We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great value and location. Very clean and exceptional customer service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alagon Central Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Alagon Central Hotel & Spa
Ranked #115 of 423 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Calgary, Alberta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value and location. Very clean and exceptional customer service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I'm a Canadian and a former Vietnamese national (left Vietnam in 1978). I've return to visit Vietnam each year for the past 15 years, now. I've stayed at numerous hotels, from premium western hotel chains, to the smaller locally owned and operated ones and everything in between. From all of my stays, this hotel is the best bang-for-the buck. It is a well-run, professional and clean hotel, locally owned and operated, without the inflated prices of western hotel chains in close proximity. The price is a little more than the dives nearby for backpackers, but a lot less than what western hotel chains are charging in this area. Spend some time to find the best rate on this hotel and you will be extremely pleased.

Location:
This hotel is located beside the New World Hotel. The location is central downtown. Ben Thanh Market is a couple blocks away, maybe 2 minutes walking distance. You are in the heart of downtown.

Hotel
There are 3 hotel towers on this site, the first is Hoang Hai Long 1, Hoang Hai Long 2 was constructed after that and the newest tower is called Alagon. Each have their own entrance and lobby, but a shared dining room. I've stayed in all 3 towers. As I'm writing Alagon is still being developed. On the higher floors, construction is taking place. I'm a few floors below the construction so I can not hear any of the activity, but I'm told it is taking place. Alagon is the nicer/newer of the 3 towers. But all the rooms are just as comfortable and clean.

Service/Staff
For those who are english speakers, the staff are required to take hotel service courses prior to working - they are fluent in english, so you shouldn't have any problems there. It is not their first language, so keep your expectations in check, but communication is not an issue. Their service is exceptionally good and professional. They are helpful and friendly. Always smiling and greeting, as you walk by. They are very customer service focussed.

Food
The hotel provides a breakfast voucher for each day of your stay. The breakfast is exceptional. They have hot western breakfast food, like eggs, toast, cereal, pancakes. Maybe a dozen Vietnamese dishes as well as a Pho soup station. I've had good Pho in my time, the Pho station at breakfast is one of the better Pho soups you'll get in this city. They also have an assortment of juices, milk, tea, coffee and water. An arrangement of freshly cut fruit and yogurt, is available. My favourite dish has to be the pate. Locally made, no preservatives, just delicious when spread on fresh baguette. Very good and high quality breakfast and most importantly, free.

I've also had dinner at the hotel. The prices are extremely reasonable. They are the same as food costs out on the street. The kitchen is very talented and you can get authentic, fresh vietnamese dishes or western cuisine. Give it a try, it is cleaner and more convenient than dining outside at time.

Rooms
The rooms are well put together. The bathrooms and beds are exceptionally clean and tidy. No complaints at all. Rooms are what you would expect from a western hotel. The beds are comfortable. The mattresses are on the firm side, but not hard. This is on par for south east asia and not a knock on the hotel. As a westerner we are accustomed to sleeping on softer mattresses. I'm accustomed to a firmer mattress, so I sleep well. Each room has a flat panel TV, and thermostat controlled AC. The showers are hot. They use beautiful glass shower stalls with rain shower head. Very nice touch.

Internet
There is free wireless internet throughout the hotel and computers with internet in the lobby. The speeds are very good.


Overall, I am very pleased with the hotel, I will continue to stay here year after year. My only concern is I hope the prices stay reasonable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John3454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    245
    142
    23
    19
See reviews for
74
146
76
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 2 weeks and felt like part of the family. The service was great, the Manager Mr. Hien was very accommodating in arranging my room...the rooms were good size and clean, room service was efficient, the reception staff and the bellboys were excellent in helping me with directions and taxi service...I would even get hot tea while reading my book in the lobby..The breakfast had a good selection of Asian and Western food and good service, there was also a Tour Desk that booked all your needs for sightseeing . Am looking forward to returning soon.

Room Tip: ask for street view if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PattayaBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas
Level Contributor
189 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Very much a large group hotel. When we checked in three large groups had their luggage grouped in the lobby. It appears the hotel has expanded and now has an annex. Rooms in the annex are okay and clean, but a little worn looking. Have room safe and excellent wifi connection. There's a separate hotel entrance for the annex only about 20 meters from the main hotel entrance (a small hotel is sandwiched between the main hotel and annex) although both the main hotel and annex are connected by a common dining room. The breakfast selection is quite limited for Western food although there is a vast selection of Asian items. Located near the Ben Thanh market.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bobe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Do not stay in the east wing of this hotel! Very small rooms, ours looked out at a dirty brick wall. Hallways are claustrophobic and cluttered with staff squatting outside the service rooms right outside the elevator.
Rooms come with a kettle and cups but no tea or coffee????
Pleasant lobby but a lot of steps up to it and vitually no seating area. Staff were friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ozaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

The staff at this hotel are the friendliest I have ever encountered, but maybe it's the Vietnamese in general. The rooms are a good size and well appointed and the bathrooms are very modern and stylish. The rooms are cleaned every day and the staff are very willing to help with anything you desire. Breakfast was included in the price and was always a good selection and very tasty. I really enjoyed my time at this hotel and found it to be such great value that we cancelled a weekend in Singapore just to stay longer here.
The hotel is located a short walk from the Markets, the Presidential Palace and the War Reminants Museum as well as other local attractions and some great restraunts.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on or near the top floor. I was on the third floor and found I could hear noise from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nod069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre2556, General Manager at Alagon Central Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Sir

Greetings from Hoang Hai Long Hotel

Thank you very much for your choosing our hotel during your stay in Ho Chi Minh city and appreciated for your valuable feedback regarding our services

It has been our pleasure to serve you and we want you to know that we truly value your supports, it has helped to keep our operation run smoothly and try the best to provide our guests with excellence services

We look forward to many more times of serving you, and wish you get home safety

MERRY CHRISTMAS AND HAPPY NEW YEAR
Pierre Phong Le
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
116 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

While the location is good and the hotel responds quickly to requests, we have two reasons we would not return. First there were too many steps to get into and out of the hotel. Second, even though they came up quickly when we said there were many small bugs in the room, they did nothing about it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights and found this the WORST HOTEL EVER. No hot water and ants everywhere. Breakfast buffet was ok just but I wouldn't stay here again even if they charged $1 for a room.
The hotel is being fixed up so lots of sounds of drilling and grinding. I was told the work would stop at 5pm but even at 21.30 work was still going on. If I had known I would have cancelled booking. Don't get sucked in...... Book somewhere else.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank aldog1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre2556, General Manager at Alagon Central Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Sir
Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience that you experienced during their stay at our hotel
At Hoang Hai Long Hotel, we take pride in ensuring our customer’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet our own expectations upon thorough review of the situation.
We deeply value your above comment to Hoang Hai Long Hotel and are committed to providing the highest level of service since the hotel have completely finished renovation from October 2012.
If you have any further questions or comments regarding this matter, please feel free to discuss it with me at my email address: gm@hoanghailonghotel.com
Thanks and best regards
Phong Le ( Pierre )
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.0 mi away
Alagon Saigon Hotel & Spa
Alagon Saigon Hotel & Spa
#69 of 423 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 615 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alagon City Point Hotel & Spa
Alagon City Point Hotel & Spa
#136 of 423 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 stars 122 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alagon d'Antique Hotel & Spa
Alagon d'Antique Hotel & Spa
#82 of 423 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alagon Western Hotel
Alagon Western Hotel
#135 of 423 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 stars 245 reviews
0.3 mi away
GK Central Hotel
GK Central Hotel
#44 of 423 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 stars 349 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sanouva Saigon Hotel
Sanouva Saigon Hotel
#50 of 423 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alagon Central Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alagon Central Hotel & Spa

Property: Alagon Central Hotel & Spa
Address: 52B - 62 - 64 Pham Hong Thai Street | Ben Thanh Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam (Formerly Alagon Hoang Hai Long Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#44 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alagon Central Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Pham Hong Thai, District 1, Hoang Hai Long hotel is your ideal destination, and just take a few walking minutes to Ben Thanh Market, City Theatre and the peoples committee.The Hoang Hai Long is centrally located in the midst of Ho Chi Minh City and within walking distance to major commercial addresses, the hotel is the perfect place for conducting business.The meeting and banquet facilities are well equipped to cater to your every need. A hotel that takes business and pleasure to heart, enjoy the best of Saigon while being pampered with super accommodation and excellent service.If you have any information need to support please do not hesitate to contact Sales Marketing Department ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Alagon Central Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoang Hai Long 1 Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing