We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vietnamese Traditional Performing Art”

Vietnam National Tuong Theatre
Ranked #76 of 277 things to do in Hanoi
Attraction details
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Vietnamese Traditional Performing Art”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Entrance Fee: VND 100,000.00
Day: Monday - Thursday
Time: 18:00
Duration: 45 minutes
Seats: Cushioned, very comfortable
Aircon: Yes
Toilet: Yes
Website: www.vietnamtuongtheatre.com

This place is not well promoted; theatre is big but only a handful of audiences in each show. You may buy the tickets just before the show, no need any bookings unless you are taking a big group.

Be there 20 minutes earlier so that you can catch a close up performance of the traditional Hue Music. The 1 string instrument is interesting and unique.

You will also have a chance to take a photograph with the ushers/musicians in traditional costumes.

There are plenty of shops nearby the theatre.

A nice range of performance; separated into 5 scenes.
1. Comedy of a tale of an old man carrying his wife - 1 person, 2 characters
2. Traditional Vietnamese Royal Music - with traditional musical instruments
3. Lion Giving Birth - quite different from the usual version of Chinese lion dance
4. Ho Nguyet Co Turning Into A Fox - a great story with excellent acting skills
(this was my favourite part)
5. Hue Royal Music (Nha Nhac)

Enjoy!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank MasterYoda11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    30
    7
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, New York
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Lovely Performances, Woefully Under-attended”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Tuong is a style of theatre that was, in its time, very high brow and was considered imperial theatre. Some of the folk stories are very funny, and the lack of props requires audience imagination. The performances here are first rate (you will be in awe when you see the woman transform into a fox in one vignette). The tragedy here is that there are few people who attend the performances as Tuong is a theatrical form that little interests the young. The price of admission is cheap ($5) and it is well worth the hour of entertainment.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank jackdash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
133 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“A MUST!”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I do not really understand why many many tourists coming to Hanoi could pass this place.
5 dollars for an outstanding cultural performance! That is just the best bargain!
I've been here a few times while I was in Hanoi and took many international volunteers to this place and they just loved it.
Now, they have every line of the play in English (subtitles on screen at the top of the stage) and even you don't understand anything, you can totally enjoy the music and how gracefully the plays are performed. The costumes are all sparkle and the artists are excellent! (yes, they must reach a certain level to be able to perform this kind of art so they're not just actors)
Aside from Tuong (in Vietnamese: Tuồng) which is a traditional art performance, you get to listen to Hue royal music (Nhã nhạc cung đình Huế) which, in the past, was only performed for the royal families in Hue.
It is not hard to find, right in the heart of the old quarter. You can get the tickets right before the show begins.
I would recommend this to anyone going to visit Hanoi because you cannot get more Vietnamese than this type of art!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nhu_Phuong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good thing to try”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I hadn't watched any Tuong show in around 30 years until 2 weeks ago, and it surprised me. The show was wonderful with the great harmony of music, performance and singing. I came back in the same week and watched a show for domestic audiences. It was also great. There are 2 shows per week: monday and thursday evening from 6 to 7pm. They also have longer performance for local audiences from 8 to 10pm. A good way to spend time in Hanoi.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank HoanLe_247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent performance”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

This attraction is much less touristic than the water puppets but I think is as beautiful and authentic as the water puppets. You can get tickets just before the show. When we went there we were only 20 persons in the theater (there were more actors than spectators). Costumes are splendid and actors very good. Try it if you can!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Paristanbul2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vietnam National Tuong Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Vietnam National Tuong Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing