We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for its location”
Review of Victory Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Victory Hotel
Ranked #357 of 457 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good value for its location”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Staying here for two weeks. The buffet breakfast is very varied - something for everyone and lots of it! The pool area is quite basic but what do you expect for the price? The water looks clear and the views of the city from the rooftop are a bit different to normal pool surroundings. The staff respect the "do not disturb" sign I hang on my door every morning but make up the room every afternoon as soon as I have gone out. Clean room and firm mattress. Everything working - TV, minibar and aircon. This is a suitable place for a solo traveller wanting peace and quiet without being hassled by overfamiliar staff. There's a handy supermarket less than five minutes walk away and the War Remnants Museum is at the end of the street. Overall, very good value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kath N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    86
    99
    40
    27
See reviews for
62
93
34
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Clontarf, Queensland
Level Contributor
317 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

This is the second time my wife and I have stayed at this hotel, this time for two days in transit to Hoi An from Australia.

When we realised we needed somewhere for a couple of nights, the old tried and tested Victory came to mind, why not, it was good value before and it proved to be again.

The hotel has improved in so much that the water is now constantly hot and the wifi is more than adequate.

We still feel the breakfast is one the best selections available at the inclusive price of $45 a night, though i know some reviewers have complained, can't see why! There must be so many choices several visits to the tables would ensure a totally different choice each time, Vietnamese, English\American , French etc.

The hotel is one block from the Co-op supermarket ensuring the reasonably priced bar fridge can be undercut. It's proximity to restaurants and the city centre are a stroll and guess what? Your first Ho Chi Minh road to cross by yourself is oneway, giving you the confidence you will need.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We booked this hotel for a weeks stay in Saigon mainly because it had a pool. However the pool has only a few old beds around it which are quickly taken and the pool is also open to non residents just by paying at reception. It is also used by a local swimming teacher to give lessons which means that even more space is taken up.and as it is a small pool this is not good It is also quite murky and not cleaned. I was very disappointed and would choose a different hotel if i come to Saigon again. The room was supposed to be a deluxe room but it was very dark and not very clean The rooms are carpeted and the carpets quite dirty. Staff are not friendly and when we came to pay on check out it took 30 minutes as they said our card did not work. We tried 4 different cards and none worked and I said it was probably the machine only to be told no you have no money machine is ok! Eventually she entered the card number manually and it worked straight away but no apology. Could have done without the hassle and the delay caused in getting to the airport. We asked to keep our room longer as it was a late flight which they let us do which was good but cost 30dollars. My overall impression was that it was for the Vietnamese who were given priority over tourists from other countries.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel as this is not good value for money. You can always go and usetheir. Pool if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maclarencat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ho Chi Minh City hotels

Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
273 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed at the Victory twice while we were in Saigon. We had been here in Decemebr last year and find it to be suitable to our needs. On the first occasions this time we were given a very small room but we spoke to the reception and we were immediately changed.It is in a good position for sightseeing. The breakfast is excellent and the swimming pool is perfect. The staff are nice and it is close to a number of restaurants. I can't find any faults here and we will be back again. Totally recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keegan_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Suitable for permanent residence or for an overnight stay for one night
Ordinary rooms, cleaning is present
Breakfast is not very diverse
On the top floor there is a massage
There is a pool on the roof, he is in demand as a tourist and locals
Therefore, the pool is always crowded
Next to the hotel there are shops and markets, as well as many cafes

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirill_Keriman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed in the Victory to 5 nights, its located close to the war museum and the reunification palace, very easy to get anywhere from here.
The hotel is a little older, but I am reviewing this to the money I paid and not comparing it to a 5 star hotel like some reviews (if you want 5 star pay for it). The pool on the roof was great for the early morning sun and a dip after a hot day in the city. Rooms were clean and the service was good, breakfast was a feast if you like the tradition Vietnamise breakfast. If I go back to HCMC I will stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SkyeStu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucheon, South Korea
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I stayed 6 nights. Everything was pretty nice - I travel on the cheaper side of things so this was a bit of a treat. However, I kept having problems with my air conditioner not working. The good part was that they would come fix it within 5 minutes. Three times, though. Then the ceiling started leaking in the bathroom. Again, they fixed it while I ate at the restaurant for breakfast. Their pho was very good though. It's right next to the War Remnants Museum and a supermarket, which was convenient.

Room Tip: Room 412 has a bad air conditioner (as of 12/31/12)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JosephJHaraburda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.8 mi away
Mars Saigon Boutique Hotel
Mars Saigon Boutique Hotel
#373 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
129 reviews
0.8 mi away
Thien Tung Hotel
Thien Tung Hotel
#247 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
185 reviews
27.5 mi away
Les Hameaux de l'Orient
Les Hameaux de l'Orient
#115 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sunland Saigon Riverside Hotel
Sunland Saigon Riverside Hotel
#61 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,098 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hoa Phat Hotel & Apartment
Hoa Phat Hotel & Apartment
#291 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
30 reviews
0.5 mi away
Golden Central Hotel
Golden Central Hotel
#83 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victory Hotel

Property: Victory Hotel
Address: 141 Nam KY Khoi Nghia Street | District 3, HCMC, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #357 of 457 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Victory Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victory Hotel is located in the heart of Ho Chi Minh City, a 5-minute walk from Independence Palace. It offers an outdoor pool and health club. Free Wi-Fi is provided.Hotel Victory is within a 10-minute walk from Notre Dam Church and War Museum. Tan Son Nhat International Airport is 15 minutes’ away by car.Rooms are fitted with flat-screen TVs and a minibar. En suite bathrooms offer bathtubs, with select rooms offering spa bathtubs. Safety deposit boxes are provided.Guests can enjoy a work out at the fitness centre or head for a relaxing sauna session. Laundry and dry cleaning services are available in the hotel.A European, Asian or traditional Vietnamese meal can be enjoyed at Victory Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Victory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing