We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food! Highly recommended for a Mediterranean menu” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Skewers

Skewers
Ranked #97 of 3,106 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Located near the Opera House, Caravelle and The Park Hyatt Hotel (5 minutes walk). Skewers has been open since July of 2000. The restaurant has 2 level, ground floor with 30+ seating, bar area and open kitchen. 1st floor with 12 tables, plus a cigar/smoking lounge. Skewers is open for lunch and dinner only. From 11:30 to 2pm and 6pm to 11pm. The kitchen last order is at 10:30pm. The restaurant is good for groups, wine tasting, lunch, special dinner, entertaining clients, romance, delivery and reservation.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great food! Highly recommended for a Mediterranean menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

As we felt like a change from excellent Vietnamese food, we ended in this highly recommendable restaurant. The menu is about Mediterranean food and everything we had was perfectly cooked. Excellent service. A great value!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    123
    30
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
86 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Very average restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Food is so so but service is fine.

Very average and nothing special after my opinion.

Will probably never be back again.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
643 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,243 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

We were staying at the Legend Hotel and Skewers is just outside their back door, so we decided to give it a try. It’s seating is over two floors and I felt the first level although a bit noisy was more atmospheric. Service was prompt, friendly and helpful. The menu has a nice mix of Mediterranean dishes with fish, chicken and steak. Most classics come with a twist, changing up the flavors. We enjoyed the starter of your choice of 4 dips and choose the salsa (just OK, a bit hot) guacamole (good) hummus (very good and had a smoky flavor) and baba ganoush (loved it!). For my main, I order the Greek moussaka which was much lighter with a tomato base vs. béchamel and a very healthy portion. I enjoyed it but wasn’t expecting something different. My husband had steak ordered medium; it arrived very rare and a bit tough. He also asked for a small salad in place of the potatoes and received it.
Overall a pleasant evening but with so many restaurants to try in Saigon, it wasn’t a fantastic dining experience, so we didn’t return.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnArborMHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genova
Level Contributor
75 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Restaurant menu is varied and international. There is something for all. Food good, service great atmosphere very nice was at the second floor.

Helpful?
Thank SoloGenova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
189 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Worth the walk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

Having read a few reviews on trip advisor we decided to give Skewers a go and we are glad we did. If it about one - two blocks away from the back of the Opera house but if you do not mind a walk then you will get to see a bit more of the city as well as maybe even come across some other gems along the way.

They have a great wine selection, the seating is cosy and could make for a very romantic dinner if you wanted.
There was a great selection of food on the menu and the food was tasty with well sized potions. We order a salad, the dip platter and the lamb cutlets to share which was enough to satisfied us both without feeling like we had eaten too much.
If back in Ho Chi Minh I would definitely go back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kev_deb2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skewers also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Skewers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing