We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mixed bag...”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Ho Sen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ho Sen Hotel
Ranked #330 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A mixed bag...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

I stayed here for 4 days in Oct 2011.

Positives: Great location. Very friendly and helpful staff. Free WiFi. Large rooms. Fairly good value.

Negatives: Located next to a club so it could get loud on weekends. My room REEKED of cigarette smoke. Cleanliness is fairly average.

Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank hdt99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    37
    23
    8
    5
See reviews for
9
19
26
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

This small 2* hotel is in a great location, spotlessly clean and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank penny1scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2011

Located just round the corner from the Park Hyatt, it's a few steps away from the old Rue Catinat and the Cholon /Chinese market is a walkable 15-minutes away, if the heat allows. Staff were friendly and polite and the breakfast tasty and with plenty of choice. A nice big room and amazing views over the city from our 7th floor position. Only possible downside is the booming bass from the nightclub next door - even at that height and on a Monday night it did disturb my sleep, but there's not much the hotel can do about that! Would recommend, as a handy stopover.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor for less noise more views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beehaigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2011

I stayed several two starts hotel, and Ho Sen is the best among those (Thuan Thien and Hien Anh). The room is clean. Location is accessible to main streets like Hai Ba Trung, Le Loi, and Dong Khoi street. Since it is located on one way street, it's safer to cross the street. Breakfast is good, too.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeFat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2010

Incredibly good value, one street back from the river, near ANZ bank and quick walk to many places of interest. We stayed in the VIP Family room 70sqm very large, incredibly cheap, basic but varied buffet breakfast included. Catch number 1 public bus 3,000dong per person to market in Chinatown, great selection and prices, way better than tourist market. Clean boutique hotel with friendly staff

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiFamilyOfFive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2010

I stay at this hotel for two weeks. The location is terrific. I enjoy eating at New World and Sheraton with hotel owner membership for price of 2 for 1. Sheraton just one block away. Bus number 2 take you right down to Ben Thanh market for 5 mins. You walk to downtown to enjoy cheap or expensive boutique. Five minutes by bus number 2 to Saigon Square. This is place you pay good price for brand name clothings. Good quality too. It also near big foreign bar, apoclipnow and alot of good restaurant around there. Bus number 1 take you to Cho Lon and Binh Tay market. it's very convience and save you alot of money to travel around area.
The price I paid for two weeks is 23 dollar per night without breakfast. The reason I didn't want their buffet breakfast because I want to enjoy Vietnamse food as much as I can. The owner is around 24/24. Therefore you don't have to worry about your safety and other matters. The room is good for 2*. If you want to live monthly, there's also special. I heard the receptionish discuss this matter with the guests. Good thing about this hotel is you negotiate with the owner. He also work closely with a taxi driver who you can trust. He drive you everywhere with short cut. Be cautions about taxi in Vietnam, they could black mail you. I heard that they charge you 50 usd for few streets of driving. Here is trusted brand taxi: Mai Linh, Vina Taxi (yellow car). I don't recommend Vina Sun taxi anymore, because they are agressive and some of them do drive you around to get little more money. But you could not get other taxi, VinaSun is ok to accept. You must get the taxi identifier number every time you ride the taxi for lost and found purpose or complain.

For any travel matters to Ho Chi Minh city, you can contact me anytime.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 12122012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2010

I stayed at the hotel for 3 nights in March. Hotel is close to downtown attractions. my room was in a high floor which i could get a good view of city and the river from the window. The buffet breakfast is ok, not much choices but it is a 2-star so you dont expect something fancy. Overall, the price was affordable, room is clean, quiet, friendly staffs. will come back for my next trip.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccmn83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.0 mi away
HoSen Boutique Hotel
HoSen Boutique Hotel
#351 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.1 mi away
Silverland Inn Hotel
Silverland Inn Hotel
#179 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.0 mi away
TTC Hotel Deluxe - Saigon
TTC Hotel Deluxe - Saigon
#282 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dong Do Hotel
Dong Do Hotel
#299 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aquari Hotel
Aquari Hotel
#106 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.1 mi away
A&EM Hotel
A&EM Hotel
#331 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ho Sen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ho Sen Hotel

Property: Ho Sen Hotel
Address: 4B - 4C Thi Sach St. | Ben Nghe Ward, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City 700000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #330 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ho Sen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ho Sen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing