We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Ho Chi Minh City
Post
Inbox
Search

“Excellent dining and special atmosphere!”
Review of Maisen Bistro

Maisen Bistro
Ranked #672 of 5,391 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Price range: $2 - $9
Restaurant details
Reviewed February 28, 2019 via mobile

The food is excellent and you’ll get a wide range of dishes in here (Vieatnamese, Italian, German, ...). For expats the German bread and original German beer is highly recommended!

Staff is very friendly and in no time we got our dishes!

By the way, eating in here pays to your Karma account as the whole place is run by Trainees of Gastronomy - mostly from underprivileged and poor backgrounds. So your dining supports their future!

Enjoy!

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Schustarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (40)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 40 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2019 via mobile

Good food - check!
Nice ambience - double check!
Plus great location and attentive service.

What was surprising is that the place is run by students - mostly from underprivileged backgrounds who are interested in developing a career in the F&B trade.

Had a very good experience. Keep it up!

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank 50jerryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2019 via mobile

This is in the center of Saigon City ... it teaches young Vietnamese the German standards in cooking... the students are taught in 3 years! The students’ English is very fluent! And the food is great!

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank sdbblitar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2018

Window surround, large filled out trees in the courtyard. Luscious food. Delicious salmon, sumptuous pumpkin soup. Pleasantly cool air conditioning inside, but also, an inviting courtyard of tables under shade trees. Sidewalk past the kitchen and food preparation area to the Toileting area. Professional wait help.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank asiajane56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2018

Window surround, large filled out trees in the courtyard. Luscious food, courteous servers. A mission of sorts to equip the disadvantaged youth with worthy cooking and hospitality skills. Come on, give it a try! Be pleased!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank asiajane56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maisen Bistro also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Maisen Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing