We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Ho Sen 2 Hotel. Recommendable.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ho Sen Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ho Sen Hotel
Ranked #216 of 436 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
“Ho Sen 2 Hotel. Recommendable.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

Ho Sen 2 Hotel. Good service. Nice workers. No water heater. Many Halal restaurant nearby. Easy to get taxi service. Walking distance to city centre. Strategic location. Simple breakfast. Clean room. Staff are super friendly. They can assist you, just ask what you want. Most of them can speak basic English. I really enjoy staying in this hotel. Feel to come again when visiting Ho Chi Minh City later in future.

Room Tip: The highest floor with no lift access. Not sure 5th of 6th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shahrul a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    36
    23
    7
    3
See reviews for
9
16
26
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

I am really very happy with the service of Ho Sen 2 hotel. 2 Thumbs up. The room was very clean as in the photos. I like the white trendy furniture and deco.Everything was good including the staff. They were friendly and helpful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ng_Eileen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Silly headline, purhaps- but at this price, silly jokes can be made, but all jokes aside- this was a great hotel. We are always the most difficult guests at hotels,we demand the most bizarre stuff brought to our room, and the staff here dealt with us finely. They were polite, room was spacious and clean. Even english was spoken. Breakfast was great and varied, and the coffee kept us going all day. Though on their web-site it says "we have fitness centre"- this is a lie, but all of the rest is true. Conclution; All is true, except the lies. Bed was a little hard.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Like other reviewers I stayed in Ho Sen 2 next door to the main hotel, on account of it being slightly cheaper. I have stayed in better hotels in Saigon and maybe even better value, but I've not so far slept in cheaper. I have to say this was a good experience. The hotel is friendly, clean and reasonably well appointed. It also has one of the best breakfasts I've had in a budget hotel in Vietnam. Not much choice especially if you are use to western breakfasts and as in most of Vietnam difficult to avoid pork, everything tasted great.
I was upgraded to a superior room, so maybe I've over influenced by this, but the room was exceptional for the money. I've stayed in much more tasteful places (e.g. Little Saigon Boutique) but this was good. I wasn't keen on the whirlpool bath, as unlike the Japanese guests I'm not keen on programming in machine code just to get a bath. Also there was nowhere to fix the shower head rendering a shower problematic. Like other guests I noticed a sewer smell from the sink plugs, but I think that was more about the neighbourhood than the hotel.
Its a couple of doors up from the infamous Apocolypse Now, which has to be worth a visit. If only to witness security staff man to man marking customers. Unlike other guests I could not hear the revelry when in bed. The bed itself was nice and firm, but giving enough for a good nights sleep.
Also nearly next door is Indus a very good Indian Restaurant/Cafe. The owner looked Goan (but could have been Tamil or even Kerelan) so the south Indian fare was better than the north (although the Sheek Kebabs were good), but both were on offer. At lunchtime Indian business people and workers seem to emerge from all directions. Most are as charming as Indian's often are, but one was extremely rude to the Vietnamese staff, giving them such a run around that they had little time for me. I guess this is an example of reverse colonialism, but had I been in Manchester I'd have thumped guys ego back to where it belonged.
Off Thi Sach is Dong Du which takes you into the centre of Saigon. Rather bizarelly it caters for Muslims, with its numerous halal restauarants and Masjid and playboys with its billiard bars. Of course there are plenty of Muslim playboys from KL and Jakarta that frequent both. Although being close to the Japanese Quarter the main visitors milling around are Japanese, with a few Koreans. I know that this will cause a diplomatic incident, but I often find it difficult to tell.
Hotel staff are all very helpful and friendly especially the housekeeping manager who was so nice and so efficient. Bell boys are always on hand to get you a txi, but frankly that's not a problem at anytime of the day or night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank piphoshin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level Contributor
114 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

I actually stayed in Ho Sen 2 next door & what a great hotel. The staff are really helpful & friendly, the reception area cosy & welcoming & the rooms are awesome. I was lucky enough to get a room looking over the Saigon River & it was really peaceful. My bed is the most comfortable bed I've slept in in all of Indochina, including Thailand. The rooms themselves are bright & airy & the bathroom is quite large. I don't know about the turbo bath, though. I'd rather have a standard shower. The included breakfast is diverse with both asian & western fare. I like the location, too. Only 3 minutes from the river & 10 minutes from the centre of downtown District 1 (Municipal theatre area). I you're feeling adventurous, there's a very local & gritty Bia Hoi place next door selling beer for 10,000VND. Cheap! Great stay & I'll be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floors & either at the rear or on the Saigon River side of the build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
136 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

There are 2 hotels associated with Ho Sen. I stayed at "block B" which is Ho Sen 2. I would not recommed anyone to stay at this hotel. The room was very small, but, worst of all the walls were dirty and bathroom smelled of sewer if you didn't close the sink drain. They tried to cover up the dirty walls but couldn't even do that right. It looked like some 10 year old painted with low quailty paint at that! The flat screen TV was on the wall at the foot of the bed, but the room was so small that you needed to walk sideways to get to either side of the room. There was no wall mounted shower spray, only a hand held one which was far too short. The shower faucet was difficult to use and water pressure was very low no matter how you turned the faucet. The towels were changed daily and bed was comfortable and only other good quality of the room was the a/c worked very well. Buffet breakfast was served in the basement. Well lighted but stuffy since they did not use the a/c; only 2 floor stand fans. The food was just average, with cold overcooked fried eggs. The location at the end if Dong Du street afterhours was a lonely and dark section of the street to walk down at night and even as a man I was concerned. Once passed this block and a half you start to hit the many resturants in the area. On my last night, the bellboy wanted to know if I wanted a "massage" and that he would arrange for that. I'm sure this was not a legit service and also sure he was to get a cut of the fee. They also must have a commisiion scam going on with the Vinasin taxi as they are the only taxis outside the hotel and I was scammed going back to the airport. Overall, stay at another property. There are plenty in the area to choose from far better then this. I refused to let it ruin the last part of my holiday in Vietnam, but this hotel certainly was not the best part of it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank songoflife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ho Chi Minh City hotels

Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
156 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights. The first night I got in the taxi driver (Vinasun taxi) ripped me off for 450,000 dong when the ride should have beed 150,000 dong. The hotel security called the driver back and got my 300,000 dong back!!
The room was clean and adequate, breakfast buffet was great with new menu every morning. Location was in easy walking distance to shopping and restaurants. Would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank azmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.0 mi away
HoSen Boutique Hotel
HoSen Boutique Hotel
#340 of 436 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aquari Hotel
Aquari Hotel
#103 of 436 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.1 mi away
Silverland Inn Hotel
Silverland Inn Hotel
#181 of 436 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
TTC Hotel Deluxe - Saigon
TTC Hotel Deluxe - Saigon
#266 of 436 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.0 mi away
Northern Hotel Saigon
Northern Hotel Saigon
#89 of 436 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.1 mi away
A & EM Hotel
A & EM Hotel
#209 of 436 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ho Sen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ho Sen Hotel

Property: Ho Sen Hotel
Address: 4B - 4C Thi Sach St. | Ben Nghe Ward, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #216 of 436 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ho Sen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Ho Sen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing