We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 night stay in old quarter of Hanoi”
Review of Kangaroo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kangaroo Hotel
Ranked #27 of 385 Specialty Lodging in Hanoi
Valkenswaard, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“4 night stay in old quarter of Hanoi”
Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights.

We had 2 rooms (1 room of 3 and the other room of 2)

Anna (the receptionist) was very helpful with arranging transport, trips and giving us helpful info about Hanoi.

The rooms were clean and good value for money.

In the morning we had a nice and simple breakfast.

Overall very good stay , I would recommend this hotel to anybody.





Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank dannydehaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    114
    35
    14
    10
See reviews for
16
133
68
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff, clean building but the rooms are a bit dated and in need of some painting, we stayed here one night location was great, right in the old quarter lots of madness, we stayed another two night in there sister hotel/hostel the Hanoi city hostel ( or the Kangaroo 2 as they call it )about 500m away much newer, same friendly staff same price. Enjoy.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Eric N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
1 review
Reviewed March 13, 2014

we stayed 4 nights in the kangaroo hotel and all what i can say it was just perfect. Thanks a lot to Anna and Wendy. The girls of the Kangaroo just let us feel like we are at home. All who are coming to hanoi and just searching for a nice stay for small money, just try it out. We had the expensivest room for about $12 a night. Large room to the street, balcony and nice shower. They working also as travel agency and all bookings we did (3 days Halong Bay and 2 days Sapa trekking) had been great.
They speak all a perfect english.
you can trust there recommandations as we did it also and went out perfect for us.

Always again and thanks a lot

Room Tip: Get the most expensive ones, they have window to the street (3 bed room). All others as i know have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salvatore B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
1 review
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Staff was really good, helpfull and smiling. They help us to book some tours around Hanoi with good price.
Enjoy my time here and relax.
Room are really clean and tidy.
Here is the place to be and stay.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieVincent64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

i also am not quite sure why the ratings are so high for this budget hotel. yes, the price is right and the staff are super helpful and friendly, and the free breakfast is definitely nice, but the rooms themselves are not so good. i arrived after 11 pm and was totally spooked by my room. everything was a little eerie... the lights flickered, the furniture was really old (there was almost too much furniture), and there was a stale smell. i felt like i was in the set of a horror movie (i seriously checked under the bed, in the cupboards and behind the curtain to see if someone was hiding!). all of that was actually kind of funny and exciting to me, but what really got me was the bed. firstly, it was incredibly uncomfortable. not only hard, but you could feel the springs. but ultimately what had me switch to a different hotel (after 2 nights) was the smell! the sheets smelled like they had been washed, then folded before they were dry, and sat like that for a couple of days... and then maybe even slept in by several people. the bed was also very damp which i understand is the nature of Hanoi since it's so humid. my second night they moved me to a different room and i was overwhelmed by the smell of perfume when i came in. and why would anyone spray perfume on freshly washed sheets?? well they wouldn't, is my feeling. and sure enough, throughout the night, as the perfume smell dissipated, the sheets started to feel stale and dank. honestly, just unclean. i think there are better options in Hanoi... i would keep looking.

Room Tip: pick a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daniddr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaThu1990, Manager at Kangaroo Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback about our hostel
First,you felt some good services about our hostel.You only paid 11.5$ with private room included wifi, hot shower,AC, Big bathroom, fee breakfast.You said that breaskfast is good, many foods to order(vietnamese and western food), free tea,coffee..We want to say thank you again.We will try to make our services better and better
Second, you was unhappy about something.I want to explain that you can understand and forgive us

As you know, there are many styles in different hotel and different countries.Our hostel is Asia style.Most of funiture on the room is black and grey.You have been many countries in the world, so you will have different feelings about room styles.In vietnam, there are many hotels that changing western styles.But our hostel is at old quarter in Hanoi.We want to our guests who are different countries, enjoy Asia styles

Besides, you felt uncomfortable about the smell on room.I want to explain for you and I hope that you can forgive us.In Hanoi, March is spring that is wet and rainy.Therefore, it becomes wet and smelled.Every hotels have the same problem.Of course, our hostel cant compare with 4-5 star hotel

We hope that you can understand and forgive us.We know that it is perfect choice if we stay 4-5 star hotel.Thank you again for your comments.We will try to improve our services better and better
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We truly enjoyed our stay at Kangaroo Hotel. They are professional and helpful, they arranged an airport pick up for us. The room was nice, great location, great free breakfast. The best part is the staff - Anna was absolutely amazing. She was very sweet and extremely helpful, helped us book everything we needed, gave us advice about Halong Bay tours and areas in Hanoi. She's really fantastic! I would definitely recommend this place!

Room Tip: Make sure you're fit cause there are lots of stairs :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaayanS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

The staff at Kangaroo Ho(s)tel makes you feel right at home from the moment you walk in the door. When I first arrived my room hadn't been vacated by the previous guest so they put me up in a sister hotel - providing transport to and from, along with sincere apologies for the inconvenience. The staff was very kind, helpful, and patient. The accommodations are clean and basic. The Old Quarter neighborhood is fun to grab a map and explore. I will definitely stay here again when I visit Hanoi...
It was quiet enough where I could get a lot of work done in the morning and evening!

Room Tip: Rooms above the ground floor may be a little quieter if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 812AnneP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Asia Guest House
Hanoi Asia Guest House
#184 of 591 in Hanoi
197 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hanoi City Hostel
Hanoi City Hostel
#23 of 385 in Hanoi
458 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hanoi Tomodachi House
Hanoi Tomodachi House
#3 of 385 in Hanoi
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Old Town Palace Guest House
0.4 mi away
Golden Time Hostel 3
Golden Time Hostel 3
#34 of 385 in Hanoi
156 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kangaroo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kangaroo Hotel

Property: Kangaroo Hotel
Address: 71 Hang Luoc | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 385 Specialty Lodging in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kangaroo Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Kangaroo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing