We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding value”
Review of Ho Sen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ho Sen Hotel
Ranked #334 of 462 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Reviewed January 28, 2014

I always stay at this hotel in HCMC. The location is great. Staff are very friendly and the price is a steal. The only problem I have is using the safe in the room. I wish they were simple. The free breakfast is very good.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

25 - 31 of 83 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2014

Stayed at this hotel before, was close to the ferry so location was good for me.... Hotel was only fair at best.... Returned to hotel for a one night stay over and was told that they and Ho San 2 were full...this was not a problem until I went to another hotel and was online doing bookings for next few days and seen there were 12 rooms available ..... Not sure why I was turned away but I suspect it was because two friends of mine were with me from the ferry...maybe they thought they were booking with me... If they had concerns they should have discussed them with me. Low end hotels can't afford to loose return customers so I think the owners should review their front line staff. Dishonest is dishonest...

Room Tip: Check reviews before booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gregg F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

For the money it was fine. Was not expecting much but the location was great, could walk to most places and the area itself seemed safe.
Our suite was on the 9th floor and we did have a view out the window. The bed was awful, but most are throughout Asia.
The one thing that did annoy me was when we were checking out they charged us for 4 bottles of water that were in the fridge! There were no notices in the room saying water was not free. We had travelled through Vietnam for 5 weeks and had stayed at some pretty cheap places BUT water was always supplied. When asked why we had to pay the receptionist said "it is because we are a budget hotel"......

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dianne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Right the plus points...terrific position, great staff, and helpful. The downside; some of the rooms are downright nasty...mold...ancient Jacuzzis in the bathroom, beds 6 inches off the floor and a distinct lack of windows in some rooms....[though window blinds are provided for non-existent windows]
I was lucky i got my room changed, i swapped mold for no window, though some people had to live with the defects. They do try hard to be a good hotel so A for effort. Breakfast is ok but get there early as tour groups wolf down the buffet and the best bits can run out...also it is open to the garage on one side, so i not totally air-conned, so can be a bit sticky.

Room Tip: look through the blinds to see if there's a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bettystaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Hotel was clean and the front desk was very good. Nice size room and it over looked the street but was quiet. The bed was rock hard and need an extra foam pad to make it . They were helpful and quick to get the pad.

Breakfast was nothing special but had the basics for a western person. Location was good Just what you would expect from a 2 star except the bed would be a one star. Just fix the mattress and it would be good place. Maybe not all beds are this hard as it was not mentioned before from what I reviewed.

Room Tip: many places to eat within walking distance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ron r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The room was a decent size very clean good views of the city especially at night breakfast very average for a westerner but ok the staff were excellent the front desk got us two flights cheaper than we could find them on the Internet good location

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

This was a pretty basic hotel. Rooms were clean, free breakfast (although, pretty bare), free computer usage with printer (useful if you need to print something out for a tour or something). Basic amenities, AC is good. TVs are good. Rooms feel a little cramped, especially if you're in one of those no-window rooms. Not my favorite, but the price was pretty reasonable for such a prime location. You are literally just a block or two away from some of the best restaurants on Saigon.

Staff was friendly enough. You'll find them sleeping if you come in at an odd hour, but that's pretty typical of Vietnamese establishments, so it's not all that weird. To be fair, the "odd hour" I arrived was about 4:30 am.

Overall, it wasn't my FAVORITE hotel and it's not anything to write home about, but it was great for what I needed it to be! :)

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a window if you like to know when it's daylight. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.0 mi away
HoSen Boutique Hotel
HoSen Boutique Hotel
#321 of 462 in Ho Chi Minh City
99 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dong Do Hotel
Dong Do Hotel
#292 of 462 in Ho Chi Minh City
65 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunflower Luxury Hotel
Sunflower Luxury Hotel
#237 of 462 in Ho Chi Minh City
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bongsen Annex Hotel
Bongsen Annex Hotel
#282 of 462 in Ho Chi Minh City
198 reviews
0.1 mi away
Asian Ruby Center Point Hotel
Asian Ruby Center Point Hotel
#275 of 462 in Ho Chi Minh City
69 reviews
0.1 mi away
Silverland Inn Hotel
Silverland Inn Hotel
#165 of 462 in Ho Chi Minh City
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ho Sen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ho Sen Hotel

Address: 4B - 4C Thi Sach St. | Ben Nghe Ward, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City 700000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #334 of 462 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $25 - $36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ho Sen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Ho Sen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing