We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic staff, 6 star service !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hanoi City Palace Hotel
Ranked #114 of 591 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Fantastic staff, 6 star service !!!”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights from the 27/09 and we were blown away by how friendly and helpful everyone was. Staying in the old quarter is amazing but it is very, very busy and you quite easily get lost. The staff offered advice and maps for us and were more than happy to help out with any questions or requests we had. The breakfast was delicious, they cook it for fresh each morning and all the meals we ate there were very nice. The rooms were nice and clean and a fair size, we had a window facing an indoor wall but you aren't there for the views, you need to get out amongst it all. We also booked 2 tours through the hotel and they were also very good, a 1 night, 2 day Halong bay cruise and a 1 day Tam Coc tour. I would stay here again in a heartbeat, all the great reviews here on tripadvisor are true.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    943
    233
    46
    18
    12
See reviews for
220
568
126
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Just came back from 3 nights at this wonderful hotel.
Our room was very clean and comfortable with everything you would need including a laptop and WiFi. Even with an extra bed in our room it was still large enough for 3 people. Breakfast was great with plenty to choose from. However the best part of our experience were the wonderful staff who went out of their way to help us. They would always ask if they could help even changing arrangements with our private guide (which they had organised who was wonderful) so we could have a delicious lunch in their sister hotel. Unfortunately me and my son were unwell one night ant they even went with my husband and took him to the local chemist and translated for him. Words cannot express our experience here. Outstanding customer service. Totally recommended, no wonder all these reviews are positive, because they are true. Would go back tomorrow. A highlight of our trip.

Room Tip: We had room in the middle of the hotel and it was very quiet. It may have had an internal window but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarmenG1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

Loved this hotel. Very clean and very attentive to the small details that are unique in Vietnam. You feel you get the celebrity treatment right from the start of your stay. Excellent breakfast and really comfortable bed. Shower a bit pokey but that would be the only thing I would say that could be improved. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

My friend and I recently stayed here during our visit to Hanoi. The hotel was beautiful, with the most comfortable beds imaginable. The rooms were immaculately clean, the dining room was lovely, and the breakfasts were delicious - especially the pho and all the fresh juices. But the really outstanding feature are the staff! They always had a smile for us, and were so helpful with everything we needed - whether it was room service, a restaurant recommendation or a taxi. The staff even recommended and arranged our trips to Sapa and Halong Bay - both of which were phenomenal. They arranged drop-offs, pick-ups, tickets, everything! We didn't even have to think - everything was taken care of. When we arrived back at the hotel from Sapa at 7am, we were given a delicious, complimentary breakfast, and early check-in to our room. The location is great - within a few minutes walk of Hoan Kiem lake, and the old quarter, and surrounded by lovely shops and restaurants. The icing on the cake: I left a pair of earrings in the room accidentally when we were checking out. When housekeeping found them - the hotel emailed me for my address, in Ireland, so that they could send the earrings to me. I don't think you would get service that good in Europe! I loved everything about this hotel, and if I ever find myself back in Hanoi - i will definitely be booking in!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank judithmce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCottage
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed for a couple of nights. The hotel is lovely and very good value for money. The rooms are well equipped, very clean and comfortable. The very best thing about the Elegence Sapphire though is the staff. They are all fabulous. They couldn't do enough to help us and were kind enough to let us rest and take a shower there after we returned from Sapa at 05:00 despite the fact we were no longer staying with them. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simonjdawes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Service is really good and the hotel is well located in a busy street close to the centre. Breakfast was nice and you could eat as much as you liked.
Rooms... Mine was interior with just a small window to the corridor (natural light is a must for me), that would have been ok for a few nights but in the morning the AC machinery on the ohter side of the wall woke me up at 08:00. My room was changed with all the kindess and this time the window faced a wall just 20 cm away from it but this time some natural light showed.
In the end we are talking about $55 per night which is a good value for money and the service is good but I frankly doubt I shall return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poe_soy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel is average when seen from the outside, but that's where average stops and special starts.
From the welcome to departure, the service is outstanding. A trip to Halong Bay, and tickets on the overnight train to Hue were all arranged.
Breakfast was absolutely lovely and the hotel staff not only took us to the station, the platform but also onto the train.
This hotel along with its staff provided an oasis of calm in our schedule and we were grateful for it

Room Tip: Stay here by all means, but be ready for the traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bill186383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.5 mi away
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
#62 of 591 in Hanoi
1,024 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Lele & Frog Hotel
Hanoi Lele & Frog Hotel
#35 of 591 in Hanoi
424 reviews
0.1 mi away
Angel Palace Hotel
Angel Palace Hotel
#87 of 591 in Hanoi
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Glance Hotel
Hanoi Glance Hotel
#61 of 591 in Hanoi
552 reviews
0.1 mi away
Splendora Hotel
Splendora Hotel
#49 of 591 in Hanoi
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi City Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi City Palace Hotel

Property: Hanoi City Palace Hotel
Address: 106 Hang Bong Street, Old Quarter | Hoan Kiem Dist, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Hanoi Elegance Sapphire Hotel)
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#20 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#29 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
#45 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi City Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best boutique hotel in the Old Quarter of Hanoi, with modern facilities served by a team of professional & dedicated team, providing you a comfortable & memorable stay. Staff can speak multiple language ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hanoi City Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elegance 3 Hotel Hanoi
Elegance 3 Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing