We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alagon Central Hotel & Spa
Ranked #111 of 447 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Simple Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2009

After a day of scouring Saigon for places to stay, I was surprised that I was offered a room after I walked right into the lobby and requested a room for the night. The front desk offered me a superior room at $40 USD and after inspecting the room, I quickly accepted only to stay an additional four nights.

The Hai Long 1 Hotel is directly across the street from the New World Hotel and about a seven minute walk to the Ben Thanh Market. There is an ATM at a 24-hour convenient store five minutes away on the way to the market. The hotel is a bit small with one elevator and connected to the Dragon Hotel through the restaurant. Breakfast was a buffet at $80,000 VND and offered quite a few selections. Inside my room there were two beds, cable television, free Internet access via an ethernet cable, a refrigerator, and an A/C set with a minimum of 17 degrees. The room was clean and the beds were simple.

Overall the hotel has nothing special. There is no exceptional service provided, no extreme amenities, nor luxurious expectations. However what the hotel lacked in impressions, it made up for with cleanliness, a decent staff, and room space. I stayed here with my significant other but booked a room here for my good friend and my brother on his wedding night. The staff always seemed pleasant and inviting, I never once worried about my belongings, and there always seemed to be a person waiting to call a taxi for me or open the door to let me in.

I recommend this hotel for travelers who want a clean, safe, decent place to stay and are not looking to stay in the room all day. There was always hot water, Internet access, and power for the cold air conditioner when I stayed. This hotel is known by regular travelers to Saigon as well as business travelers and families. I would compare this hotel to a Holiday Inn Express in the United States.

  • Liked — The value
  • Disliked — The lack of facilities
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank PhucDong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    282
    157
    32
    25
See reviews for
91
177
83
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2009

I have stayed at this hotel several times when I visited Saigon. The hotel is within walking distance to Saigon's centre. Reasonable rate, roomy, and clean.

  • Liked — Near city centre. Rate
  • Disliked — Traffic noise
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BuiDoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2008

I just returned from a 3 nite stay in Hai Long 1 yesterday.

Location - excellent. about 7mins walk to Ben Thanh, though i must say Lavender, Hoang Gia Huy etc would be a better choice if you want to be near Ben Thanh Mkt. Hai Long 1 is so central that u can walk to the Cho Ben Thanh and Pham Ngu Lao - backpacker districts.
Hotel is directly across New World Hotel, if you get bored at nite, the lil slot machine club @ New World can rid you of some time.

Price - Booking through the hotel itself would get you a better rate. I booked a family room - 2 queen size bed at USD 50 and another city view room for 3 pax @ USD 45. Breakfast is extra @ USD 5, but if you like vietnamese food, breakfast at mkt is a good choice.

Room - not sure about standard room, family room is huge!

At this time, you can hear some knockings occasionally, the friendly staff - Pencil, told me that the new hotel underway next door belongs to the same group.

  • Liked — Price and room type - can accommodate family
  • Disliked — if i am really picky - the small selection available @ breakfast buffet
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank samuev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEA
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2008

HHL is a beautyful small hotel. 10 floors, 5 rooms each. Very new and clean.

Problem: uneducated staff lets youth come in the hotel at nights ( after 1 AM) to party! Chasing up and down stairs; playing golf on 11th floor, making noise transferring to concrete structure as golf balls on tiles make a terrible noise.

  • Liked — new, clean, furnishing
  • Disliked — management absent
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank namtok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2008

We found Hai Long 1 because of a recommendation of a local. We were at another hotel for $20USD a night and they told us we could get a much nicer hotel for that amount and suggested Hai Long 1.

Once we found the hotel, we had a look at the $35 room and the $55 room. Unfortunately, the $20 rooms were full so we weren't able to see it.

The $35 room was two twin beds in a small room and for a mere $20 more, we opted for the $55 room ( We even got $5 off haha and paid $50 because three of us booked a room each)

The $55 room is very big and very clean. The beds are either King or two twins. The floors are tile and the bathroom was good. A picture is attached to this review.

Location of Hotel :
The hotel is centrally located to the clubs, hair salons and shopping areas. Another hotel nearby for reference is the New World Hotel and Spa. It's also about a 5 minute walk to the Ben Tranh Market.

Breakfast Buffet:
It's about a 2/5 on my scale. There is fried rice, fried eggs, sausage, pho, juices, coffees and some other stuff. Edible, but nothing special. It would have gotten a 3/5 but on the second day, someone split something sweet on one of the plates near the buffet, and there were a wack of tiny bugs on the plate which kinda killed my appetite.

Staff
Very friendly and knowledgable. Always willing to search for things on the internet for you to help you get to where you want to go to.

Internet
Free internet in the lobby and wifi. The lobby has 3 computers you can use for free.

Elevator (lift)
This hotel, unlike some has an elevator.

Hope this review helps. I would definately stay here again.

  • Liked — Clean, Cheap and Great Location
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank scrappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2008

In summary: Good service, friendly staff, spacious rooms, good computer availability, good elevator, good security service (mostly for opening doors and calling cabs). Adjacent building is under construction and it is extremely noisy with metal banging, concrete pouring, welding, etc... A little spendy, but seems to be in line with others in District 1 area near Cho Ben Thanh.

Overall, I thought the hotel was fine. We stayed 4 nights and had no issues with the rooms. We were actually surprised that the rooms were as spacious as they are. I did not like the floors being at different heights, and constantly trip over those little mini-steps which are oddly placed in hallways.

The rooms are clean, and staff seems reasonable knowledgable about things around town. They were able to get us a car for the day without problems, and adviced us on the schedule for the Vung Tau boat trip.

Most annoying was that breakfast was not included in the room price. Thus, their restaurant remain mostly usused at all hours. This is unfortunate as they have precious real estate that is under-utilized while lesser priced hotels actually include breakfast and making their dining area more inviting.

Second annoying thing is the amount of ants crawling around the walls. Needs to be dealt with by management. Rooms lacked adequate outlets for charging phones, cameras, etc... at the same time.

Good storage service when you have to leave town for a few days but don't want wall your bags with you. I appreciate this free service. This has been a common service throughout all the hotels in VN.

Location is pretty nice. It is a simple 4 minute walk to Ben Thanh Market, which is a must-see location. The adjacent street to Ben Thanh market is transformed to shopping and dining every night at 5PM, closed to motor traffic. However, some locals have warned that eating here may not be all that clean. I have eatened here before and not been sick as a result, but you can see why some locals say not to eat there.

PS The hotel needs to provide hand soaps for the frequent handwashing that has to be done. Had to resort to using shampoo to wash hands.

  • Liked — location to Ben Thanh Market
  • Disliked — noisy hotel adjacent wall under construction
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MarinaEdmonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
85 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2008

Our family (2 adults and 2 children age 7 and 8) were originally going to stay at Elios Hotel for approx $105 per night. We found Hai Long 1 on the http://www.saigonhotel-link.com/ web site and gave it a go. For $55 per night we got a huge room, 2 queen size beds, a longue area and nice large bathroom. We could easily use the money saved at the nearby Ben Thanh market.

Staff were incredibly friendly, gave us the power adaptor they found for us and took photos of the kids! Only complaint was a slight smell of smoke in the room from previous users.

Found the Dam Sen water park terrific for the kids. Great waterslides and ammazing value.

We did a 1 day trip to the Mekong Delta via Sinh Cafe in De Tham St. The tour went to Cai Be floating markets and Vinh Long. It was unbelievable good for the price- approx $21 for the 4 of us, including lunch!

Best restaurant we went to in all of Vietnam was Ngon, 138 Nam Ky Khoi Nghia. Not to be missed. Cheap to get to by taxi.

  • Liked — Cheap
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank CGW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.0 mi away
Alagon Saigon Hotel & Spa
Alagon Saigon Hotel & Spa
#60 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alagon City Point Hotel & Spa
Alagon City Point Hotel & Spa
#137 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alagon d'Antique Hotel & Spa
Alagon d'Antique Hotel & Spa
#19 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Silverland Central Hotel and Spa
Silverland Central Hotel and Spa
#55 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alagon Western Hotel
Alagon Western Hotel
#102 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.3 mi away
GK Central Hotel
GK Central Hotel
#46 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alagon Central Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alagon Central Hotel & Spa

Property: Alagon Central Hotel & Spa
Address: 52B - 62 - 64 Pham Hong Thai Street | Ben Thanh Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam (Formerly Alagon Hoang Hai Long Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#46 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alagon Central Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Pham Hong Thai, District 1, Hoang Hai Long hotel is your ideal destination, and just take a few walking minutes to Ben Thanh Market, City Theatre and the peoples committee.The Hoang Hai Long is centrally located in the midst of Ho Chi Minh City and within walking distance to major commercial addresses, the hotel is the perfect place for conducting business.The meeting and banquet facilities are well equipped to cater to your every need. A hotel that takes business and pleasure to heart, enjoy the best of Saigon while being pampered with super accommodation and excellent service.If you have any information need to support please do not hesitate to contact Sales Marketing Department ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alagon Central Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoang Hai Long 1 Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing