We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful & Compelling Look into Vietnamese Culture”

Vietnam National Tuong Theatre
Ranked #80 of 280 things to do in Hanoi
Attraction details
Hanoi, Vietnam
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful & Compelling Look into Vietnamese Culture”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

This was a truly vibrant performance that made me appreciate being in Vietnam all the more. The acting was fantastically done; some scenes were hilarious, others were intense (Ho Nguyet Co Turning into a Fox), but it all made for a nice break from chaotic Hanoi. The music was even declared an "Intangible Cultural World Heritage Event" by UNESCO. I would highly recommend this show for children, families, and individuals who want to understand Vietnam better through stunning storytelling and performances. The show is very digestible, less than an hour long and broken up into 5 different scenes.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank kasiamk91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    30
    7
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hua Hin, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“That 3rd act was crazy...”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

This is an expensive and short performance (45 minutes). There were only 12 people in the audience. The performers were all good though it was a little strange. The 3rd act involves the love-making and birth of a dragon through music and dance. It was kinda weird. However, the first act with the old man and the young wife was very well done.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnBlechl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hua Hin, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Interesting show, but I'm not sure it's worth the money”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

This show is 45 minutes long, and it did keep my attention through most of it. There is information for visitors to Vietnam about the acts in the performance and the current scenes going on onstage, and that's a great asset. However, at the finish, my partner and I both felt that we could've skipped it and not felt that we missed anything. The theatre itself is lovely, comfortable, and quite empty of audience members, and the staff and performers are friendly and enthusiastic.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank millerkelseya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
943 reviews
475 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
“Special show that many people miss while in Hanoi”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

My wife went yesterday for the hour long performance which she totally enjoyed.- 150,000 dong. Lovely traditional Vietamese instruments, well choreographed comic play, dance and two men singing. Beautiful, colorful costumes. After the performance the audience was invited on stage to have their pictures taken with the full cast of 16 actors. Also the audience was given 2 treats which my wife thought was a very thoughtful jesture,.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ronald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent theater”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

This was really special, a classical theater production featuring music, traditional instruments, incredible costumes. You can watch the actors making up in the lobby. Do not miss this, shows are on Mon and Thursday nights.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank lindalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vietnam National Tuong Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Vietnam National Tuong Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing