We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy and small... but that's what you get for the price...”
Review of Meraki Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Meraki Hotel
Ranked #101 of 457 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Noisy and small... but that's what you get for the price...”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

I was not expecting much, and always know that official pics are misleading, but I was even more disappointed when I got into this hotel : very very small rooms, overall clean and bedding good. Staff are helpful and friendly with a good command of english. Breakfast was under average, but served on top of the next door hotel with an interesting view of the city. My room was street facing, and the bar downstairs provided unwarranted entertainment : hopefully earplugs saved my sleep.

Room Tip: Dont choose the street facing ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Floasingap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    126
    58
    15
    11
See reviews for
45
109
52
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

It was a great stay with Saigon Mini Hotel.
We was relocated to the next door, Saigon Mini Hotel 6.
The hotel is located in the middle of Bui Vien Street, just next to Pham Ngu Lao street & Nearby the main bus station.

The staff was super friendly and nice.
We have a good stay there. They are very friendly in showing us the way around, nice exchange rate (gold shop), local supermarket (Co-op Mart), way to the sightseeing spots, etc.

We have bought some goods from Coop Mart, but due to some miscommunication the goods was MIA awhile. The hotel is very cooperative in helping us to find the goods and very helpful to help us to pack the goods in bundle.

Many thanks to the Morning receptionist, Ann & the hotel local Chinese guy who show us some nice food around & the night staff.

They all are superb! Keep it up.

The only things that i would recommend to the hotel is to add on more wall plug.

A hotel which worth the value you pay.

Room Tip: I am staying at 503. The bed is much more bigger than room 603. Comfortable. They are using solar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eevonn_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Bizu Hotel District 1-196 & 198 Bui Vien (formerly Saigonmini hotel) were the first hotel i stayed when i traveled in ho chi minh city.
The small room, no have window but it's so clean and full facilities.
All staff (receptionist, security, housekeeper, ...) are friendly and helpful.
I love this hotel,

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suri N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

this is the first time I'm staying here. The first impression is all the staffs always smile with the guest. they are very friendly! furthermore, they are also enthusiasm. When you check in, they will ask you the plan for tomorrow, and if you dont have, they will recommend some tours for you. I had taken the mekong tour for 2 days (you will stay with some native people), very interesting! The second, rooms are nice and clean, I feel comfortable,you can book the deluxe room with bif window and street view, you can take a look at night, the city is so beautiful with light from some buildings, vehicle...etc. I think you can book the room with breakfast, so you will save a lot of money. The breakfast is too various, you can have some vietnamese food here such as pho.... on the roof top, the city view in the morning is so nice.the third, location is good. It's near benthanh market, war museum, independent palace, committing hall, opera house, but I think you should take a city tour, it will be better because the Eng tour guide will tell you history of those places. Here, you can contact with the receptionist to book the taxi to go to the airport just 190.000VND for 1 car. I will book this hotel for my next holiday and I will recommend for my friends.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RossKimN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

First arrived in Saigon, I was staying in Bizu hotel where my friend provided for me. Excellent!!!! Prices are very reasonable, convenient location: near the bar, City Hall, Ben Thanh market,night street .......The staff so fantastic, helpful and always take care customers. I couldn't ask more...i will come back and provide for my fellowships,friends ..and everyone will be stay at Bizu hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelvin Fong W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Centrally located in a busy street full of bars and restaurants. The VIP room is spacious with city view. Staff were very friendly and helpful, we were really taken cared of being a first timer in Saigon.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KPing71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

I was so pleased and lucky to have stayed at such a wonderful clean hotel.The staff were fantastic, nothing was ever to much for them. I will return and also recommend friends to stay.
The location in Bui Vien St is great, easy walk to markets, shops and restaurants.
I can't believe the welcome back I got on my return to HCMC, felt like I'd been gone for years not a month.
Thankyou to all of your wonderful staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Janis O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
12610.2 mi away
Meraki Boutique Hotel
Meraki Boutique Hotel
#149 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
19 reviews
12610.1 mi away
Blue River Hotel
Blue River Hotel
#107 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
782 reviews
12610.1 mi away
Cat Huy Hotel
Cat Huy Hotel
#57 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12610.1 mi away
Ngoc Linh Hotel
Ngoc Linh Hotel
#73 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
350 reviews
12610.3 mi away
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
#47 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,513 reviews
12608.5 mi away
Minh Chau Hotel
Minh Chau Hotel
#34 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meraki Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meraki Hotel

Property: Meraki Hotel
Address: 198 Bui Vien Street, Pham Ngu Lao Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 700000, Vietnam (Formerly Viet Nghi Hotel)
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#40 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Meraki Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the Heart of Ho Chi Minh City In the middle of the backpacker's area in Bui Vien Street,Meraki Hotel offers rooms with a flat-screen cable TV and free Wi-Fi. The hotel has a public bathroom with shower for guests who have late flights. Air-conditioned rooms come with a minibar, fridge and hairdryer. Bed linens are changed daily. Private bathrooms have hot-water showers and daily replenished toiletries. Meraki Hotel is an easy 15-minute walk from the famous Ben Thanh Market. It is a 25-minute drive from Tan Son Nhat International Airport. Airport and train station transportation can be arranged for an extra fee. Baggage can be stored at the front desk for free for up to 15 days. Guests can surf internet at the computer corner for free. Day trips and ticketing services are available at the tour desk. A daily breakfast is served at the hotel's dining room, which overlooks the city. District 1 is a great choice for travelers interested in Nightlife, Markets and Shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Meraki Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Viet Nghi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing