We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Giang Son Guesthouse
Ranked #29 of 875 Ho Chi Minh City B&B and Inns
Utrecht, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed in Giang Son 2 Guesthouse, it's next to Giang Son Guesthouse. The location is great, in the backpacker area with good food and drinks. The breakfast is fine, the staff (especially one lady who was always at the reception) is friendly.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    130
    33
    16
    7
See reviews for
25
153
37
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

They Made a mess with our laundry, and lost 1 of my dress. Poor breakfast.close to downtown city centre, internet available in roomms too. Very hard to find it, taxi drops you off nearby. Clean rooms , toilets were small , travel agency next door. I think i wont come again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank La C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

There was a small problem with our booking which was done some time ago with a previous staff member. However, the manager Ms Ha immediately found a solution by getting us into a room in the hotel across the alleyway. She was very professional and we felt there was no need to be concerned and we were right. Ms Ha also insisted that we have breakfast at her hotel every morning, when it was time for us to leave she looked after our luggage and also offered us a shower with fresh towels before we left for the airport. Ms Ha took care of the taxi booking for us which we paid direct to her, the cost was US$10 which more than reasonable. (Travelers should be aware that there are scam artists at the airport - when we arrived in Ho Chi Minh City who offered us the same distance for $35 so beware). Also, the driver arrived at the agreed time and was a good driver, always a bit of a concern when leaving a country.

Room Tip: We stayed in the hotel/guest house across the alley called the Victory. Seems they are connected. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nights in a triple room which had natural light from a high window which was great as other rooms looked a bit dark. Room lovely with large shower room and well maintained. Very helpful and friendly staff (& she seemed on hand 24 hours!). We were there for new years eve and they invited everyone from the 2 guest houses for a party which was a lovely guesture. Right in the thick of backpackers so bars and restaurants really close but as off the main street down an alley it was nice and quiet. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Shona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

I would definitely recommend anyone staying at this guest house.
We have stayed in several 'top choices' in the Lonely Planet but this is by far the best.
Great location, excellent value for money and the staff are lovely and very helpful! We stayed in a small double room which was totally fine if you are only staying for a few nights. Bathroom is very clean and great shower! Wifi connection was also very good.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dervala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Clean & great location in the heart of District 1.

Only negatives are that they get you on the exchange rate if you pay by card & overcharge for a taxi to the airport - it's best to book yourself via Vinasun if possible.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank AJG737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We had a great stay at Giang Son Guesthouse - right in the middle of it all, and very easy to get to things. The staff was especially helpful whenever I needed something and I had many special requests as I was trying to find my Vietnamese family in Ho Chi Minh without speaking much Vietnamese :) Their breakfast was simple but always hot and on-demand. Having free wi-fi in the lobby was very helpful as well. A little bit more expensive than the others, but it was comfortable, clean, and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.2 mi away
Giang Son 3 Hotel
Giang Son 3 Hotel
#16 of 875 in Ho Chi Minh City
93 reviews
0.0 mi away
Giang Son Guesthouse 2
Giang Son Guesthouse 2
#28 of 875 in Ho Chi Minh City
81 reviews
0.0 mi away
Phan Lan Hotel
Phan Lan Hotel
#19 of 875 in Ho Chi Minh City
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Town House 50 Saigon
Town House 50 Saigon
#3 of 875 in Ho Chi Minh City
515 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vy Khanh Guesthouse
Vy Khanh Guesthouse
#2 of 875 in Ho Chi Minh City
565 reviews
0.1 mi away
Saigon Inn Hotel
Saigon Inn Hotel
#4 of 875 in Ho Chi Minh City
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Giang Son Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giang Son Guesthouse

Property: Giang Son Guesthouse
Address: 14 283, D Pham Ngu Lao, Ho Chi Minh City 700000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 875 B&Bs / Inns in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Giang Son Guesthouse 1*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Giang Son Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giang Son Guesthouse Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing