We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great welcome to vietnam”
Review of Meraki Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Meraki Hotel
Ranked #122 of 475 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Reviewed March 1, 2013

This hotel is great.. it is at a price that is attractive and very good quality for that price..
The staff were all so helpful and the place was lovely and clean, the reception team were so helpfull and gave advice to many questions asked and tips on tours etc. I stayed for 4 nights at the very start of my holiday and have just booked again for a few more nights before i go back home..i cant rave about this enough. it was the best hotel i stayed in in Vietnam not just location but the most helpful and friendly staff i met....do yourself a favour and book and say hello to ms Anna who will make you feel at home from the minute you walk through the door!!

Room Tip: try to get a back of the building room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (381)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

241 - 247 of 381 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2013

We visited in jan 2013. The staff were really friendly and helpful. The location is nice and central to restaurants, markets, travel agents and shopping. The night life on the street is great and we could not hear anything from the room. Breakfast is very basic, however with cheap cafes close by, this is no problem. The bed was pretty hard, but the room was nice and clean.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Lach B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights at the beginning of our holiday in a standard room and then again for our last two nights in vietnam in a VIP room. Both rooms were clean and well looked after. The standard room was on the first floor at the front and as it was the Tet holiday it was very noisy and we did struggle to get much sleep. The VIP room was on the seventh floor and was much quieter. It had great views and had two double beds and a further single bed plus a seating area!

The staff were wonderful as just after we checked out my wife had her bag stolen round the corner by a couple of men on a scooter. The staff at the hotel helped us by taking us to the local police station and helping translate my wifes statement for the police report. They then took her back later to collect the report when it was ready. Some of the staff had remained past their shift end times to do this and it really helped us through a difficult time.

Room Tip: Get a high up room or one at the back of the hotel to avoid the noise of the street below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CC025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

This was a very friendly clean & safe feeling place in a hectic but fun street. Staff were all helpful & the brekkie was good. We were quoted a cheaper price on Bookings.com but didn't quibble, just will be more thorough in checking the bill in future!!

Room Tip: Front rooms have windows, but wouldn't like to open them onto a noisy street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Great location on Bui Vien street in District 1 which as lots of life.

Reception area was somewhat tatty but staff were very friendly and helpful.

We were very happy with our room which had a city view and was on a high floor.

Breakfast room is located on top floor of hotel next door which is a little strange but serves the purpose.

Yes we would stay here again.

Room Tip: High floor, city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed at the hotel in the middle of the Chinese New Year and couldn't have asked for a better location. The rooms were really clean and the staff was very attentive. The free breakfast was also pretty good and located on the top floor. I personally enjoyed the omelets very much. The hotel is directly across from a circle K, which has a lot of items you might need while on your stay in the city.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

At about £15 per night, you can't expect too much, but what we got was a clean, friendly hotel in a great location. Our room didn't have a window and the room did smell slightly, but neither were really a problem. This hotels right in the middle of the touristy area but we didn't hear the hustle and bustle from our room. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Robertlb85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
12,609.5 mi away
LeBlanc Saigon
LeBlanc Saigon
#85 of 475 in Ho Chi Minh City
124 reviews
12,610.5 mi away
Hong Vina Hotel
Hong Vina Hotel
#149 of 475 in Ho Chi Minh City
172 reviews
12,610.1 mi away
Blue River Hotel
Blue River Hotel
#99 of 475 in Ho Chi Minh City
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12,610.1 mi away
Ngoc Linh Hotel
Ngoc Linh Hotel
#76 of 475 in Ho Chi Minh City
366 reviews
12,610.1 mi away
Cat Huy Hotel
Cat Huy Hotel
#68 of 475 in Ho Chi Minh City
543 reviews
12,610.3 mi away
zoolut Stay 271
zoolut Stay 271
#98 of 475 in Ho Chi Minh City
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meraki Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meraki Hotel

Address: 198 Bui Vien Street, Pham Ngu Lao Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 700000, Vietnam (Formerly Viet Nghi Hotel)
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $24 - $36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Meraki Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the Heart of Ho Chi Minh City In the middle of the backpacker's area in Bui Vien Street,Meraki Hotel offers rooms with a flat-screen cable TV and free Wi-Fi. The hotel has a public bathroom with shower for guests who have late flights. Air-conditioned rooms come with a minibar, fridge and hairdryer. Bed linens are changed daily. Private bathrooms have hot-water showers and daily replenished toiletries. Meraki Hotel is an easy 15-minute walk from the famous Ben Thanh Market. It is a 25-minute drive from Tan Son Nhat International Airport. Airport and train station transportation can be arranged for an extra fee. Baggage can be stored at the front desk for free for up to 15 days. Guests can surf internet at the computer corner for free. Day trips and ticketing services are available at the tour desk. A daily breakfast is served at the hotel's dining room, which overlooks the city. District 1 is a great choice for travelers interested in Nightlife, Markets and Shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Meraki Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Viet Nghi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing