lane to that number on the main street and walk down it (keep left). Rooms very quiet, very basic but a nice clean bed and you can rely on Loan (the owner) to keep your luggage safe if you need to travel elsewhere for a short time. The lady straight across from it will also make you a lovely Vietnamese coffee for 10000dong (50c)! Really great place.

Room Tip: Opt for a room with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Anita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

I just arrived in Ho Chi Minh City today and it took me over an hour to find this hotel and asking a number of different people where it is located. I got sent in every direction and there is good reason for this it's because it's down are dark alley off another dark alley with everything else around it closed up. Went to check in and got told "we have 2 hotels I put you in the other one 2 doors down" (alarm bells started ringing) I asked to see the room and it was like someone put a mattress in a shoebox and called it a guesthouse. (The room door didn't even have a lock that worked.) I told them I wouldn't be staying as I didn't feel safe. (Single female travelling alone).

Walked into the Phan Lan 2 and was treated like royalty and felt safe!!!
I should have gone with my first choice and booked the Phan Lan 2 to begin with.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlzDarlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2010

While the place is hard to find (tucked in an alley inside an alley off Pham Ngu Lao), it is well and truly worth the effort. The room was quiet, comfortable with a TV and aircon, and cheaper than other hotels nearby. The hotel provides tour and bus booking services, and are often cheaper than the travel agents nearby. I will definitely stay there again!

Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Bajar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2010

Used this hotel as our base in Ho Chi Minh city for a few days. The staff were very helpful and friendly throughout our stay. The lady on the desk has good English.
It is located just off the popular street of Pham Ngu Lao and provided us with a welcome sanctuary from the hectic main streets. Once we had located the hotel we had no problem in finding it again, but we did find that most maps do not show the layout of the alleyways very accurately.
Rooms are simple, with fridge, tv, AC and the hotel is kept very clean (they politely ask you to take your shoes off when you walk through).
There are no communal facilities and breakfast is not included so opportunities to meet other travellers are limited, however it suited our needs and we had a good stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sammys_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.2 mi away
Thuy Tien Hotel
Thuy Tien Hotel
#221 of 426 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 stars 66 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thao Nhi Hotel
Thao Nhi Hotel
#139 of 426 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 stars 50 reviews
2.6 mi away
Thien Vu Hotel
Thien Vu Hotel
#137 of 426 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 stars 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ha Vy Hotel
Ha Vy Hotel
#166 of 426 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 stars 58 reviews
0.3 mi away
Madam Cuc 184
Madam Cuc 184
#112 of 426 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 stars 129 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hong Kong Kaiteki Hotel
Hong Kong Kaiteki Hotel
#136 of 426 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 stars 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thuan Duc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thuan Duc

Property: Thuan Duc
Address: 26 219, Pham Ngu Lao | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #174 of 426 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Thuan Duc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thuan Duc Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing