We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little taste of Spain in Southeast Asia” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pacharan - CLOSED

Pacharan
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish, Bar, European, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Pacharan Tapas and Bodega, located in the heart of the city, has a well-deserved reputation for providing fine traditional Spanish cuisine in a bright and breezy four-floor restaurant and bar. The ground floor boasts a cozy watering hole serving a selection of beers, spirits and of course fruity Vinos de Espana. The restaurant covers all of the classics along with some exquisite specials showcasing the very best in Iberian flavors. With live music on Wednesdays, Fridays and Saturdays Pacharan makes the perfect destination for those seeking a little bit of Spanish passion and flair in Saigon
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
139 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Little taste of Spain in Southeast Asia”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

This bar was steps from our hotel in District 1, very close to the opera house. The first floor was a quieter scene, but the second floor was loud music and band performing with girls singing and dancing on the bar playing latin tunes. We ordered the jug of sangria, we definitely recommend ordering the jug for the value. It was a fun time, but closes pretty early compared other night life, on Saturday night it seemed closed before 1am, so maybe a good starting point for your night out on the town.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    58
    26
    16
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worth to drop in......”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

I stay for at least 4 months in Saigon so I wanted to find a place where I can feel at home ( a little bit at least ).
The food was average, the pulpy though was EXCELLENT. One very friendly staff member and another one very unfriendly and not interested in her job at all.
I tried several tapas, which only one was disappointing - a Spanish restaurant which serves excellent pulpo, a classy tuna salad and very good bread and aioli, should be able to prepare a Spanish tortilla....this one I was served had nothing to do with an original tortilla.
But considering where we are and how far away from Spain this restaurant is, it is still worth dropping in! I'll definitely come back!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A piece of Spain, in Saigon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

A moody little bar, covered in shiny copper, near the heart of the city.

Brilliant tapas, delectable and oh so moorish sangria made for a brilliant night. You could be forgiven for forgetting you're in the heart of Asia instead if Spain.

Well worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank LEstrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Tapas of the highest quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Dined at Pacharan on Saturday evening and can't recommend it highly enough! The staff were friendly and extremely helpful with impeccable English. The food was some of the best Tapas I've actually ever had, in particular their BBQ'd Pork skewers. The atmosphere was relaxed in the restaurant area, with a more lively feel on the rooftop terrace - so it offers a little for everyone.

I particularly recommend trying their new Pumpkin Cheesecake which they're trying out throughout October. It was scrumptious!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Teacher_Kerri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCMC
2 reviews
“Rooftop terrace great place for large groups”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

This is a hotspot for ex-pats and travellers alike and for good reason. The food is delicious (try the tuna salad - real tuna), the sangria strong, beer cold and the service is impeccable. Servers are knowledgeable and very attentive. Manager is also lovely and great with her staff.

The rooftop terrace is the place to sit for an evening meal or drinks. It's a beautiful view. And this top floor includes it's own bar so no need for servers to run up and down the stairs making orders arrive promptly. I keep going back for the food and the atmosphere. Great place for very large groups!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kath K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pacharan also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing