We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“couple with two teenagers”
Review of Sherwood Residence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sherwood Residence
Ranked #12 of 462 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Staff 10 out of 10
stayed in three bedroom every thing you would have at home.
you could live these long term 10 out 10.
big food market out the back and across the road.
shuttle bus service around the town from hotel
door man very big help with taxi & directions.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanjaKessel, Rooms Operation Manager at Sherwood Residence, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Thank you very much for having taken the time to post your most positive review on Trip Advisor following your stay with us at Sherwood Residence.

It was most delighting to read that you have enjoyed our service oriented and dedicated team' s hospitality by giving them, as well as our facilities- indeed perfect for long term stays, 10/10 points.

Your feedback has been shared with the entire team and they were pleased that they have been able to make your special stay a comfortable one to remember.

Hoping that you and your family had a safe trip back home, we keep on wishing to be able to welcoming you back one day in the near future.

Best regards from Ho Chi Minh City!

Tanja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (511)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

236 - 242 of 511 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2013

We needed two bedrooms and not many of these In HCMC. These apartments are spacious and well equipped. Staff very very helpful. Location is good - they have shuttle service but fairly short walk to the top part of town. Some good local restaurants. Breakfast buffet was included - we booked via Qantas but think Agoda is similar. Internet via cable is free but wifi extra charge. Good gym and pool. High security complex. Very quiet location.

Room Tip: They have 2, 3 & 4 bedroom apartments. Scroll through all room options on booking sites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanjaKessel, Rooms Operation Manager at Sherwood Residence, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you most kindly for your comments about Sherwood Residence following your stay here with us.

We greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them; helpful service with a smile and guests security are our main priorities which you were able to experience during your "home in Saigon" stay. We have shared your kind feedback and the entire team and Sherwood Residence takes great pride in delivering the service that we are famous for, it is encouraging to hear such positive comments.

Hoping that you and your family had a safe trip back home and that we will be able to welcoming you back one day in the very near future we remain

with best regards from Ho Chi Minh City!

Tanja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The Sherwood Residence are serviced one or two bedroom apartments very close to the main hub in Ho Chin Min or Saigon. They have all amenities within the rooms, a fully working kitchen with a washing machine! The wifi is also very good too.
The swimming pool area is delightful letting you swim under the skies of the city. Breakfast, here is a large selection of with a regular chef cooking up omelettes and eastern food is desired.
There is a free shuttle bus that takes you into town, the last bus is a 2000hrs. Reception are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble, service is also given with a smile.
I would recommend this accommodation for lone, couples and families travelling to the city and I would definitely return here again. The Tokyo Town Restaurant just out of the back gate is a great place for a meal locally, at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Higher floors seem less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catwoman09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanjaKessel, Rooms Operation Manager at Sherwood Residence, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you for choosing Sherwood Residence for your last "couple"- stay in Ho Chi Minh City. We have read your comments about our property and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests' satisfaction is our main priority.

The feedback you have given us concerning the location, in room amenities, "delightful" outdoor pool and large selection of breakfast have been shared with the entire team and we take great pride that you have realized that our "service is also given with a smile" which has made your stay a special one.

It has been a great pleasure serving your needs and we wish to be able to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Best regards from Ho Chi Minh City!

Tanja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We have just returned from a family holiday to Vietnam and we stayed at the Sherwood for 6 days. We were treated with excellent service from the start to the end. When we arrived, we booked a two bedroom executive suite and we were upgraded to a three bedroom suite at no extra cost. Our room was excellent and so much space for us and our two boys.
It is walking distance to some excellent restuarants and has a lovely supermarket at the rear entrance which was so covenient.
It was in a great location to base ourselves and the service quality and onsite facilities were excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed the buffet breakfast that was included in our room rate and also the delicious meals that we had for dinner on two nights which were really well worth the cost of the meals.
I would recommend this serviced apartments to anyone looking for good value for money, excellent service, excellent facilities and really friendly staff.

Regards
Ivan Moodley and Family

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ivan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanjaKessel, Rooms Operation Manager at Sherwood Residence, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear Mr. Ivan Moodley and family,

thank you very much for having taken the time to post your most positive comments on Trip Advisor after your stay here with us at Sherwood Residence.

It was most delighting to read that you have used the word "excellent" 3 times to describe the service quality, onsite facilities and apartments.

Our entire team is deeply passionate about providing each and every one of our guests a memorable experience and so we are always thrilled to receive such positive feedback. Your kind and motivating comments have been shared and they were deeply appreciated.

Hoping that you had a safe trip back home and that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day in the near future we remain

with best regards from Ho Chi Minh City!

Tanja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I spent in this hotel one month. The hotel is located in an very good area. Very close to the main centrum - about 5 min walk. Located close to good restaurants. I had a very big apartment 3 big bedrooms , 2 bathrooms, kitchen with the washer-dryer included. Wfi - was excelent.
My apartment had been cleaned everyday. It is a very good place if you are in the business trip or just go to HCMC for holiday. Swimming pool and gym are nice. Staff very helpful.
I very recomend this place!!

Room Tip: To avoid noice from the street it is better to take a room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marta H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanjaKessel, Rooms Operation Manager at Sherwood Residence, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Thank you very much to take the time to post your most inspiring review on Trip Advisor as well as recommending our Sherwood Residence since you had an enjoyable 1 month stay with us.

Indeed the structure of our apartments is perfect for business travelers like you, since you have the possibility to feel like home, using the kitchen or washing facilities, big living room area or balcony but on the other side you can savor all services of an hotel stay; like room cleaning, room service, pool and recreation area.

It was most delighting to get to know that our "helpful" staff and our spacious 3 bedroom apartment have made your 1 month stay with us a most memorable and comfortable one.

Hoping that you had a safe trip back home and that we will be able to welcoming you back for another business trip or this time for leisure, we remain

with best regards from Ho Chi Minh City!

Tanja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

The hotel was well situated and ideal for a family. They seem to have a policy of having everything paid for upfront, so do be aware of this, though the staff are friendly enough. They have a courtesy shuttle that goes to the Binh Thanh markets quite regularly during the day, thought the last shuttle is at about 4pm, so if you go to the night markets you will need to find your own way back. Use the professional cabs with a meter (cab fare will be about $2.50 AUD). Apartment is clean with good amenities though there is no complimentary washing powder/liquid for either the washing machine or the sink, so you will need to go and get your own.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LanT142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanjaKessel, Rooms Operation Manager at Sherwood Residence, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your most valuable feedback on Trip Advisor after your stay with us here at Sherwood Residence.

It was with pleasure to read that you have enjoyed our spacious rooms, hourly shuttle and friendliness of our entire team. The comments you have made on washing powder have been noted and please be informed that we do have washing powder available at the reception desk and we do provide dish washing service for our short term guests during daily housekeeping cleaning service.

We hope that you and your family had a safe trip back home and that we will be able to welcoming you back one day in the near future.

Best regards from Ho Chi Minh City!

Tanja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I recently spent 3 nights at the Sherwood Residence with my husband and one and a half year old. Upon check-in we were upgraded to a 3 bedroom. The rooms are honestly not spectacular, but they are nice enough, and most importantly, they are comfortable, clean and functional, particularly if travelling with young kids as there are laundry facilities in the room, and a fully equipped kitchen. Overall we were happy. We had a good view of the city. The facilities are great, including a covered pool which is good to prevent sunburn, and a playroom to keep little kids entertained. The location was quite good as well, an easy taxi ride into the centre of town. We walked to the war remnants museum, and to a great Pho restaurant near by (I think it was called Pho Hoa). The breakfast was also very good, with Pho, eggs, pastries, cheese and fruit, as well as other hot selection like rice, sausages, etc. It's not the spread you would find in a big hotel, but this is a different type of accommodation so don't expect exactly the same thing.

The highlight for us at the Sherwood was the service of the reception staff. They were so friendly, helpful and gave great advice and support. We found them all to be excellent and they made our stay so much more enjoyable.

Only one small issue we had was that I ordered salmon from the room services menu and it was over-cooked, but after discussion with the manager, he discounted the entire order as a result and we paid very little and felt quite satisfied with that responsiveness.

The only negatives included:

1. The slight door on the clothes when they came out of the laundry. Not sure why this was.
2. The area rugs in our room needed cleaning.
3. The bathtub in the master bedroom bathroom is awkward to step in and out of and can be slippery.

The Internet in the room was reliable, and we had a baby cot set up for our little one. There is a grocery store right behind the Sherwood so you can easily stock up on the basics.

One suggestion to the hotel management for consideration would be to provide a small starter kit to short term guests including a bit of laundry soap and dish soap. We bought some but of course didn't use much at all so it was a bit of a waste.

Finally, I will also mention that I felt safe and secure at the Sherwood.

Overall a good choice for a family holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank voyageur925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanjaKessel, Rooms Operation Manager at Sherwood Residence, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Thank you very much for posting your most inspiring comments on Trip Advisor after your stay here with us at Sherwood Residence.

Our team is deeply passionate about providing each and every one of our guests a memorable experience and so we are thrilled to receive such positive feedback, especially about our hospitable reception team and dedicated security guards.

A special appreciation goes to your feedback concerning room service order and carpet cleaning which we have taken constructively and will ensure, as always, that we learn and improve where we can to provide exceptional service.

Please also be informed that we have worked on your comments of "starter kit" and we do have washing powder available at the reception desk. As for the dish soap we have considered to arrange it since we do provide dish washing service for our short term guests during daily housekeeping service.

We hope that you and your family had a safe trip back home and that we will be able to welcoming you back one day in the near future.

Best regards from Ho Chi Minh City!

Tanja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
1.1 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#23 of 462 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,657 reviews
0.8 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#13 of 462 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,640 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#5 of 462 in Ho Chi Minh City
3,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Somerset Ho Chi Minh City
Somerset Ho Chi Minh City
#24 of 462 in Ho Chi Minh City
538 reviews
1.0 mi away
Silverland Yen Hotel
Silverland Yen Hotel
#9 of 462 in Ho Chi Minh City
231 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Reverie Saigon
The Reverie Saigon
#1 of 462 in Ho Chi Minh City
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherwood Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherwood Residence

Address: 127 Pasteur St | District 3, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#13 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#38 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#51 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $110 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sherwood Residence 4.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on scenic Pasteur Street, Sherwood Residence provides easy access to international schools, consulates, hospitals, and is just a short distance from the Central Business District. An added convenience is the complimentary shuttle service to key shopping, dining, and entertainment hotspots in Saigon's cultural center. Travel assistance is available at the front desk with local and international bookings for weekend getaways or extended trips. And enjoy a direct route to Tan Son Nhat International Airport, just 20 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sherwood Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherwood Residence Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing