We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay, Mark was very helpful” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saigon Zoom Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Saigon Zoom Hotel
Ranked #181 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place to stay, Mark was very helpful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights whilst in Vietnam.
Mark is definitely the best host one can ever wish for. Arrived here and he immediately set out helping me to plan how to make the most of every single day,
the hotel is also very near to the Backpackers district of Vietnam and is only about 150,000 Vietnam Dong away from the centre of Town if need be.

Very near to Ben Thanh Market also, and the shopping areas, so one can easily access these. By all means AVOID rickshaw guys & motorcyclists, and follow marks travel advice (i.e travel only using Mailinh and Vinasun taxis, and you will be fine.)

Maybe some tips to the owners would be to give some newer towels, but other than that was a great time, thanks mark!

Room Tip: Speak to Mark Nicely, he will get you a good room always do hist best. He also allowed me to check i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AlBahati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    43
    24
    9
    6
See reviews for
3
35
28
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Good location at the tourist area, very near to Pham Ngu Lao Street. Easy access from Tan Son Nhat Airport by bus No. 152, only 5,000 VND to Tran Hung Dao Street, then a 5 min walk to the hotel. Overall, hotel is clean, safe box available, air-con cool, tv got 99 channels (mostly Vietnamese) and free wi-fi. Bad thing is the soap bar is tiny, shower a bit hot and my room had no window. Value for money and would certainly return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAI2342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Pinas, Philippines
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

The size of the room and bathroom is big, in comparison with the many other same rate hotels around the bloc. Shower (that is a first timer) can be regulated just as I like it, instead of skin burning hot or early morning blistering, "have to wake up" cold. Had windows so daylight, although not much , could enter, just like the noise from the neighbouring families. That could be an unlucky event, but standard some 'family' discussion took place around 6-7 pm for the 3 nights I was there. Internet was excellent, facebook operating in a normal way.

Aircon needs some fixing. It took an long time before room cooled down. I didn't include breakfast with the booking but tried it anyway. Advise: there is a very nice bakery around the corner.

The hotel is tucked away inside a bit so with heavy luggage bad to reach.

Room Tip: Higher up might be less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ger08061959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Actually I came here in April 2011. The hotel was small but really nice. It was really clean and neat. The staffs were also nice and very helpful. They served us with full of smile. We can also exchanged our dollar to VND here.

The standard room is quite big, with queen size bed, air conditioner, TV, also with big bathroom. The room cost is including breakfast. The breakfast were also nice. You can choose for Pho or sandwich. They have 2 computers for internet at the lobby.

With very cheap cost, it's really worth it to stay there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kurunarang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Really impressed with this hotel from the second we walked in, our bags were carried through the front door and into our rooms, rooms were comfy and clean. Fridge in room, air con and wifi. Mark especially was really really friendly and helpful, he even popped out onto the street and sorted out a taxi for us on the first night we stayed for a visit to Apocalypse bar! He also gave us a map and took the time to go through where we were, places to see and where to go. We also stayed here after out 16 hour journey back from Cambodia, we were again greeted warmly and even though we hadn't booked we were put in 2 rooms right away. Many thanks, hope to return again one day :-) Also, good location in backpacker area, hidden down a little alley which was nice and quiet, the alley came alive at night with loads of street food being enjoyed by locals.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KMorris_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pondicherry
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

The staff, Mark especially, were nice.

However the room:

-had frustratingly bad wifi

-was loud, even being in a back ally. Dogs and motorbikes

-had dirty sheets when we arrived, which they gladly changed

-the weak a/c took an hour to cool the tiny room (the rooms are too small for 2 people and their luggage)

-the bathroom drain was completely clogged up, leaving standing shower water

-the lady serving breakfast spoke zero English and however sweet she was, we received something different than what we ordered 3 out the 4 mornings we ate here

The location is great, but you can find much more spacious rooms with better wifi for the same or less money.

On the surface this place appears valuable, but unfortunately, I would not recommend nor stay here again.

After Zoom, we stayed at Hong Han Hotel, where the rooms are double the size for virtually the same cost - and the wifi and a/c are so much better.

** Be careful when you book your room at Zoom as well. We mistakenly showed up the morning after our reservation and were assured that we could just push our 5 day reservation forward a day. Because the person at the front desk forgot to move our reservation forward a day in the computer and then our room booked online, we were asked to leave a day early. They were kind enough to find us another hotel, but there are other reviews supporting the same thing happening to them. I spoke with another couple outside the hotel who had to find another room due to Zoom overbooking as well. They would not give us our money back for the 5th night either. I was surprised but not shocked. The staff were great in trying to explain, but it basically boiled down to the owner being more concerned with one night's pay versus pleasing already disappointed customers. It was sour icing on the already moldy cake.

Actually the icing on the cake was, after they asked us to pack up and go, charging us for two extra bottles of water the cleaning staff put in our room. We hadn't drank the ones from the two days before so we thought they were included, which clearly they were not. But to be so adamant about money for 2 waters when we've just been relocated due to your staff's negligence in rescheduling our reservation. I love you, Vietnam. Rant over.

Room Tip: The rooms are clean but too small for two people, a double bed and your luggage. We had a router out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AshlieTBO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

this is the second time i have.stayed here. mark on the front counter made our stay a pleasure. great english level, very friendly, and a great introduction to the area and sights.

i was concerned because i was organising my second time there for my.parents and sister. they have never stayed in a budget mini hotel. they were delighted by the friendliness and a price. decent sized rooms, wifi in rooms, hot shower with great pressure and all facilities in room. fridge, safe ,water, hair dryer.

the location is at end of the back packer area and around the corner. but great for taxis and only a 5 min walk to be on busy bui vien st.

you will be.looked after well here. if not hasty with the room, ask to see another. need advice then mark is an amazing asset!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bryenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
1.0 mi away
Minh Chau Hotel - Dien Bien Phu
Minh Chau Hotel - Dien Bien Phu
#92 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.1 mi away
Elegant Inn
Elegant Inn
#74 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hong Kong Kaiteki Hotel
Hong Kong Kaiteki Hotel
#145 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ha Vy Hotel
Ha Vy Hotel
#223 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.3 mi away
DDA Hotel District 1 (BIZU)
DDA Hotel District 1 (BIZU)
#177 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue River Hotel
Blue River Hotel
#107 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saigon Zoom Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saigon Zoom Hotel

Property: Saigon Zoom Hotel
Address: 102/1A Cong Quynh | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 848, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #181 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Saigon Zoom Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SAIGON ZOOM HOTEL 1 is located in a very good location; off the main street CONG QUYNH, down the safe alley so all of rooms are kept quiet from the traffic noise; on a walking distance to get almost useful service such as backpacker area (around 3 minutes), bar and coffee shops, ATM, local market and super markets, restaurants, tailor, travel agencies; to get BEN THANH market is around 20 minutes; tourist attractions just some minutes by metered taxi with fee around 2 USD; to get MEKONG EXPRESS BUS just within some minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Saigon Zoom Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Saigon Mini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing