We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Entertaining restaurant with good food”

Barbecue Garden Restaurant
Ranked #129 of 3,288 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Price range: $5 - $12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Located right in the city centre, Barbecue Garden is a family style restaurant where guests share modern BBQ dishes in a natural environment. Escaping the noise and bustle of the big city, guests can enjoy a getaway with friends and family, while sharing and socializing, cooking delicious food right at the table. We are passionate about creating a unique BARBECUE EXPERIENCE for each and every customer... And let them forget everything else for a couple of hours. When you dig into our delicious Barbecue Garden grub, we are sure you will give us two finger-lickin' thumbs up!
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Entertaining restaurant with good food”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Food was delicious even though you did have to cook it yourself in the BBQ in the middle of your table. Luckily staff are more than willing to help.
Great atmosphere, a lovely garden setting with nice fairy lights everywhere.
Food was very tasty. We ate skewers and pork ribs which were delicious. Calamari was pretty bad though.
At about $1 AUD per skewer it was decent value - as long as you don't mind cooking it yourself.
Very nice staff, spoke very good English and were extremely happy to have us there. Was very busy on a Friday night which added to the atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MegaJord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    358
    528
    165
    61
    63
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Magical setting”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We had a wonderful night in this beautiful outdoor restaurant. The tables are under huge trees with thousands of pretty lights hanging down creating a great atmosphere. Each table has its own barbecue in the centre of the table. We ordered a variety of dishes to share. The food is brought to the table raw and the wait staff help with the cooking where required. We definitely needed help with our steamboat dish. The food was all scrumptious.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank chappyMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Outdoor Barbecue Delight”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This outdoor Vietnamese BBQ restaurant is worth a visit to experience a different style of local cuisine. Menu options include BBQ combos where you can chose beef, seafood, vegetarian or all of the above cooked at a BBQ plate at your table. Good value for money but food can be spicy so advise staff if you don't like it that way.
Typically friendly, cheerful staff who want to please but might not always understand the questions.
Definitely wear casual clothes as the hot ,BBQ plates splatter oil on the smaller tables and ask for a table at the edge of the overhead canopy. Despite fans, it gets very hot and muggy if seated in the middle of this place. We visited last trip and would return on our next trip.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 111jenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
860 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good for such a city”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I didn't like Ho chi Minh city at all, but this restaurant was the best I've seen there. Very nice staff with great English (not really great, but comparing to other vietnamese people it was almost perfect). Service was very fast, and meat was cooked on our table using a special burner in the middle of the table.
Food is great and you have lots of choice (even wild boar or deer). They even have draft beer - I've not seen many such places in Asia. The prices are a bit higher than normal for the city but still remain cheap.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vvivan89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Love Barbecue Garden!”
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

You have a barbecue plate in the middle of your table, your food selection comes uncooked and you then cook it yourself! The waiting staff will come and check on you to make sure you are ok. Absolutely love the outdoor setting and all the pretty lights in the trees. It started chucking down with rain one time we were there, as it often does early to mid evening in HCMC, but the staff just opened up or rolled out umbrellas/canopies and there was no problem! We loved the novelty of it. Would recommend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LisaWes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barbecue Garden Restaurant also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Barbecue Garden Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing