We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel near airport”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of PARKROYAL Saigon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
PARKROYAL Saigon
Ranked #41 of 447 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
philly
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great hotel near airport”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2008

We were only in Ho Chi Minh City for one night and had an early fllght to Hue the next morning so we wanted to stay near airport. I found this hotel online. It is about a 10 minute drive (in traffic) from the airport and should cost about 2 dollars US by cab (we got ripped off!). The hotel is very modern. The lobby and room are very clean and comfortable. The pool area (we didn't use) is very pretty. You get a free beer ticket for staying!

We took a cab into the city to walk around- about 20 minute ride bc of crazy motorbike traffic. We took advantage of massages at hotel- great!

Overall, it is on the expensive side but clean and convenient to be near airport.

  • Liked — clean and close to airport
  • Disliked — nothing around there, on expensive side
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank afs33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    256
    64
    13
    6
See reviews for
63
158
44
198
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2008

I was pleasantly surprised with this hotel. It really is not far from town center (about 20mins in a cab). It is very nice inside and the room was very good. It is quiet, clean and of a high standard. The breakfast was lovely, the satff reasonably helpful and the pool was well done.

For anyone that is looking for a night in HCM, doesn't have all day to hunt around for accom. and has US$100 to spend then look no further than this hotel

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Huckers123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2008

We stayed for one night on our way out of Vietnam after travelling down from the north over 3 weeks. This hotel is perfectly adequate but it was not a nice farewell to the country.

The service is definitely sub-standard for an Accor hotel, particularly considering how many staff seemed to be wandering around not doing anything. For a business hotel, the staff also had extremely poor English - worse skills than any we encountered in much smaller hotels in other towns in Vietnam. This made things difficult with trying to get the shuttle bus into town (the hotel is mid-way between the city centre and the airport) and also when there was a misunderstanding (on the hotel's part) over whether breakfast was included in our package. We also had a mix-up at the lobby bar with two waitresses who could not keep our orders straight and kept delivering more drinks and then failing to charge correctly for the ones we had ordered. This would be totally understandable in a bar or small hotel in Vietnam but I would have expected staff at a Novotel in Ho Chi Minh City to at least be able to grasp the basic customer service concept of politeness.

The pool is definitely very nice, although I believe you need to pay extra to use the gym. The rooms are as you would expect for a Novotel - clean and reasonably new, fairly characterless. Next time I'll stay somewhere smaller in town; hopefully somewhere with a better hospitality ethos!

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank LaurenA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2008

Lovely rooms but were very disappointed by the service/lack of it. The hotel has changed its name to the park royal and in my opinion is geared up for the business sector rather than the tourist. We visited as part of our honeymoon and explained this when checking in. When we got to our room we had been given twin beds am not sure if this was their idea of a joke as the guy at reception killed himslef laughing when we asked to move to a room with a big bed. Very handy for the airport and not too far to visit the tunnels (just over an hours drive if i remember correctly). Too far out for the centre, due to traffic it could take up to 40 mins but you had no chance of walking it unless you have a death wish. Overall we had a pleasant stay but don't expect any personal touches oh and don't have any laundry done two shirts and a handful of undergarments cost 40 dollars.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank grumpyLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2008

As other posters say, this is very convenient to the airport. 3 star, clean, bland is how to describe it. If you are staying more than one night - stay in town.

Tips: take a metered taxi from the airport, it's cheaper.
Always check that the taxi man knows where you are going, gave the concierge the address of where we were going - but he gave the driver the wrong address (confused two different locations of a day spa)

  • Liked — clean
  • Disliked — Too far from town
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Baby2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, IL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2007

The Novotel Garden is perfect for your last night in Vietnam if you are flying out of Ho Chi Minh City. Just minutes from the airport, it is suprisingly nice and a good value. We used the Novotel Garden in October 2005 and again in November 2007, when it worked out so beautifully that we were flying into HCMC in early evening (from Nha Trans in 2005 and from Siem Reap in 2007) and departing the next day for our return trip home. Because it is not in the center of Saigon, it is not a convenient place to say except to be near the airport.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Frieder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2007

We chose this hotel for its proximity to the airport (about 5 mins taxi ride away). You can buy currency and book a taxi as soon as you clear customs: the taxi is a rip-off (we paid VND 90k to get to the hotel and VND 25k the next day to the airport) but when you are talking about GBP 3 versus 80 pence, it is not really worth getting worked up about! The hotel room was large and clean, the bathroom a bit small but it had everything you needed. We had room service because we had an early start the next morning and it was enjoyable and good value for money (about US$14 for two main courses).

I could not imagine spending any more than a night or two here, it is a fairly standard Novotel/Travelodge type place. Having said that, it was exactly what we needed and they even provided us with a take-away breakfast the next morning, as we left before the breakfast service opened.

I would certainly use it again if I were transiting through HCMC.

  • Stayed December 2007
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller, Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.4 mi away
Eastin Grand Hotel Saigon
Eastin Grand Hotel Saigon
#39 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Alcove Library Hotel
The Alcove Library Hotel
#18 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vissai Saigon Hotel
Vissai Saigon Hotel
#85 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tan Son Nhat Saigon Hotel
Tan Son Nhat Saigon Hotel
#122 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
2.7 mi away
New World Saigon Hotel
New World Saigon Hotel
#37 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,029 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ibis Saigon Airport
Ibis Saigon Airport
#97 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PARKROYAL Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PARKROYAL Saigon

Property: PARKROYAL Saigon
Address: 309B - 311 Nguyen Van Troi Street | Tan Binh District, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#32 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#39 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — PARKROYAL Saigon 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PARKROYAL Saigon is a 186-room hotel, the first atrium-style hotel in Ho Chi Minh City, conveniently located five minutes away from Tan Son Nhat International Airport. It is also within easy reach to Tan Binh Exhibition and Convention Centre (TBECC) and shopping areas such as Saigon Super Bowl, Parkson and Big C. PARKROYAL Saigon is the practical alternative to business and leisure travellers. All rooms from Superior to Suites offer complimentary high speed and wifi internet access. The Orchid Clubrooms offer Orchid Club Lounge access for complimentary afternoon and evening cocktails. Aside from the convenience of its location, PARKROYAL Saigon also offers guests a dining experience of both Asian and Western cuisines at the Garden Brasserie restaurant with a cool and refreshing view of our outdoor pool garden. Other facilities include a 300-seat ballroom, function rooms, Lotus Bar offering signature cocktails and wines for a relaxing evening and St. Gregory to indulge in a healthy lifestyle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Pan Pacific Hotels Group, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your PARKROYAL Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkroyal Saigon Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing