We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wasn't what we were expecting!”
Review of La Camargue

La Camargue
Ranked #723 of 3,288 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Wasn't what we were expecting!”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We wanted to try French cuisine in HCMC & our concierge recommended Camargue. However, this is more of an Italian restaurant than French. We shared a starter, main and dessert: Seared scallops wraped in bacon; fettuccine with prosciutto, sun-dried tomatoes and Parmesan cheese; and chocolate pudding. We also liked the complimentary amuse-bouche from the chef, and the warm mini baguettes. All very tasty - especially loved the pudding! Note: We initially ordered the chocolate fondant, but the waiter brought a cold slice of chocolate mud cake to the table. We were envisaging a hot, gooey, decadent dessert with a meltingly soft middle(!!)..so he happily exchanged it for the pudding :) The service was lovely and there were lots of candles scattered throughout the restaurant which created a romantic atmosphere. On the downside the carpet looked a bit old and drab.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AussieExpatBrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    33
    21
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Exceptional, Mediterranean Restaurant!”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

When looking for a break from Vietnamese food, head to Camargue. This restaurant served excellent Mediterranean meals with a good wine list. Perfect for a romantic dinner.
Only note, the restaurant moved locations and is no longer at 191 Hai Ba Trung.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fine dining !”
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Been invited to my friend's party here last month. This is a new place and they did a great job. The restaurant is beautiful with 2 floors. Menu is great with many selection, wine list is out-standing. Service was good , sometimes the staffs forgot our orders but maybe it was on a busy night. Food was cook perfectly and tasty. Price is high but it worths a visit!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Juliaansing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
“Perfect for a romantic dinner”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Great ambience. Perfect for a romantic dinner for two. There are some misses, but plenty of the dishes were hits, particularly the foie gras and the sea bass. Service was excellent.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nico C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
488 reviews
265 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“good food, good location”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Dinner tonight is at Camargue, an elegant French restaurant. Service is quite good, even though there are 27 of us. Walking distance to many locations.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Spoonball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Camargue also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to La Camargue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing