We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location! Wonderful staff!!”
Review of Meraki Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Meraki Hotel
Ranked #102 of 458 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Westminster, California
1 review
“Great location! Wonderful staff!!”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

I went to Vietnam for the first time and stayed at this hotel in January. Initially my family and I had reservations at a hotel near Cho Ben Thanh but after the first night, we realized everything around us closed at 10pm and it was too quiet and no signs of nightlife. My uncle then suggested Bizu Hotel, where he has stayed multiple times. First thing i noticed upon arriving at Bui Vien was the busy street full of people, street vendors, restaurants and bars. There were a lot of foreigners (hence the nickname "backpackers district") and everyone spoke english everywhere we went. The hotel was very clean, and quiet (even though my window was right above Bui Vien St) and the employees were so nice and accommodating. I ended up staying in 3 different rooms throughout my stay and i was pleased with all of them. The price was a deal, considering how busy the location is. The staff was so helpful..from calling taxis to checking airline fares or even giving us helpful advice on how to travel within the city. My parents, grandma and uncle ended up switching from their hotel to come stay at this one after seeing how it was when they came to visit. Thank you Kenny, Harry, Kathy, Suri, Vincent and Jenny for making my first visit such a wonderful experience! I am already planning my visit for next year and will definitely be staying here again!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    126
    59
    15
    11
See reviews for
46
109
52
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Taguig City, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

We came here with our 8 month old son. This hotel is located in the heart of the busiest street in district 1. Tons of street food, restaurants and travelers. There are places to book tours and exchange dollars at good rates. The breakfast pho ga was delicious, but beware that it often runs out. The service here is outstanding. Harry (the manager) speaks great English, is so kind and helpful and made me feel extremely special. On my birthday, they surprised me with a cute note and cake. :)

We booked the suite that had a real mini fridge, tub, 2 queen beds, a twin bed table, and couch overlooking the bustling street below. Request a room high and in the back because of the noise. There's also a really loud rooster that decides when it's time to wake up and if you don't hear it the first time, he will sound the alarm a few more times at 1 hour increments.

It's not the nicest or new by any means, but it's clean and safe. The aircon was spraying water on ice and dropping ice cubes but we just stuffed it with tissues.

There's someone to get you a taxi if needed and you can pretty much walk anywhere from thos location or pay $1 to go anywhere within district 1 via taxi.

We truly enjoyed our stay here. I would recommend this place if you are looking for an affordable place that isn't a hostel.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank CrabisGOOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Located in the backpacker district it's close to all the nightlife and yet you'd hardly know it in your room. We have now stayed in both hotels owned by the Bizu, right next to each other, and both are an excellent deal. Although, the taller of the two has interesting showers that are very small and hard to turn around in, not too safe for those who have unstable footing. The 10th floor has a decent enough breakfast and the staff is willing to take care of you with a smile. We rented motorbikes from the front desk with ease. This is probably the best hotel you'll find for the money in this area. Very clean, housekeeping is prompt and the beds are slightly lumpy but we've had a good night sleep every night so I can't complain. This is our second time in Saigon and we've stayed here both times.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StacyOsterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Value for money and superb service from the staff, in particular Ms. Kathy and Ms. Jolie who went all the way to assist us in planning our 4 days in HCMC. The location in Bui Vien street is very convenient and very strategic which makes walking very interesting. We were recommended the full day city tour and a day tour to Cu Chi tunnel and Cao Dai temple with the company Delta which offers clean coach and good English speaking tour guides. Our taxi driver had some trouble locating the hotel as there is no sign board! Otherwise, we highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a high floor and avoid the front room as there are lots of pubs downstairs and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffandJoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Bizu (also known as Saigon Mini Hotel, aka Dai Hoang Kim Hotel - they are undergoing a merger with neighbouring properties) is a fine hotel in the middle of a terrible backpacker neighbourhood called Pham Ngu Lao. This backpacker area is crowded, it is noisy, it is smelly, and the people (mostly tourists, often drunk) are obnoxious.

Here are some very good things about Bizu:
- It is clean. Our room, the bathroom, the towels and sheets etc, were very clean by Asian discount hotel standards (however, there were scuff marks on the walls, the shower door didn't close properly, and other minor blemishes that would not be acceptable in a North American hotel but are perfectly fine here).
- The staff is very helpful. Quick service, friendly. They kept our bag for free in a secure office after we checked out (our bus wasn't leaving until the afternoon). They were also really good about giving directions.
- Everything worked as described (AC, internet, etc).

And some bad things:
- Hallways reeking of cigarettes, other guests smoking everywhere (including in the elevator!).
- Most of the staff speaks very little or no English. There was one lady at the counter who spoke excellent English, though, so it was a relief whenever she was there.
- There will be non-stop noise from the street, drunk people, and nightclubs, no matter which room you are in and no matter how good your earplugs are.

We paid $39 per night for a "superior" room (which we bought through Expedia and experienced no problems), which is incredibly small but has a window. I haven't stayed anywhere else in Ho Chi MInh City so I can't really compare prices, but we shopped around a bit and this seems to be a little on the expensive side for the level of quality.

To sum up: clean, decent, perhaps a little expensive when compared to other hotels in the area. I recommend finding a different area, though.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank lennybruceisdead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Formerly known as the Saigon Mini Hotel 5 (and some of the staff still wearing shirts with that name) it's still value for money. Cleaner than most of the gaffs on Bui Vien and very helpful staff. A decent double starts with 25 USD, but I enjoyed staying here three times and looking for a cheaper place only applies to those on a tight budget.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank andreoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is clean and tidy. Hardware wise, it provide everything you expect in a low budget hotel. There are small issue I noticed which should be looked into.

Television has no discovery channel or national geographic.
Toilet often 'burp' out gas. I suspect there is an issue with plumbing, and air back flow into other toilet when someone flushes in the building. However, strong odour was not detected...
The pub below plays loud music till late, so I could hear a slight vibration from the bass. But it was not loud enough to bother my sleep. My room was in 2 floor.

Staff is extremely helpful and friendly. They show me a lot of places to eat and shop. Also, this is the only budget hotel that offers to carry your heavy luggage into your room.
Upon check out, I forgot to ask for my passport back. I gave them a call when I am in airport, staff delivered my passport within 15 minutes. I very much appreciated the hospitality of staff in this hotel and overall, I had a good experience staying here.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Hkxstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
12610.2 mi away
Meraki Boutique Hotel
Meraki Boutique Hotel
#145 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
20 reviews
12610.1 mi away
Cat Huy Hotel
Cat Huy Hotel
#68 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
529 reviews
12610.1 mi away
Blue River Hotel
Blue River Hotel
#109 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12609.5 mi away
LeBlanc Saigon
LeBlanc Saigon
#93 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
110 reviews
12610.1 mi away
Ngoc Linh Hotel
Ngoc Linh Hotel
#74 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
353 reviews
12610.3 mi away
Saigon Europe Hotel
Saigon Europe Hotel
#96 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meraki Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meraki Hotel

Property: Meraki Hotel
Address: 198 Bui Vien Street, Pham Ngu Lao Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 700000, Vietnam (Formerly Viet Nghi Hotel)
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#40 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Meraki Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the Heart of Ho Chi Minh City In the middle of the backpacker's area in Bui Vien Street,Meraki Hotel offers rooms with a flat-screen cable TV and free Wi-Fi. The hotel has a public bathroom with shower for guests who have late flights. Air-conditioned rooms come with a minibar, fridge and hairdryer. Bed linens are changed daily. Private bathrooms have hot-water showers and daily replenished toiletries. Meraki Hotel is an easy 15-minute walk from the famous Ben Thanh Market. It is a 25-minute drive from Tan Son Nhat International Airport. Airport and train station transportation can be arranged for an extra fee. Baggage can be stored at the front desk for free for up to 15 days. Guests can surf internet at the computer corner for free. Day trips and ticketing services are available at the tour desk. A daily breakfast is served at the hotel's dining room, which overlooks the city. District 1 is a great choice for travelers interested in Nightlife, Markets and Shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Meraki Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Viet Nghi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing