We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for business travel or groups”
Review of Sherwood Residence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sherwood Residence
Ranked #11 of 454 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good for business travel or groups”
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

This place is semi centrally located in district 3 and is very comfortable and secure. Wifi was 15usd per day which is ridiculous considering every other place I stayed in Vietnam both cheap and expensive had free wifi. There is a free hourly shuttle to district 1 which takes you to the lacklustre and overpriced western restaurants that are owned by the hotel chain. This would be a great place to stay for business travel or if you had afamily or group as it is serviced apartments rather than a hotel and has kitchen and laundry facilities and a supermarket next door. However if you are a tourist visiting for afew days you would be better off in a hotel in the central district 1. This place is very expensive compared to what you get elsewhere in Vietnam.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Amzstar83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanjaKessel, Rooms Operation Manager at Sherwood Residence, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you most kindly for posting your constructive feedback on Trip Advisor following your stay with us at Sherwood Residence.

It was with great pleasure to read that you have enjoyed the comfort and security at our property, though the comments you made on internet price are most welcome and have been discussed with our Management.

As for our 4 group owned restaurants: Japanese Kissho Restaurant, German Gartenstadt Restaurant, Amigo Grill Restaurant and Cafe Central we do very much regret that we have not met your taste.

Indeed you are right, we are a serviced apartment residence rather than a hotel, as our spacious and fully equipped apartments (82m²- 143m²) allow long term guests as well as families or business traveler on an extended stay to feel "home away from home" though we are operating with all hotel facilities needed.

Once more, thank you very much for your comments and we do hope that you had a safe trip back home.

Best regards from Ho Chi Minh City!

Tanja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    136
    19
    8
    5
See reviews for
313
34
7
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

This was our first stop on a very long flight from Europe. We booked on the recommendations from this site and were more than pleased with not only the legendary upgrade but the service , friendliness and facilities of the Sherwood Residence. The pool and games room were well patronised by our 2 children aged 10 and 6. The location is actually better than we had been led to believe. You don't necessarily need to take a taxi to get to the centre but it is a good idea if you are not used to the heat. We mainly did our touristy things in the morning after the huge buffet breakfast and then retreated back to the pool in the afternoon just to get a break from the heat. Someone did some thinking when they designed the pool area too because they have taken into account that not everyone wants to have the sunlight on them despite wanting to swim. Half the the pool is under the shade of the hotel. We were extra lucky to be there during weekends when they serve free ice cream and popcorn, Bonus !! The apartments themselves are great. Beds on the firm side, bathrooms are spacious and have everything you need. We managed to use the washer and dryer at least twice and the swim wear automatically went straight in after the pool sessions. We didn't have much call for the fully equipped kitchen but if you need it, it should suit your purposes. I should also mention that we ended up staying here twice. After going up north and doing Hoi san, Da Nang, Hue and Hanoi we just had to go back to the Sherwood for another couple of days. The kids basically demanded it and we could not say no. The second stay was just as good as the first but this time we concentrated on the attractions and facilities in the immediate vicinity. We revisited the "Pho Co" restaurant just around the corner in 211 Ter, Dien Bien Phu street. Best Vietnamese food we had during our entire trip. Just parallel on Pham Noc Thach there are a few Spas to choose from. We settled on Rosies Garden where my wife got a great body and face package and the kids got spoilt with massages.

I can't really identify any cons about the Sherwood. One thing I can give advice on is that you don't actually need to use the Airport shuttle service. Even though it was great to have someone standing there with my name and a huge smile when I arrived it is actually cheaper if you can just grab a cab. Look for Vinasun or MaiLinh like everyone recommends. They will drive you straight to the door for 150 000 instead of the 700 000 for the shuttle. I booked it because I wanted something safe and predictable in case I was in a zombie like state after the flight over.

So back to the postives , like the title says our whole time staying at the Sherwood was just an exercise in how spoilt we could get. As you can guess I not only recommend this place, it is perfect for the start and/or finish of your Vietnam experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RobFog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanjaKessel, Rooms Operation Manager at Sherwood Residence, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you very much for posting your most positive and complimentary feedback following your stay with us at Sherwood Residence.

We at 'Sherwood Residence' strive to make every guest satisfied and leave us with excellent memories of their stay. Guests' satisfaction is our main priority and that you have been satisfied with our facilities, services and friendliness is our very big reward!

Your comments have been shared with all our associates and they were very pleased that their efforts have been duly appreciated and recognized. That your kids have “demanded" to come back to our property has made us very proud.

It has been a great pleasure serving your needs and we are extremely pleased that we were able to make your special stay one to remember!


Best regards from Ho Chi Minh City!

Tanja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Perfect for a family. Just feel bad, I wasn't able to get the name of the girl in the Front Desk who was simply the most helpful personnel I ever saw in all the hotels I have been to. While waiting for our Tour Guide, she approached me and asked for the Tour Guide's number and called him to let him know we're waiting already. That's how nice she is. Completely recommending Sherwood Residence. Plus their Shuttle Service by the hour is truly very helpful. The only downside is their breakfast, nothing special. Another plus point is the washer and dryer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank forever0831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanjaKessel, Rooms Operation Manager at Sherwood Residence, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you very much for posting your review on Trip Advisor following your stay with us at Sherwood Residence.

It was most pleasing to read that one of our receptionists has created a lasting memory of your stay here with us and has provided outstanding service that you have never experienced before. Please rest assured that your comments have been shared with our entire team.

The comments you made on breakfast are most appreciated and have been discussed with our Food & Beverage team for improvement.

Looking forward to providing you and your friends with another unforgettable stay in the very near future we remain with

best regards from Ho Chi Minh City!

Tanja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We are a family of 4 and stayed for 5 nights in a 3 bed apartment. The apartment is large, spacious and clean. The apartment has a kitchen, with washing machine ( very handy ) and 2 bathrooms. The swimming pool is a nice touch, and we found it no trouble in finding some loungers to spend a couple of hours towards the latter part of the day. There is a nice area with table tennis , a pool table, and a separate well equipped gym. Breakfast was fine, although a couple of times the service could of been better. The hotel runs a regular free shuttle bus to downtown, which is about a leisurely 15 to 20 mins walk away. Most evenings we walked downtown and walked back. There is a co-op to the rear of the hotel as well as a decent restaurant. Also the war remnants museum is only a short walk away. We stayed here mainly because of the convenience of having a 3 bed apartment, and the Sherwood ticked all of our boxes nicely.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RydeIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanjaKessel, Rooms Operation Manager at Sherwood Residence, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your most valuable feedback and comments following your stay with us at Sherwood Residence.

It was delighting to read that you and your family have enjoyed our various facilities tailored for families and that we were able to "tick all of (y)our boxes nicely" is a comment that we are very happy to receive and proud off.

Once again, thank you for sharing your comments and we do hope to be able to welcoming you and your family in the very near future for another "Sherwood Experience".

Best regards from Ho Chi Minh City!

Tanja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. The services offered were beyond our expectations. The rooms are spacious and clean. We highly recommend this hotel for its location and the outstanding customer service that they provide. We will definitely go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanjaKessel, Rooms Operation Manager at Sherwood Residence, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you most kindly for posting your brief and extremely positive feedback following your stay with us at Sherwood Residence.

The entire Sherwood Team is delighted to read that we have exceeded your expectations and that the daily trainings we are providing has made your stay a memorable one to remember. We do believe in customer satisfaction and that you would highly recommend our property is our biggest reward.

Hoping to be able to welcoming you and and your friends back one day in the near future, we remain

with best regards from Ho Chi Minh City!

Tanja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyng
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Just a 5 minute taxi ride from down-town Saigon this hotel is more of an apartment block than hotel. We had a 3 bedroom apartment with 2 large bathrooms, full kitchen as well as both a washer and dryer. The rooms were well appointed with large sitting room, dining table balcony with views over the city etc... The swimming pool area was great with comfy sunbeds, a large pool and also a smaller childrens pool. Table tennis and pool tables were available for use and there was also a small childrens play area (indoors) for the very little ones.

There are always taxi's waiting outside the hotel with someone there to ensure you get a proper metered taxi and that they know where you are going.

A lovely place to stay with great facilities, friendly staff and comfortable rooms. There is also a Co-Op supermarket just behind the hotel which is very handy for drinks, crisps etc...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewClareFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanjaKessel, Rooms Operation Manager at Sherwood Residence, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you most kindly for taking the time to post your comments and review on Trip Advisor following your stay with us at Sherwood Residence.

Our spacious apartments are designed to accommodate long term bookings as well as families on a short vacation trip and we are going the extra mile to ensure all our guests get that something special and experience an excellent stay to remember. You were able to experience both!

We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you and your family again in the very near future.

Best regards from Ho Chi Minh City!


Tanja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stopped for a total of 5 nights. Lovely hotel with a good location. We had a 3 bedroom apartment which had everything you possibly need. It was good to have a kitchen with washing machine and tumble dryer, fridge and freezer. Apartment modern and clean. The pool area is particularly nice and quiet and pool spotlessly clean. Plenty of sun loungers and not heavily used. Had room service first night and food excellent and good price. The hotel is a short taxi ride from centre (only cost £1-2) and is within short walk of war museum. The hotel does have a free shuttle bus as well but taxis are so cheap and plentiful we just got one of these. Not much of a bar at the hotel but we just want out for food ad drink. Breakfast was good. Not a massive amount of choice but plenty enough even for a fussy 7 year old. Staff very friendly and helpful. Is a lot cheaper than the big hotels in the centre and gives plenty of space and facilities in the apartment so particularly good for families. I really enjoyed stopping at this hotel

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clare_stevenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanjaKessel, Rooms Operation Manager at Sherwood Residence, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you most kindly for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor following your stay with us at Sherwood Residence.

It was delightful to read that you have enjoyed our "excellent" room service food, "good" breakfast selection, friendliness and helpfulness of our entire staff and that we were able to make your special stay one to remember.

We do hope to be able to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Best regards from Ho Chi Minh City!

Tanja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.8 mi away
Somerset Ho Chi Minh City
Somerset Ho Chi Minh City
#24 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
0.4 mi away
Somerset Chancellor Court
Somerset Chancellor Court
#70 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
3.8 mi away
Saigon Domaine Luxury Residences
Saigon Domaine Luxury Residences
#66 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
SILA Urban Living
SILA Urban Living
#44 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Saigon Centre Hotel
Novotel Saigon Centre Hotel
#35 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
0.8 mi away
Silverland Sakyo Hotel & Spa
Silverland Sakyo Hotel & Spa
#18 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherwood Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherwood Residence

Property: Sherwood Residence
Address: 127 Pasteur St | District 3, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#13 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#38 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#51 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sherwood Residence 4.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on scenic Pasteur Street, Sherwood Residence provides easy access to international schools, consulates, hospitals, and is just a short distance from the Central Business District. An added convenience is the complimentary shuttle service to key shopping, dining, and entertainment hotspots in Saigon's cultural center. Travel assistance is available at the front desk with local and international bookings for weekend getaways or extended trips. And enjoy a direct route to Tan Son Nhat International Airport, just 20 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sherwood Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherwood Residence Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing