We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very good value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Meraki Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Meraki Hotel
Ranked #90 of 449 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

At about £15 per night, you can't expect too much, but what we got was a clean, friendly hotel in a great location. Our room didn't have a window and the room did smell slightly, but neither were really a problem. This hotels right in the middle of the touristy area but we didn't hear the hustle and bustle from our room. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robertlb85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    121
    52
    10
    9
See reviews for
41
96
50
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

This hotel is located on Bui Vien Street. This street is a fun street that has a little of everything. They have some street vendors, travel companies, art galleries, souvenir shops, hotels, hostels, a lot of restaurants, cafes, bars, nail/hair salons, spas, and tourists. There are many things to do within a walking distance of hotel. All the other places I went to only seemed like a 10-15 minute taxi ride. So the location was fairly central to all the places I wanted to go to.

The Saigon Mini Hotel 6 and Saigon Mini Hotel 5 are located right beside each other. The breakfast restaurant for both hotels are located in the Saigon Mini Hotel 5 on the 10th floor. The Saigon Mini Hotel 5 can be accessed from the street level. The Saigon Mini Hotel 6 is located on the side of the Saigon Mini Hotel 5 up a short flight of stairs. Once in the hotel, the hotel does have an elevator, so you won't have to lug your bags up anymore stairs. Usually there are hotel staff on the bottom floor to help you with you bags anyway.

The hotel lobby is small. They have a couple chairs and couches to wait on. They also have two computers where you can use the internet or print material. They also have a shoe buffing machine and scale in the lobby. The hotel also helps arrange tour packages that pick you up from the hotel. The lobby has brochures, pictures, and other information on the tours.

The staff at the hotel seemed very friendly. They spoke English well and were very helpful finding places for you or sending you in the general direction. They are also available to help you call taxis for any reason or to go to the airport. They have an airport drop off service that's 180,000 Dong, or you can just have them call you a taxi and use the meter. Using the meter is a little cheaper, but if there was traffic, then maybe the flat rate would have been better.

My room was on the 3rd floor. The room was pretty small and had no windows. I'd estimate the room to be about 8' x 10' or so with a small adjoining bathroom that was about another 3' x 8'. The bedroom had a small bed, small television (old tube style), desk, mirror, and cabinet. The tv didn't seem to work when I was trying to use it. It wouldn't even turn on for me. I ended up unplugging it anyway because the room didn't have any outlets besides the one the tv was plugged into. So I ended up charging my phone and laptop with those two plugs.

The cabinet had a small refrigerator on the bottom with about 4 small bottles of water (not complimentary), a room safe, and a small laundry basket which can be used if you'd like laundry service from the hotel, and some clothes hangers.

The desk had a tissue box, hot water boiler, tea/coffee cup, two glasses, hair dryer, a/c remote, tv remote, and some hotel information. Although they had a hot water boiler and a tea/coffee cup, there was no complimentary coffee or tea (not for purchase either).

The bed was small. I'm about 5'9" and my feet were almost touching the wood at the end of the bed. It wouldn't have been so bad if the bed was resting on a base without a wooden board near your feet. Then your feet could just hang off if need be. That wasn't the case however. The bed was bordered by a headboard and footboard (flush with the bed), so if your feet were to hang off, they'd probably be resting on a thin wood board. If you're taller than 5'10", I'd probably ask to see your room first.

The bathroom was small. It had a sink with a glass vanity shelf that had some amenities on it. They included 2 toothbrush kits, comb, 2 soaps, shoe polish, shower cap, and some cotton swabs. The toothbrushes and soaps were replaced daily. The bathroom also had 2 bath towels and hand/wash towels that were replaced daily. For some reason, they didn't have any shampoo or conditioner. There was a packet of something called Rejoice that could have been shampoo, but it seemed to be in powder form and it was only in Vietnamese. I couldn't read what it was. The bathroom had a shower with rain style shower head. It also had an attached wand style shower head if you prefer that.

The room had free wifi access and cold a/c. They had breakfast in there other hotel right next to this hotel. My hotel costs did not include breakfast, so I didn't try their breakfast. I also didn't see any menus for room service or any other meals. So I'm not sure whether or not the breakfast restaurant served anything else other than breakfast.

The hotel also seems to have a strict policy for guests. Unless your guests are registered to stay with you, you are only allowed guests in your room until 10 p.m. (I believe). When your guest arrives, they have to leave their passport or ID with the lobby. Any guests staying overnight that is not registered to be with you will be charged the cost of a nightly room. I'm pretty sure these are the rules. I didn't have any guests so I'm not 100% sure. If you know you will have a guest staying with you at any point during your stay, it would be safe to let them know that it will be for 2 people and give them the name when you check in.

A couple things I didn't like was. You need an old style key to get in and out of your room. Your door doesn't automatically lock like other newer style hotel doors. So you constantly have to use the key to lock and unlock your door with the key. You even need to lock your door with the key from the inside. This is odd because the key is attached to a keychain that you need to turn on the lights and electricity. So if you lock your door from the inside for security, then you take the keychain out of the pocket that turns on the electricity and lights, you end up trying to unlock your door in the dark. Hope that made sense. Another thing I didn't like was a smoke smell that I would get every once in awhile. I don't know if someone was smoking in an adjoining room or if it was coming in through the ventilation system. I needed to turn on the fans and the a/c to keep the smell out and get rid of it.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying on a budget that isn't planning to spend a lot of time in the hotel. It's a good place to just get some rest and get out again. There are very little amenities and very little comforts. The food and entertainment around Bui Vien are more than enough to fulfill your other needs though.

Room Tip: It seems like there are nicer rooms when I look at pictures of the hotel. My room wasn't so nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xbreadboyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay here. The staff were very helpful and friendly - even gave us a free upgrade on arrival. Breakfast was good and substantial. The hotel is located is in the heart of the backpacker area which was handy for buses to/from Saigon.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bellabingbong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

This was our first stop in Vietnam and my what a good impression it gave us.
The staff at reception were lovely, professional and extremely helpful. We had a deluxe twin (although we booked a double) but this included a double bed and a single, which just meant we had more space. The room well equipped and the bathroom was great! The cleanliness impressed is too.

We extended our stay we liked it that much.
The breakfast was a great start to the day.

Location wise, for us, a couple in our early thirties travelling around the world, it was perfect. Bui Vien street is the main backpacker road which just comes to life at night.

All in all, I'd stay here again if visiting HCMC

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chambers1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

I've stayed at hotels nicer than this one for the same price, nevertheless the rooms are clean and the showers don't spray all over the bathrooms! It can get a bit stuffy in the windowless rooms, but the air con works great.

Also provides easy peasy booking of tours, busses, etc. For some, the best feature is that it's right in the heart of the tourist centre, within walking distance of most of the major sights.

Fantastic breakfast included

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank danieljacklynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingscliff, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Situated in district one amongst great eating and shopping, this is a convenient hotel to stay in. Very good front desk service. The employees all spoke good English. The breakfast was a highlight. Great eggs, best bread I've had! Rooms are small but adequate. Very clean. Can be noisy at night. I recommend it.

Room Tip: Off the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timr721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

For a very affordable and nice place to stay, I didn't expect to find it here in Saigon, specially in the very competitive Pham Ngu Lao area but there it is, a nice little hotel, situated in 196 Bui Vien street, busy but not terribly busy and you will see all sorts of activities during the day and even more so at night! A really happening and cozy place! Thanks God I picked the right because if otherwise, I would have been cursed by my tour mates.

The hotel is Small but very clean, all the basics are there and then some. Complimentary breakfast is included in the price, nice. Staff are friendly. I would have expected some nice complimentary coffee packs like those 3-in-1 that I can make straight away upon arrival but then, you can find for very cheap downstairs along one of the many many cafes available, for money of course. Not a deal breaker of course, but that will certainly be a nice touch (though simple it may seem) probably late at night if you want a kick.

Food aplenty around the area and you name it, you will have it, not the best in town but for a penny, who bothers so long you get your fill but if you want real nice one, you can set off somewhere else as there are plenty of French and even an Argentinian, surprise! surprise! But that's another story.

All the shopping (must see: Ben Thanh, Dong Khoi Street) are all within walking distance and even Notre Dame Cathedral is within walking distance.

Will I stay at the same hotel again if I were to be back in Saigon, definitely! And I hope you will find it too.

Room Tip: Probably choose a room away from facing the street to avoid noises late into the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BobSantos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
12610.0 mi away
Ngoc Linh Hotel
Ngoc Linh Hotel
#69 of 449 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
12610.1 mi away
Cat Huy Hotel
Cat Huy Hotel
#55 of 449 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
12608.5 mi away
Minh Chau Hotel
Minh Chau Hotel
#30 of 449 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12610.2 mi away
Duc Vuong Hotel
Duc Vuong Hotel
#34 of 449 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,855 reviews
12610.3 mi away
Saigon Europe Hotel
Saigon Europe Hotel
#82 of 449 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
12610.1 mi away
Bich Duyen Hotel
Bich Duyen Hotel
#29 of 449 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meraki Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meraki Hotel

Property: Meraki Hotel
Address: 198 Bui Vien Street, Pham Ngu Lao Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam (Formerly Viet Nghi Hotel)
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#40 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Meraki Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the Heart of Ho Chi Minh City In the middle of the backpacker's area in Bui Vien Street,Meraki Hotel offers rooms with a flat-screen cable TV and free Wi-Fi. The hotel has a public bathroom with shower for guests who have late flights. Air-conditioned rooms come with a minibar, fridge and hairdryer. Bed linens are changed daily. Private bathrooms have hot-water showers and daily replenished toiletries. Meraki Hotel is an easy 15-minute walk from the famous Ben Thanh Market. It is a 25-minute drive from Tan Son Nhat International Airport. Airport and train station transportation can be arranged for an extra fee. Baggage can be stored at the front desk for free for up to 15 days. Guests can surf internet at the computer corner for free. Day trips and ticketing services are available at the tour desk. A daily breakfast is served at the hotel's dining room, which overlooks the city. District 1 is a great choice for travelers interested in Nightlife, Markets and Shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Meraki Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Viet Nghi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing