We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem in Pham Ngu Lao”
Review of Meraki Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Meraki Hotel
Ranked #103 of 457 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A little gem in Pham Ngu Lao”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

For a very affordable and nice place to stay, I didn't expect to find it here in Saigon, specially in the very competitive Pham Ngu Lao area but there it is, a nice little hotel, situated in 196 Bui Vien street, busy but not terribly busy and you will see all sorts of activities during the day and even more so at night! A really happening and cozy place! Thanks God I picked the right because if otherwise, I would have been cursed by my tour mates.

The hotel is Small but very clean, all the basics are there and then some. Complimentary breakfast is included in the price, nice. Staff are friendly. I would have expected some nice complimentary coffee packs like those 3-in-1 that I can make straight away upon arrival but then, you can find for very cheap downstairs along one of the many many cafes available, for money of course. Not a deal breaker of course, but that will certainly be a nice touch (though simple it may seem) probably late at night if you want a kick.

Food aplenty around the area and you name it, you will have it, not the best in town but for a penny, who bothers so long you get your fill but if you want real nice one, you can set off somewhere else as there are plenty of French and even an Argentinian, surprise! surprise! But that's another story.

All the shopping (must see: Ben Thanh, Dong Khoi Street) are all within walking distance and even Notre Dame Cathedral is within walking distance.

Will I stay at the same hotel again if I were to be back in Saigon, definitely! And I hope you will find it too.

Room Tip: Probably choose a room away from facing the street to avoid noises late into the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobSantos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    127
    60
    16
    11
See reviews for
46
111
53
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

After scouring TA for many weeks decided to book the Saigon Mini 6 Hotel for 8 nights over New Year and enjoyed it so much returned to finish our holiday after staying a week up the coast. It's situated right in the heart of the tourist area so ideal for shopping, excursions, eating out and nightlife (as a couple in our 40's, nightlife was brilliant). The hotel was spotless. The staff were very friendly, helpful and trustworthy. They gave great advice on the area and you could have a good laugh with them all. On both occasions we had a deluxe room facing the road. They were good sized rooms with a big bed, spotlessly clean and had good facilities, fridge, safe, kettle, tv etc., and plenty of hot water !! Breakfast was served next door in their sister hotel and was simple, hot & tasty. I would thoroughly recommend Saigon Mini 6 and certainly won't hesitate to re-book if we return.

Room Tip: Rooms at front are great, but the higher you go the less noise. Our Deluxe room was a corner suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hevans215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Good location in the backpacker district, close to many bars and restaurants. The rooms were tidy, modern and clean. Very friendly and helpful staff at the front desk. But ask for a room with a window! Sometimes it felt like we were in a jail cell.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

This hotel was our third in Vietnam and ticked all the boxes we needed. Hotels in Vietnam seem to be hit and miss, and this one for us was a success. The location is perfect for tourists/backpackers, especially at night. We were on the third floor facing the street and we heard no noise at all. Breakfast on the top floor was very beautiful and the staff were kind and friendly. Easy walking distance to many bars and restaurants. It was clean, safe and we experienced no problems.

Room Tip: We got upgraded for no reason - probably just because we checked in early and they had a spare room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdhr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I recently stayed three nights at Saigon Mini Hotel 6. My room was simple but clean, and the hotel has an excellent location near good restaurants, good shopping, and easy access to transportation to various sites. The wi-fi connection in my room was excellent. The complimentary breakfast was delicious. The staff was probably the friendliest and the most helpful I have encountered at any hotel, and they are the main reason I would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again. The only negative aspect of my stay at this hotel was the shower, which was not hot.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maekju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

This was my first hotel on arrival to Vietnam and it fulfilled my main criterie: safe, quiet, central location & cheap. The breakfast was better than expected. The room was not fancy, but I didn't expect that. I wish I had given a more generous tip at the end because all of the staff were very forthcoming.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bernd P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Small budget hotel with decent sized room. Large bed although very firm.
Clean but small bathroom. A little noisy if facing the road.
Basic Breakfast served in the neighbouring sister hotel
Located in a lively area near bars, restaurants, travel agents and bus connections

Room Tip: Get a room on the upper floors don't stay in room 100.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PriyalDodhia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
12610.2 mi away
Meraki Boutique Hotel
Meraki Boutique Hotel
#157 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
24 reviews
12610.1 mi away
Cat Huy Hotel
Cat Huy Hotel
#67 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
530 reviews
12610.1 mi away
Blue River Hotel
Blue River Hotel
#105 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12609.5 mi away
LeBlanc Saigon
LeBlanc Saigon
#85 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
113 reviews
12610.1 mi away
Bich Duyen Hotel
Bich Duyen Hotel
#28 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,185 reviews
12610.1 mi away
Ngoc Linh Hotel
Ngoc Linh Hotel
#74 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meraki Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meraki Hotel

Property: Meraki Hotel
Address: 198 Bui Vien Street, Pham Ngu Lao Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 700000, Vietnam (Formerly Viet Nghi Hotel)
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#40 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Meraki Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the Heart of Ho Chi Minh City In the middle of the backpacker's area in Bui Vien Street,Meraki Hotel offers rooms with a flat-screen cable TV and free Wi-Fi. The hotel has a public bathroom with shower for guests who have late flights. Air-conditioned rooms come with a minibar, fridge and hairdryer. Bed linens are changed daily. Private bathrooms have hot-water showers and daily replenished toiletries. Meraki Hotel is an easy 15-minute walk from the famous Ben Thanh Market. It is a 25-minute drive from Tan Son Nhat International Airport. Airport and train station transportation can be arranged for an extra fee. Baggage can be stored at the front desk for free for up to 15 days. Guests can surf internet at the computer corner for free. Day trips and ticketing services are available at the tour desk. A daily breakfast is served at the hotel's dining room, which overlooks the city. District 1 is a great choice for travelers interested in Nightlife, Markets and Shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Cancelon, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Meraki Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Viet Nghi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing