We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lien An Sai Gon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lien An Sai Gon Hotel
Ranked #323 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Good value, location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2009

Just spent 4 nights and off tomorrow for Da Nang/Hue/Hoi An and then Hanoi. First trip to Vietnam. I got the standard room for $35.00 and it fit the bill. If you want a room to sleep and rest up a tad then the hotel is fine. Staff is great, the breakfast though limited was fine. Eggs and coffee everyday (at least for me) . Ate my pho and other viet food elsewhere. Good location. AC was fine and the rooms quiet when needed. Enjoyed aftrenoon/early evening views from the Sheraton, Majestic and Rex bars without the hotel room bill. By all means if you can afford a holiday and stay at one of these hotels do so but if not, spend $35.00 a night and have the extra $150.00 or so for drinks/food/tours and still have extra left over (yes your room will also be nicer at one of the mentioned as well). Using my free in room wireless internet as I write this which is nice.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank one4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    14
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
1
5
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2008

I am writing this from the lobby while I wait for a late flight out. This is my first time to HCMC and am not familiar with the other hotels here but I would rate it comparable to the normal business hotels that I usually use in Hanoi.

I had a deluxe room while a coworker had a normal room. I would not recommend the normal room to any one that is of above average size due to the size of the bathroom but the bathroom in the deluxe room was plenty large enough (maybe bigger than some hotel rooms I have had in Japan!).

I found the place to be pretty comfortable with little or no smell of cigarette smoke (which is unually for an Asian business hotel). The beds are some of the softer than I have had in Asia so still fairly firm for most of us from the States.

English skill of the staff is not great but more than good enough for anything I needed.

All in all, I would stay here again and probably will since I will likely have more trips here in the future.

  • Liked — internet speed, semi-soft beds, great pho
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank travelinjack3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2008

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here for 4nights in total and we couldnt fault the place bar a few bugs. They will do anything you want, english is ok, they understand more then they can speak. We didnt have any problems here.

There isnt many nice places locally to eat.. but you'll find that there arent many nice places to eat in any one location.
There is a lovely bar called Go2Bar or Go Go Go Bar.. they know it in the hotel.. we ate here most days for breakfast. try the pancakes and fruit salad. Its not far from the hotel and cost about 15,000VD.. less then a Euro.

The location of the hotel is perfect its in the city centre and every thing is within easy reach, its really safe and clean too.

The maids clean your room and you get fresh laundry every day, they even do your own laundry for a small fee.

Breakfast we skipped most days as the menu is limited, but its limited everywhere for the western pallet.

Taxis cost from 50cents for approx 2miles. the drivers are always really friendly. Especially if the hotel call the taxi for you. Moped's are scary..but try them out you get used to it. Be careful who you get on with they are not all ligit..and its just as cheap to taxi around if there are more then 1 of you.

Watch out crossing the street.. its easy get into it.. just walk everyone will avoid you just be quick about it.

  • Liked — bath
  • Disliked — Bugs..and the smell.. but its a problem for the city not the hotel.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank A0ife83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2008

I stayed at the Lien An Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City, for 7 nights in March 2008.

I have limited experience of hotels in Vietnam, so please take that into account.

If you are looking for a well run, really clean, pleasant place to stay - this isn't it. My original booking (made by the company I was visiting) - was for a standard room at USD$35 a night. It was filthy dirty, smelly beyond belief (drains and sewage I suspect) - and crappy dirty furniture. The aircon was like a 747 engine, totally noisy and clearly not working properly. I had a look at the few rooms they had available at short notice, and they all looked the same. There are no shower curtains or doors, so the bathroom will get wet. The floor was dirty and the bedside lamp was just sitting there. There was no power socket with 15 feet of it, really pointless.

Don't be deceived by the pictures on the website, Standard rooms look nothing like this. After the first night, I changed rooms to a Delux room. This was at the front of the building. It didn't smell of drains, was a lot cleaner (but still not great) - and had only a bath, no shower. This is their USD$90 a night room, which the company managed to negotiate down to USD$60. It had two twin size beds - it would sleep 4 people. It was a reasonable size, aircon worked (quietly) and the TV has cable stations.

I don't know if I was ripped off. When I look at the website, even the twin room looks like the one I stayed in. It may be that there is no difference between the categories, certainly nothing you can tell from the website. I wouldn't be surprised if I was not in a Delux room, and they simply charged that rate.

Despite repeated attempts to have the room cleaned properly, it never was. I knew they'd be in the room because I could see the footprints on the tiled floor.

I sleep with earplugs, and brought 4 single putty earplugs. They were in a plastic box beside the bed. One night when I went to put them in, all 4 of them had been squashed into a ball and squashed back into the container in a large blob. I questioned the management about what the hell were the staff doing with my things. They called the cleaner and she said "they fell off the table and that's what they looked like". Complete crap and total lies.

You do need earplugs, and an eye mask if the light disturbs you.

The area is pretty devoid of restaurants I wanted to eat in. Although as I was drving to the airport, I noticed a wrap place - the rice paper rolls, around the right corner at the far end of the street.

The coffee shop directly across the road is pretty hopeless. I thought I could get a good coffee there, it has a nice little balcony on the first floor... but the coffee and breakfast are no better than the included one at the hotel itself.

Breakfast was included in the rate - but there is only noodle soup or eggs and baguette. I tried both, both very ordinary. I stopped eating the noodle soup when I realised there was still mud all over the vegetables.

Hotel staff have very limited English, a couple of guys on the front desk do their best and were pretty apologetic about things. The young woman was unapologetic and pretty awful, and I believe fully capable of overcharging me. They don't have any maps or tourist information. Most of the guests seemed to be Chinese or Vietnamese.

Ben Thanh market is very close, a short walk away. Beyond that is the central area of district 1, around the Opera House and Rex Hotel. I walked to and from there, but it's a fair way. The noise on the streets is very fatiguing, crossing the road is scary - motorbikes parked on all the footpaths, and then of course there's the heat.

Accommodation in HCMC is in high demand. I'd advise anyone to try to sort it out before they arrive.

  • Liked — Size of the room
  • Disliked — Just not up to standard, staff messing with my things
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jane_KualaLumpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ho Chi Minh City hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Ngan Ha Hotel
Ngan Ha Hotel
#271 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ha Hien Signature Hotel
Ha Hien Signature Hotel
#221 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thien Xuan Hotel
Thien Xuan Hotel
#153 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
A&EM Hotel
A&EM Hotel
#306 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.0 mi away
A & Em III Hotel
A & Em III Hotel
#302 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alagon Western Hotel
Alagon Western Hotel
#137 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lien An Sai Gon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lien An Sai Gon Hotel

Property: Lien An Sai Gon Hotel
Address: 37-39-41 Le Anh Xuan Street, Ben Thanh ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #323 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lien An Sai Gon Hotel right the trading center of the city, just 20 minutes from Tan Son Nhat Airport, and close to Ben Thanh Market. Lien An Sai Gon Hotels are ideal places awaiting you. You will be satisfied with our professional staffs who always available to serve you 24 hour. Whether you are on business or tourist to discover our charming country, you will be very pleasant with our rooms decorated splendid, luxurious but cosy. Bar and Restaurant, delicious breakfast which will save your time to see other beautiful landscapes in Vietnam making you an impressive and unforgettable trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lien An Sai Gon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing