We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Cafe”
Review of Sozo - MOVED

Sozo
Price range: $1 - $5
Cuisines: Diner, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
Description: By a group of foreign volunteers,the Sozo Cafe started in 2004 selling cookies from a cart to help street children. It then expanded into a Cafe on Bui Vien Street a year later. During 10 years, Sozo has been as a shop to help, employ disadvantage people and as an environment to enable young people to grow and contribute to the society. Sozo has been developed to be a 100% Vietnamese owned company. Mainly local staff run Sozo, with a small group of foreign volunteers as trainers and advisors. By year end of 2015, Sozo has moved from Dist. 1 to Dist. 2. This is the time for young local people to raise up and bring Sozo to a new season. Sozo aim is to restoring hope and changing life of those coming to Sozo to have a chance at a better life with our operation at Cafe and Youth Areas. Thank you for reading the Sozo story. We hope you have a great time with us at No. 51, 24A Street, Area 5, An Phu Ward, District 2
Hong Kong
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Comfortable Cafe”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Visited for afternoon tea in September 2013

We wandered into this shop after doing some street shopping in the area. There's a wet market and a number of dry good stores in the area... was really there just to check out the local produce. It was pretty hot and we ended up wanting to take a break and get a drink. We saw Sozo's welcoming sign and decided to stop by.

Peering in through the entrance, there is only limited seating on the first floor. However, upon speaking to staff we were informed there was an air conditioned upper floor which was an instant winner for us. We were pleasantly surprised when we reached the upper lounge area as in addition to air conditioning, it was actually very comfortably designed, with cool artsy decor and cushioned bench seating There was also various forms of entertainment--books, magazines, and board games. We got a couple snacks, iced coffees, and played some board games while we were resting.

Drinks were good, food was average, but overall it proved a comfortable and clean place to stop by for reasonable price. Staff was well trained and service was effective, but there isn't always someone in the room on the upper floor, so we did need to go out and grab service on occasion. The area around Sozo is littered with little coffee and snack shops that I guess probably don't charge as much if you're looking to get something on the go, but if you really need somewhere to pull over for a break--Sozo is a great choice.

The cafe seemed attached to some sort of local service hiring initiative -- a lot of flyers around explaining their cause.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank notoriouslyFat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    96
    22
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“new design”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

New interior in Sozo - i love it, no more computer corner but I love the new corner - high chairs & table and still with the best cheesecake ever!! :).

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jud-endah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Nice cafe”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We didn't dine here but got cakes to take away. Nice and clean place. The chocolate cake was a bit bland but all the other cakes were good. White coffee is around 50,000VKD which is the price of the decent cafés of the area but you get equally good coffee on the street for as little as 12,000 or 25,000 if it's a drip coffee.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Musti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoi An, Vietnam
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Service is lovely, tasty cookie!”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Nice coffee, lovely cookie, lovely service. Ejoyed myself in Sozo. Prices are standard for the area, culd do with more food options. Highly recommend.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michaeloc2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
1 review
“the best restaurant :D”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I had come here and I had read all the comments of the customers as well as I thought that the Sozo restaurant were also good and It were very best for all the families. If you wants to enjoy the great atmostphere you should come here. But the small thing we need to consider, that is the quality of the service. Some customers comment that the restaurant should train for their staff and facility. they need to work quickly to serve the customer as soon as possible. So far, I will come here again to enjoy the dinner with my family and I expect that the Sozo restaurant will be deserved my rating.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank master1232013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sozo also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing