We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A charming oasis in the midst of it all”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hanoi City Palace Hotel
Ranked #95 of 580 Hotels in Hanoi
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A charming oasis in the midst of it all”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

Hanoi City Palace is centrally located, between the Old Quarter and the French Quarter of this historical city. Come with a good pair of walking shoes, and you can discover most of the key sites on foot. The staff at the hotel are extremely charming, polite and ever so helpful. We arrived mid morning and were provided with a room to rest in until our room was ready later in the afternoon, which was immensely helpful considering we had flown from Bangkok at a very early time, and I was suffering from a bad headache! Once moved to our room, the staff had gone out of their way to decorate it for our honeymoon-like holiday, even providing a cake and balloons! It was very sweet and touching, and completely unexpected. Very classy! While we had some problems with the heating in our room and were unable to be moved to another room until morning (the hotel was full with an organized tour), the manager went out of his way to find a suitable solution for the night, including going out to buy a portable heater for us! The next morning we were moved to another room, and all staff were profusely apologetic for the trouble with the heating from the previous night. Broken heaters (or ACs) happen everywhere. Where this hotel distinguished itself was in how hard they worked at trying to find a solution, and once a solution found, how genuinely sorry they were for our trouble. This professionalism demonstrates true class and exceptional service. A very strong recommendation for this hotel, its manager, and all its staff, from the staff in breakfast dining room to those at the reception!

PS. We discovered a little gem of a café/restaurant about 2 blocks from there, called "Moments" (across the street from the hotel, two blocks to the right of the hotel).

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Caro19641024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    942
    231
    44
    16
    10
See reviews for
217
564
126
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

We booked over the web and everything went to plan. We were picked up at airport and the visa application was quick and easy. The staff were all charming on our early morning arrival. We had a lovely breakfast after which our room was ready. The hotel arranged trips to Ha long bay and Sapa both of which went very well. They even gave us a room free when we returned from ha long whilst we waited for the night train to Sapa. Even after we left they managed to arrange train tickets for us and delivered them to us in Ninh binh. Great service all round and very good location.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AcbMei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

The quality of the attention given by staff to see to our needs exceeded our expectations. The Hanoi City Palace Hotel provides for a comfortable stay at a competitive price. The staff are very friendly and pleasant and were quick to provide assistance and answer questions. The room (family with balcony) was of a good size and we were pleased to note that a computer was made available for our use. Also, a fresh fruit basket was placed in the room each day. The bed was comfortable and a good night's sleep was had. The breakfast that was included was decent and filled our needs. I enjoyed the pancakes the most. The location is good and near shopping and tourist attractions. We used the hotel transportation to and from the airport and were pleased with that service as it offered an additional sense of comfort and safety. I would recommend this hotel to value minded travelers.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wgbell10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

What a joyful experience, Staff and rooms, price and service are all top quality here, I cannot recommend this hotel enough. With spacious, clean well equipped rooms this hotel is central and a must for the conscious traveler. Stay here and enjoy Hanoi knowing this is one place you will not be ripped off. Taxis to the Airport, advice and a smile. Perfect in every way. John Griffiths.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an outside window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bazileous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a total of 5 nights during our stay in Vietnam, and we loved it! All the staff were so lovely and helpful, the rooms were nice and clean, and the breakfast included was great. We would definitely recommend this hotel for anybody staying in Hanoi, as its such a great location in the old quarter. We would especially like to thank Quan, who went above and beyond to make us feel comfortable during our stay.

Room Tip: Try to get a room second floor and above, as the kitchen noises on the first floor can be loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taylor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

This was our hotel after Halong Bay and before early departure so didn't get too involved but I would suggest that of everywhere we stayed in Vietnam the friendly helpful manner of all of the staff at this hotel is second to none. It's not the Ritz but at US$40 including breakfast for 2 of us, you would normally be in a dorm at that price. Right on the edge of the Old Quarter made it easy for walking back in to pick up a few more bargains before heading to China. Laptop provided with WIFI in the room, showed the room a few days earlier before paying, welcome towel and drink, taxi to airport arranged, insisted we eat more at breakfast, all with a smile and whilst we were a guest for a mere 16 hours it felt like we had stayed a week. Ensuites probably need a bit of a tweak but not a major issue at all. Thank you for your warmth and smiles.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DennisMark23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

Mr Phong and his team are charming, helpful and always looking to satisfy the customers.
Location is good, rooms are correctly priced.
Mr Phong recommend and booked for us several hotels and all were excellent choice.
Happy to recommend that hotel

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MDWaysman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 mi away
Nova Hotel
Nova Hotel
#65 of 580 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
#60 of 580 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
0.2 mi away
Splendid Star Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Golden Palace Hotel
Golden Palace Hotel
#39 of 580 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel
0.1 mi away
Angel Palace Hotel
Angel Palace Hotel
#85 of 580 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi City Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi City Palace Hotel

Property: Hanoi City Palace Hotel
Address: 106 Hang Bong Street, Old Quarter | Hoan Kiem Dist, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Hanoi Elegance Sapphire Hotel)
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#20 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#29 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
#37 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
#38 Best Value Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hanoi City Palace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best boutique hotel in the Old Quarter of Hanoi, with modern facilities served by a team of professional & dedicated team, providing you a comfortable & memorable stay. Staff can speak multiple language ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hanoi City Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elegance 3 Hotel Hanoi
Elegance 3 Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing