We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Alagon - a Hoang Hai Long Group hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alagon Central Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alagon Central Hotel & Spa
Ranked #118 of 426 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Alagon – a Hoang Hai Long Group hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I booked a room at Hoang Hai Long using Expedia for 3 nights in early January. I called the hotel around 11:30AM to inquire room availability for an early check-in (officially check-in is 2 or 3PM). They said to come in as they have a room. Upon arrival at the Hoang Hai Long lobby, the front desk personnel ushered me to what they call a new tower. They walked me past a dining area into another building. They said welcome to Alagon, the newest member of the Hoang Hai Long Group, and which just opened less than two weeks. Found out I paid $60/night on Expedia for a Deluxe room at Hoang Hai Long Hotel and ended up with a $100/night room in a brand new hotel:

• Brand new room in a brand, spanking new hotel with grand opening on 12/25/2012
• Spacious room, in all white, with elegant décor
• Nice design and layout and with attractive hardwood floor – see photos
• Tile/marble bathroom, glass-wall shower with multiple shower heads
• Free wifi connection, but it was inconsistent
• Great breakfast with hot western items in a large dining area with many tables. This dining room seemed to be common to all three towers (Hoang Hai Long, Hoang Hai Long 2, and Alagon). The Alagon tower itself also has a few dining tables to add to those already in the larger, common dining room
• Accomodating front desk staff and management. The manager gave me a discount for an upgraded room on high floor with view of the street
• Negative – safe is not yet bolted to bottom of closet; can be picked up and carried out

Although this hotel is new and I enjoyed my stay, there are two things that they should do to make it more attractive: 1) lower the asking price. The full price for my room is $100, which is very high for a 3* hotel in that area and 2) bolt down the safe in each room.

Finally – this is a tip to all travelers to Saigon (HCMC): Book hotel rooms ahead of time using online travel agencies such as Expedia and Agoda. They offer significantly lower prices than booking directly with the hotel. I asked 3 or 4 different hotels in Saigon in person for their room prices. Without exception, their quoted prices in person are higher than those on Expedia and Agoda for the same room and same nights.

Room Tip: Ask for front room (view of street) on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ReservationsRequired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    254
    149
    26
    20
See reviews for
77
156
78
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed at the Hoang Hai Long for 4 nights. We had a great time here, it was within easy walking distance for the market and other attractions. The rooms were of a great standard for a 3 star hotel. The staff were very helpful and very friendly. The buffet breakfast was great, although the tea was rather weak so I would recommend taking your own t-bags. We did have one evening meal in the hotel which we didn't enjoy very much. If we ever came back to Vietnam, we would be more than happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeju, South Korea
Level Contributor
45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The staff at this hotel were one of the most attentive staff of any hotel I've ever stayed in (and I'm no traveling rookie). From the moment you walk in, the staff is ready to sincerely help you. They recommended great activities, booked tours for us, guided us towards great restaurants, and even notified my husband that his wallet was in view and that we was a target for pick-pocketing (which you must be mindful of in Ho Chi Minh). They stored our luggage and gave us a room at a half-day rate since our flight didn't leave until late.

But the best thing is that it's totally affordable. For the value, this hotel is the best around. Rooms are clean and simple, everything you need with no elaborate frills. For us, an active traveling couple, it was a great choice. It is nearby the large park and right in the middle of all the city action.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsParnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoi An, Vietnam
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The hotel staff seemed fearful of getting into trouble. We had a split stay here and there was a great kerfuffle when we left without paying for a future airport transfer. The hotel rang the tour we were on and asked the guide to get the money from us even though we were fully paid and we had left our luggage. We felt like criminals! A shame, interesting location and ok rooms if windows are not an expectation. Good beds, good shower.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate23179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Whilst the rooms were clean and of a decent standard, there was zero sound proofing and I constantly heard a phone ringing which I later worked out to be located in the hallway outside my room which I can only assume the cleaners used to communicate with each other. The bed was rock hard as well, but the wifi worked in your room which I now realise is a luxury in Vietnam. The breakfast was good compared to other hotels I have subsequently stayed in, in Vietnam. I came as part of a group tour so cannot comment on value but I wouldn't stay here given that the main purpose of a hotel is to sleep! The front desk staff speak very little English which became very frustrating especially when you have a genuine issue that needs dealing with and you either get told when breakfast is being served or offered a newspaper!

Room Tip: Try to get upgraded to the new hotel Algoda which is linked via the restaurant, which has better sou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahl0uise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stayed 3nights in this hotel. Great value for money. Clean and good breakfast provided. The rooms are however not very sound proofed. We could hear people talking in the opposite room and the TV needs to be upgraded to a flat screen). Location is excellent. Within walking distances to all the 'must see' city attractions eg the Ben Tahn market, cathedral, war museum, water puppet show. Plenty of eateries nearby.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ebony07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I'm a Canadian and a former Vietnamese national (left Vietnam in 1978). I've return to visit Vietnam each year for the past 15 years, now. I've stayed at numerous hotels, from premium western hotel chains, to the smaller locally owned and operated ones and everything in between. From all of my stays, this hotel is the best bang-for-the buck. It is a well-run, professional and clean hotel, locally owned and operated, without the inflated prices of western hotel chains in close proximity. The price is a little more than the dives nearby for backpackers, but a lot less than what western hotel chains are charging in this area. Spend some time to find the best rate on this hotel and you will be extremely pleased.

Location:
This hotel is located beside the New World Hotel. The location is central downtown. Ben Thanh Market is a couple blocks away, maybe 2 minutes walking distance. You are in the heart of downtown.

Hotel
There are 3 hotel towers on this site, the first is Hoang Hai Long 1, Hoang Hai Long 2 was constructed after that and the newest tower is called Alagon. Each have their own entrance and lobby, but a shared dining room. I've stayed in all 3 towers. As I'm writing Alagon is still being developed. On the higher floors, construction is taking place. I'm a few floors below the construction so I can not hear any of the activity, but I'm told it is taking place. Alagon is the nicer/newer of the 3 towers. But all the rooms are just as comfortable and clean.

Service/Staff
For those who are english speakers, the staff are required to take hotel service courses prior to working - they are fluent in english, so you shouldn't have any problems there. It is not their first language, so keep your expectations in check, but communication is not an issue. Their service is exceptionally good and professional. They are helpful and friendly. Always smiling and greeting, as you walk by. They are very customer service focussed.

Food
The hotel provides a breakfast voucher for each day of your stay. The breakfast is exceptional. They have hot western breakfast food, like eggs, toast, cereal, pancakes. Maybe a dozen Vietnamese dishes as well as a Pho soup station. I've had good Pho in my time, the Pho station at breakfast is one of the better Pho soups you'll get in this city. They also have an assortment of juices, milk, tea, coffee and water. An arrangement of freshly cut fruit and yogurt, is available. My favourite dish has to be the pate. Locally made, no preservatives, just delicious when spread on fresh baguette. Very good and high quality breakfast and most importantly, free.

I've also had dinner at the hotel. The prices are extremely reasonable. They are the same as food costs out on the street. The kitchen is very talented and you can get authentic, fresh vietnamese dishes or western cuisine. Give it a try, it is cleaner and more convenient than dining outside at time.

Rooms
The rooms are well put together. The bathrooms and beds are exceptionally clean and tidy. No complaints at all. Rooms are what you would expect from a western hotel. The beds are comfortable. The mattresses are on the firm side, but not hard. This is on par for south east asia and not a knock on the hotel. As a westerner we are accustomed to sleeping on softer mattresses. I'm accustomed to a firmer mattress, so I sleep well. Each room has a flat panel TV, and thermostat controlled AC. The showers are hot. They use beautiful glass shower stalls with rain shower head. Very nice touch.

Internet
There is free wireless internet throughout the hotel and computers with internet in the lobby. The speeds are very good.


Overall, I am very pleased with the hotel, I will continue to stay here year after year. My only concern is I hope the prices stay reasonable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John3454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.0 mi away
Alagon Saigon Hotel & Spa
Alagon Saigon Hotel & Spa
#70 of 426 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 stars 652 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alagon d'Antique Hotel & Spa
Alagon d'Antique Hotel & Spa
#67 of 426 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 74 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alagon City Point Hotel & Spa
Alagon City Point Hotel & Spa
#135 of 426 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 stars 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alagon Western Hotel
Alagon Western Hotel
#144 of 426 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 stars 250 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sanouva Saigon Hotel
Sanouva Saigon Hotel
#49 of 426 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,304 reviews
0.2 mi away
Silverland Central Hotel and Spa
Silverland Central Hotel and Spa
#48 of 426 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 stars 926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alagon Central Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alagon Central Hotel & Spa

Property: Alagon Central Hotel & Spa
Address: 52B - 62 - 64 Pham Hong Thai Street | Ben Thanh Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam (Formerly Alagon Hoang Hai Long Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#48 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alagon Central Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Pham Hong Thai, District 1, Hoang Hai Long hotel is your ideal destination, and just take a few walking minutes to Ben Thanh Market, City Theatre and the peoples committee.The Hoang Hai Long is centrally located in the midst of Ho Chi Minh City and within walking distance to major commercial addresses, the hotel is the perfect place for conducting business.The meeting and banquet facilities are well equipped to cater to your every need. A hotel that takes business and pleasure to heart, enjoy the best of Saigon while being pampered with super accommodation and excellent service.If you have any information need to support please do not hesitate to contact Sales Marketing Department ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Fastbooking, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Hotwire so you can book your Alagon Central Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoang Hai Long 1 Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing