We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Prison style room with no window” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alagon Central Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Alagon Central Hotel & Spa
Ranked #110 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Level Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Prison style room with no window”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

I must of gotten the worst room in the hotel. It is so small the bed is jammed next to the wall. There is no window and thus no natural light. I hated it. If you are catastrophobic do not stay here. The hotel is a good location short walk to the market.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mashedpotatoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    279
    157
    29
    25
See reviews for
88
173
82
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

I have stayed in a few hotels in Ho Chi Minh City, but this is the choice at the end of day for us to stay at when we travel for business. A key reason is the location of the hotel.

The hotel is located directly across New World Saigon. It's a stone throw away from Ben Thanh Market if you're looking for touristy things to do. It's across to Chill if you want a drink while enjoying the skyline of Ho Chi Minh. Lots of food around the area too. Thus you'll be well taken care of.

Based on this reason, and the cost of the rooms, I find the value of the hotel excellent.

The rooms are comfortable, although do expect that most 3 star hotels in Vietnam do not have very solid doors, thus you would be able to hear everything along the corridors. The other thing is that if you have a room facing the main road, do expect lots of road noise. Again, this is expected because it's Vietnam.

The staff are very helpful especially the Front Office staff. Unfortunately I do not know the rest of the staff names beside the assistant FOM, Ms. Ngoc. They have upgraded me a few times while staying here and are very helpful.

Do note that this hotel can be rather confusing with all the entrances. Not to worry though, the staff will point you in the right direction.

Room Tip: If you want a room that you do not hear any traffic noise, you'll have to go for the lowest tier...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderingabout00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

Me and my family stayed at this hotel in March 2013, daughters aged 11 and 6yrs old. We found the staff to be friendly, warm, welcoming and very helpful. The hotel is well known and easy to find, although one must be careful because there are two hotels with the same name and also this hotel has 3 entrances (be careful when arranging tour collections etc). We stayed in a family room which had two double beds and separate bathroom, quite acceptable for our short stay in HCM.
We enjoyed the range of food available for breakfast, with several local as well as western options. The hotel was clean, the only downfall was the lift which was very slow to arrive.
There is an excellent SPA inside the hotel on the west wing, ask to see Mr Binh Thung he is excellent. The spa is cheap and staff are dedicated to making guests feel good.
The children wished there was a pool but enjoyed the free access to computers in the lobby.

Room Tip: Beware slow serving lift. Use the SPA in house, ask to see Mr Binh Thung.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Booked 2 nights in Hoang Hai Long for Mar and mistakenly booked for 2014 instead of 2013. Realised only on reaching the hotel, so was considered a walk-in. Thanks to the hotel, they tried to accomodate us, but charged 85 USD/night which was more than double the cost of my initial booking.

-ve's - The room was quite small for the price by Vietnam standards and so was disappointing.

+ve's - Good central location, decent buffet breakfast and good service by the staff. Booked pickup and drop to the airport and had no problem with their service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ngarg79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

This hotel is amazing! Service is impeccable. Rooms are standard, clean and tidy and fabulous shower/spa bath (which is hard to find in Vietnam!). The breakfasts here are out of this world! Buffet everything from western continental food, to pho, omlettes,veges,rice and noodles. Coffee and tea, fruit juices, fresh fruit and sweetened yoghurt. We ate breakfast and then did not need to eat until a snack in the afternoon!
Location is great. It is just a few blocks (but far enough away) from the backpacker area. A short walk to the markets, and also a short walk to Nguyen Hue and the fancy hotels such as the Sheraton and the Rex etc.
Only comment I have that is not positive is that there is no swimming pool. We used the pool across the road at the New World hotel, as per the receptionist's advice. This was fabulous, but pricey at VND 210,000

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PetalNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
98 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Stayed 3 nights at this hotel. As in other hotels, breakfast variety never change, but it's quite good. The hotel is within 15 mins walk to the popular Ben Thanh market. Hotel provided a pair of tea cup and spoon but no coffee or tea. On the second day, new shampoo and bath gel set was not provided, so had to use the previous set from the first day. Not too sure if the norm is to provide 1 set of gel for 2 days. I noticed that other rooms my family occupied also faced similar situation. The hotel provided free wifi so it was convenient for us to communicate with our families at home.

Room Tip: We took a double, triple and a single..all adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hawkuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

I stayed one night in transit. Hotel is in a good central location (district 1). Rooms were clean and comfortable with midrange hotel amenities. nice bathrooms. Hotel breakfast was plentiful and diverse. Hotel staff english was ok, seemed a little aloof or uninterested because I was only staying one night. They do have a deal with the 5 star hotel across the street to buy passes ($10USD) to use pool, gym and spa which is extremely nice and a great place to wait for a flight.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank HaveBackpackWillGo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.0 mi away
Alagon Saigon Hotel & Spa
Alagon Saigon Hotel & Spa
#61 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alagon City Point Hotel & Spa
Alagon City Point Hotel & Spa
#135 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.2 mi away
Silverland Central Hotel and Spa
Silverland Central Hotel and Spa
#52 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alagon Western Hotel
Alagon Western Hotel
#137 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.3 mi away
GK Central Hotel
GK Central Hotel
#53 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paradise Saigon Boutique Hotel
Paradise Saigon Boutique Hotel
#49 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alagon Central Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alagon Central Hotel & Spa

Property: Alagon Central Hotel & Spa
Address: 52B - 62 - 64 Pham Hong Thai Street | Ben Thanh Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam (Formerly Alagon Hoang Hai Long Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#45 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alagon Central Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Pham Hong Thai, District 1, Hoang Hai Long hotel is your ideal destination, and just take a few walking minutes to Ben Thanh Market, City Theatre and the peoples committee.The Hoang Hai Long is centrally located in the midst of Ho Chi Minh City and within walking distance to major commercial addresses, the hotel is the perfect place for conducting business.The meeting and banquet facilities are well equipped to cater to your every need. A hotel that takes business and pleasure to heart, enjoy the best of Saigon while being pampered with super accommodation and excellent service.If you have any information need to support please do not hesitate to contact Sales Marketing Department ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Fastbooking, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Alagon Central Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoang Hai Long 1 Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing