We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very affordable and okay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Spring House Hotel

Spring House Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ho Chi Minh City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Spring House Hotel
Ranked #319 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Thailand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very affordable and okay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

The hotel was recommended by a friend who had stayed there for many times and knew the owners. I don't use hotels of this price level too often, and based on the reviews here I was prepared for the worst. Everything turned out all right. The room was extremely cheap at $25 (got a special discount I think). Drinks in the mini bar were very, very reasonably priced.

My room was facing the street, it was quite spacious and and there were two small windows. This room was a tiny bit noisy but I would still choose it again instead of a room with no window.

There was a secret mini garden hidden on top of the hotel, not sure if it's meant for guests but we took a look anyway.

The only minor inconvenience during this short stay was that the hotel's elevator stopped while we were inside and I was scared that it got stuck, however it then continued immediately, so no harm done.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ThaiXpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    25
    11
    8
    8
See reviews for
6
20
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2011

Aircon not working upon check-in (16th Dec, 2011)
Asked for problem to be rectified or change of room. Daughter only offer US$3 refund and ask me to use the fan instead. But fan is also not functioning properly, therefore ask to checkout and refund. Both mother and daughter refused.

Avoid at all cost unless you have no other choice.

Room Tip: Do not pay upfront and leave passport with reception. That way you can leave the hotel if the room i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank globetracker007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ho Chi Minh City hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2011

After arriving from a long bus trip from nha trang we began the trek to find a nice place to stay! Alot of the places we wanted to stay were already full! We came across Spring house hotel....we were very happy with its central location so decided 1 night to begin with and planned to stay for 3 nights upon seeing our room....really clean and comfortable! The first member of staff we encountered to were 2 very nice gentlemen....they gave us a very good price for our stay which enticed us to consider spending the next 3 nights there! Thankfully we didnt pay for them as we had only considered it! When we returned back downstairs after having a rest and showers the staff had changed over. Two very rude women were now on reception.....when we asked them for some information we were as good as barked at as they just looked us up and down instantly we knew we would only spend 1 night there! Everytime we returned to the hotel after this they were just plain rude we have been travelling this stage almost 2 months and everyone else we have met has been so lovely and helpful! The following day when we were checking out they began ringing our room at 11:30am check out wasnt till 12:00. We didnt even get a goodbye, thank you or come again....not that we would anyway!!! Unfortunately for this hotel whilst getting the decor etc perfect it has really lacked on its costomer service. And has the saying goes first impressions are the most important! These 2 women should be given some training by the first 2 gentlemen!! Def recommend looking around a little more!!!

Room Tip: :Always ask to see room before paying and if travelling in a group make sure someone stays in that r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gillian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

rooms were ok. they were cleaned every other day. however the staff were useless, they quoted me one price to begin with then upped when i checked out. i do not recommend.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gdperkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

Was on the first floor.
Clean room. Bed is a little hard.
Brillant shower water pressure.

One remark. If you pay in VND. Ask what the price in VND is.
They use a high change rate

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robbertnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

Nice little hotel located in the center of everything - steps away from cafes, restaurants, etc., all in the backpacker's tourist area. No fancy rooms or anything, but comfortable. Also, all the staff are very helpful and friendly. Best of all, the rates are fantastic. I choose to stay here whenever I visit HCMC not because it's inexpensive, but because I like it here, with the friendly staff and all. Never had an issue. Excellent overall.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingMan999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

Hotel located in the backpacker's district of Ho Chi Minh, with lots of restaurants, cafes and tourist offices around. It is very quiet (at least on the back side) and quite clean. The price is acceptable even for backpackers. I have nothing to complain about except for the bed, as it was not too soft and comfortable. Nonetheless, I would recommend this place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank wfedor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Blue River Hotel
Blue River Hotel
#110 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thuan Duc
Thuan Duc
#210 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.0 mi away
Elios Hotel
Elios Hotel
#70 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ngoc Minh Hotel
Ngoc Minh Hotel
#169 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dragon Palace II Hotel
Dragon Palace II Hotel
#277 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.0 mi away
Liberty Hotel Saigon Parkview
Liberty Hotel Saigon Parkview
#109 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spring House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spring House Hotel

Property: Spring House Hotel
Address: 221 Pham Ngu Lao Street | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 700000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #319 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Number of rooms: 332

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing