We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The rat that ran across the floor was missing off the menu”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of L'Etoile

L'Etoile
Ranked #2,377 of 3,136 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
182 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“The rat that ran across the floor was missing off the menu”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

We were recommended by Vietnamese so that was my first mistake. Fine if it were a Vietnamese but this was meant to be French. Probably the worst rack of lamb I have attempted to eat. Well done was an understatement. This was scorched beyond recognition. Lamb should be moist and pink not burnt to a crisp. The orange crepe had cheap orange marmalade inside instead of orange sauce over ut. But it was the rat scampering across the floor that did it for me. I am not surprised to see rats in the street but not in a so called French restaurant. Won't be going back for 2nds

Helpful?
1 Thank DirtyPierreOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    3
    5
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Colmurano, Italy
Level Contributor
150 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Ok but not very French”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Really been looking forward to going here with our Vietnamese friend but rather disappointed in what we found. Very nice building but the food was served on metal cafeteria trays still trying to figure out why, was not appealing at all. I ordered lamb but it really tasted like beef. They did make homemade pasta which was nice but the sauce was really lacking. We will probably give it one more try.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank allsusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A lone star”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

This restaurant located at 180 BIS, Hai Ba Trung Street (an alley not very far from the main street) may be a bit hard to find, but the food makes it worth it. It is our favorite French restaurant, with a simple and quaint exterior, and air-conditioned and clean facilities. In all of my past visits to Vietnam, I brought my family and late mother to this restaurant. One of my favorite dishes is their steak (you can choose to order local beef or beef imported from Australia), served with a baguette and their French onion soup. The waiters there are very attentive and efficient, the food is served quickly, and the prices are very reasonable. The best-kept secret of this place is their pate chaud, a French pastry with a meat filling, that each cost less than a dollar. They are a bit smaller than the pate chaud from Brodard’s, but I find that the filling is tastier. You can order their pate chaud for take-out, and if refrigerated, they can last for about 2-3 days. I last ate in this restaurant in December, 2012 and I recommend it to those looking for delicious French food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank davidtran95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great chef Asia - 1996????”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

Don't go there. They serve the worst so called "French food" in HCM city. All the gravy are the same ... Highly recommend not to go there.
I think the chef has already gone home .... Not working there any more.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Taste-on-the-lips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, California
Level Contributor
535 reviews
234 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Loved this restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

After eating Vietnamese food for 3 weeks this was such a wonderful treat to experience French food in Saigon. I recommend this restaurant highly. The even had excellent wine which is hard to find in Vietnam. Enjoy!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelwithpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Etoile also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to L'Etoile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing