We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible - bad service, bland food, overpriced AVOID”
Review of Ciao Cafe

Ciao Cafe
Ranked #302 of 3,246 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Horrible - bad service, bland food, overpriced AVOID”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Don't waste your time at this place, unless of course you like overpaying for bland food and terrible drinks. Other reviewers seem to like this place for the "atmosphere". If "opium den" is your idea of nice ambiance then sure, go here for the lack of windows, dark decor and claustrophobic feeling. Just be sure to order the cheapest thing on the menu, anything else will be a disappointment. Our table was covered with a sticky substance from the last guest and the staff were annoyed when we asked them for a cloth to clean it. Our waitress was rude and too busy playing with her phone to take our order, tell us the wifi password or bring us the bill. There are so many nicer places within a 2 block radius that it's a mystery how this place stays in business. It certainly isn't due to their food, drinks or "atmosphere"...

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cholt808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    103
    55
    16
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“I love the atmosphere”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We hung out in the corner with book shelf full of comic books, that is nice and unique. The service was ok, the price seems a little higher than what I know, just a little. Other than that, I would definitely spent my time there again

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Greenlotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“To Good and Great Service”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

It was brilliant and great service. In walking distance from Grand hotel Saigon Vietnam. When a boy had too much chilly they came and gave him lettuce and a drink. And there was no pay for that! But a bit expensive

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Samuel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorain, Ohio
Level Contributor
188 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Ciao bella!”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

A nice moderately priced restaurant, get the fresh orange juice or a smoothie. Try almost any of the entrees, breakfast choices and finish with a hot coffee or tea and pastry.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank JoeyPaulyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saigon
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“wifi & cappucino”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

There are a few Ciao -- all nice; when I need wifi, a place to work for a few hours, this is where I go with my laptop. Good cappucino. Nice staff, easy place to hang out, have a snack. Kids are OK. Family kind of place, or meet friends.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank bja119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ciao Cafe also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Ciao Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing