We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hoang Hail Long Review”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alagon Central Hotel & Spa
Ranked #101 of 466 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed September 21, 2009

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (759)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

545 - 551 of 760 reviews

An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed September 15, 2009

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed September 10, 2009

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 8, 2009

Hoang Hai Long Hotel is a 3-star hotel comprising 3 narrow blocks side-by-side, connected on the ground floor by the café. Each block has its own Reception, and has about 8 rooms per floor. It is in District 1, across the Pham Hong Thai Street from the 5-star New World Hotel. Taxi from airport costs VND80,000 if taken from the road outside arrival hall, but the tour agents inside the hall will charge USD8 (VND143,000) for exactly the same thing.

Hotel Reception was not well-organized. We had our confirmation letter on hand, and check-in was OK. But those without confirmation letter, especially when booked on-line, would have to go to the café where there were 4 internet PCs and printer, and print out their reservations for the Reception. We suspect that the problem was a result of the 3 separate Receptions, one of which was probably holding on to the original reservation.

Reception insisted on detaining the passport until check-out, unless room was paid in full. They would impose a 3% surcharge if paid by VISA or MC cards.

We paid USD38/night net for a deluxe twin, including breakfast. Room was on the 2nd floor and had a small window overlooking the stairwell. Room was small, with small table, kettle but without tea/coffee, refrigerator, safe, hairdryer in bathroom, and usual set of shampoo, bath gel, toothbrush. 2 bottles water were supplied every day. TV had more than 50 channels. Bathtub was triangular, plastic. Floor was tiled, low maintenance, but slippery and noisy. Rubber slippers were provided, but these were old ones used by earlier guests and we doubt that they were cleaned. Door lock was quite modern – card tap on lock, no need to slot in. However, it gave out alarm after 10 seconds if door was left open. Room had individual airconditioner which allowed control of temperature, fan speed, louver movement.

Wifi was available on all floors, but speed was better with plug-in using LAN cable loaned from reception.

Room was very noisy throughout the night. We could hear people coming out of the elevator and entering the rooms on the same floor, as well as people talking and children running about on other floors, because of the stairwell. Our friends who had rooms facing the main road also complained about traffic noise ... the cars and motorcycles on Ho Chi Minh City streets were extremely noisy at all times day and night.

Breakfast was a good buffet selection of Asian and Western, with a noodle (pho) station and eggs made to order. There were even cheese and paté.

Location of the hotel was great. We turned left from the entrance and got to Le Thanh Ton Street, walked about 100 meters and was at the back of the famous Ben Thanh Market. The Market opened from 6:00am to 6:00pm, but after that, the night market vendors would open their stalls on the streets. Be sure to try the noodles at Pho2000 (Bill Clinton visited it during his trip to HCMC) next to the Market. Walking further north-east brought us to Saigon Center, City Hall and Opera House.

There are many 3-star hotels in the area similar to Hoang Hai Long. We may come back to Hoang Hai Long Hotel again because of the price, but we may try Tan My Dinh Hotel or Lavender Hotel, both on Le Thanh Ton Street, to see whether rooms are quieter.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Singapore-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed September 6, 2009

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed September 2, 2009

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 2, 2009

I originally had booked the Hai long Dragon hotel and they gave me this place instead. Be careful with this group of hotels all bunched together. There are 4 hotels with Hai Long 1 being the oldest. I was sorely disappointed with the room. First, the room was spacious but the A/C was inadequate for that size room. Second, the bathroom tile in the bathtub/shower had a picture of a Vietnamese woman in a wet tank top. What the heck is this doing here? The pic was actually embedded in the tile and i've got pics to prove its existence. I called Wotif to complain and the mixup was fixed the following day with me being put into a much nicer and modern room.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wwong0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.0 mi away
Alagon Saigon Hotel & Spa
Alagon Saigon Hotel & Spa
#56 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
932 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alagon City Point Hotel & Spa
Alagon City Point Hotel & Spa
#147 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
189 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alagon d'Antique Hotel & Spa
Alagon d'Antique Hotel & Spa
#18 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alagon Western Hotel
Alagon Western Hotel
#96 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
350 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Luxe Hotel
The Luxe Hotel
#89 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
302 reviews
0.2 mi away
Silverland Central Hotel and Spa
Silverland Central Hotel and Spa
#53 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alagon Central Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alagon Central Hotel & Spa

Address: 52B - 62 - 64 Pham Hong Thai Street | Ben Thanh Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam (Formerly Alagon Hoang Hai Long Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#46 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $44 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alagon Central Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Pham Hong Thai, District 1, Hoang Hai Long hotel is your ideal destination, and just take a few walking minutes to Ben Thanh Market, City Theatre and the peoples committee.The Hoang Hai Long is centrally located in the midst of Ho Chi Minh City and within walking distance to major commercial addresses, the hotel is the perfect place for conducting business.The meeting and banquet facilities are well equipped to cater to your every need. A hotel that takes business and pleasure to heart, enjoy the best of Saigon while being pampered with super accommodation and excellent service.If you have any information need to support please do not hesitate to contact Sales Marketing Department ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alagon Central Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoang Hai Long 1 Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing