We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A jewel...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hanoi City Palace Hotel
Ranked #121 of 600 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I can't say enough about how great this hotel is - one of the best values I have ever seen in all my years of travel. From the moment you walk in until you leave, the staff will go above and beyond the call of duty to make your stay a memorable one. The price is excellent - a quarter of what you'd pay to stay at a luxury hotel but just as good. The hotel is centrally located, a short walk to the lake and many restaurants. Rented a motorbike that the hotel took care of for about $10 a day - recommended to get around Hanoi and travel like a local. The rooms are spacious, the free internet and laptop a great touch, the bed very comfortable. Was able to leave my luggage here for a few nights while I went to Halong Bay and everything went smooth. There is an ATM right outside the hotel as well which is very helpful. Had a small issue with the company picking me up for the Halong Bay trip, they took care of everything. Used their taxi service from the airport as well - probably double the price you'd pay with a regular taxi but in my mind well worth it. Hanoi is a great city, the Vietnamese people so friendly, and this hotel just added to the overall wonderful experience travelling there. I can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abellic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,254)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

401 - 407 of 1,254 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2013

I took my business trip in this hotel last December and i had good experience in this hotel. They did the best welcome sign when i leave my cab. I took the nice room with full facilities, amenities but the view is interior which i do not expect much, no mind. A wide bathroom, a lovely bed with orchid decoration, i felt pity if lay on them. The breakfast is A la carte style, it is look like my hotel in Ho Chi Minh city one year ago but they did good with many choice, i liked croissant with chocolate, even a bit cool. Anyway breakfast is not important with me. The important thing i want to advise them, it is a hand towel in public restroom. I saw Elegance Elite did same thing, i do not know that other guest often use it or not. But i never never touch and use it when go to Public restroom. Certainly, it is my opinion and i still give them 05 stars service. Thanks to Receptionist staffs they did good job and all housekeeping staffs i learned a lot of things from you, all the best to the rest one.

Room Tip: I took 503, it is cool for me but interior view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThienThao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed at Sapphire Elegance for 2 nights over the holidays. It is a clean hotel in a very good location. The staff were incredibly polite, helpful,gentle and accommodating. The breakfast was the best hotel breakfast we had in all of our travels in Asia. Our room overlooked the front street and we had no noise in the room at all. What a pleasure to start our travels at such a lovely hotel!
Will definitely recommend Sapphire Elegance and someday return.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CyndyBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed at the Sapphire Elegance for 2 nights. This is the third hotel we have stayed in for the price of $80AUD per night and this is by far the best. There were rose petals on the bed and a private balcony setup with wine. The decor was amazing, with everything over the top gold and traditional vietnamese. The best part by far was the breakfast which was not a buffet but all made to order. I definitely recommend staying here

Room Tip: Room 405 has a beautiful private balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Am writing this review from our room here at the Sapphire. What a wonderful place and the staff are accommodating, polite, professional, courteous, everything you would wish hotel personnel to be. Had an AWESOME breakfast on the first morning (yesterday) and requested a double order of chicken pho after not eating for almost 1.5 days en route from Canada. Lovely place, comfortable rooms, spotlessly clean and immaculate. Would highly recommend this place. It is very well-located within the Old City of Hanoi and within easy walking distance of the recommended walking trails. They provide a lovely fruit platter in the room, laptop (free wi fi) and all the amenities to make you feel at home.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary_TO_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Hanoi Elegance Sapphire Hotel in dec. 2012. We stayed four days. The staff took great care of us, and were very helpful. The room (family suite) was high standard. Everybody greeted us by name when we came and went. Internet access was free and they had even placed a laptop in our room for us to use. Airport pickup service worked excellent and definitely worth the 18$ after a 20 hour trip from Sweden to Hanoi. We had a room towards the noisy street, but the room was reasonably quiet anyway. It is within walking distance to the Old Quarter, shopping, and sigthseeing. We will book this hotel next time we go to Hanoi

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stefan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed here for our last few days in Vietnam. We particularly wanted a good standard of hotel for those last few days as we had stayed in a mixed bag of places on our travels - some good and some not so good. We originally tried to book into one of the sister hotels but it was fully booked so we came here and were not disappointed.

The staff were very helpful and professional throughout.
Breakfast was a very pleasant experience with a good selection of freshly cooked food and with waiter service. The coffee could have been hotter.
The hotel is well sound-proofed which is needed in the Old Quarter due to the amount of traffic (mostly motorbikes and scooters). We had a suite room at the front but it was designed in such a way as to cut out much of the street noise. The room was decorated to a high standard and was very clean. The bed and pillows were very comfortable and we slept pretty well. The weather was cold and the heating in the room worked well. There was a bottle of wine in the room on arrival, plus a fresh fruit platter in the room each day.
It is centrally located in the Old Quarter in a good shopping area if you want to buy souvenirs, local crafts and silk goods. There are plenty of bars and restaurants within easy walking distance.
On our last day the hotel arranged a complimentary car to take us to the airport which was a really nice gesture.

If we return to Hanoi I would not hesitate to book into this or one of the sister hotels in the Elegance group.

Room Tip: The hotel is well sound proofed so I imagine that most of the rooms should be fine from a noise pers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LucySky99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Gem Boutique Hotel
Gem Boutique Hotel
#104 of 600 in Hanoi
403 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cinnamon Cathedral Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Palmy Hotel & Spa
The Palmy Hotel & Spa
#95 of 600 in Hanoi
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Splendid Star Grand Hotel
0.0 mi away
O'Gallery Premier Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
May de Ville Old Quarter Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi City Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi City Palace Hotel

Address: 106 Hang Bong Street, Old Quarter | Hoan Kiem Dist, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Hanoi Elegance Sapphire Hotel)
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#20 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#29 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
#47 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range: $47 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi City Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best boutique hotel in the Old Quarter of Hanoi, with modern facilities served by a team of professional & dedicated team, providing you a comfortable & memorable stay. Staff can speak multiple language ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hanoi City Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elegance 3 Hotel Hanoi
Elegance 3 Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing