We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They say you get what you pay for if so this is very underpriced”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kangaroo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kangaroo Hotel
Ranked #32 of 341 Specialty Lodging in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“They say you get what you pay for if so this is very underpriced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

I stayed 6 nights in total and for the price it was great value. The rooms were a decent size, en suite with a/c and TV. Kept very clean throughout with a decent breakfast included. All in a very good location in the old quarter walking distance to most places

What made it special was the staff. They were all incredibly helpful and polite and friendly. From booking tours to onward move on travel this was all done with without any hassle and all at excellent rates (compared to what others on my trips had paid). If you are on a budget and like the personal touches I then look no further. I've paid much more for much less in terms of comfort and service elsewhere. Highly recommended

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomjb33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    102
    35
    13
    9
See reviews for
14
124
62
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Ancaster, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We really enjoyed our two night stay at Kangaroo. We payed $12 a night for a room with two beds, a mini fridge, and ac. It was the first place we had been to in southeast Asia where the bathroom was not a wetroom! You stand in a little tub to shower so the whole bathroom doesn't get flooded. The staff were very nice and helpful. The breakfast included was really good. It was basically eggs done anyway you want plus a warm toasted bun and fresh fruit! Free water and a drink too! The area was good for young people like us. We were a 5 minute walk from the famous Hanoi Backpackers 2 Hostel and went there at night to join in on the fun and pub crawls. There is no elevator and a long flight of stairs to get to our room but we didn't mind although some people might. Would definitely go back!

Room Tip: Get a room on a lower level if you don't like stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AsiaBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Location is good, just north of the lake and west of the market. Very helpful in booking Halong Bay/Cat Ba Island trip (2 nights) for I think a good price ($90). Room was a little dank, dusty and shower/bathtub contraption in bathroom not easy to navigate. Very noisy at night, you can hear others in stairway, doors opening/closing when others come in at night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

I stayed here for three nights, with four friends at the beginning of May. The service was excellent, the rooms were clean and it is located only a few minutes walk from the centre of Hanoi. We booked our trip to Halong Bay through them, they helped us book onward buses and they even gave us water and snacks to bring on the bus. Anna who worked at the desk was very helpful and went above and beyond to assist us with all of the queries we had. I would definitely recommend staying at the Kangaroo Hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire144960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed in Kangaroo Hotel for 4 nights. The service was excellent; our rooms were cleaned and toilet paper etc. restocked everyday. The staff were really friendly - Anna at the front desk was particulary helpful! They even let us leave our big bags at the hotel while we went to Halong Bay, without having to book in more nights after our trip. We stayed on the top floor which was a bit of a walk up, but normally you are able to check in to rooms on the lower floors. There wasn't a huge choice in breakfast, but what the chef (Ngan) did cook was really good - definitely the best scrambled eggs I've had so far! Overall really good value for money and very friendly, trustworthy staff!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elena H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Rooms are clean, spacious and the a/c (unlike other hotels) works without making a racket. Anna, the girl from the frontdesk is helpful, advising on tours and where to go. She even helped me (first time backpacker) determining average prices on beer, smokes, food, etc. so I wouldn't pay to much. Coming back to hanoi in august, will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joepvdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

We only stayed one night in Kangaroo Hostel but we were very happy with it - the room was large room with a decent sized bathroom, and included AC as well as a fan which is needed in the Hanoi heat! The bathroom is slightly run down but perfectly sufficient, especially considering the price. The best thing about the hostel are the really friendly and helpful staff - we arrived really early (5am) but they let us check in straight away and only charged us for one night. The receptionist sorted out a Halong Bay tour (and we found out we paid less than other people on the trip) as well as our train tickets, and made everything simple and easy - by far the nicest hostel staff we have met in Vietnam so far! Overall, excellent location, decent rooms and great staff makes it a really good value hostel and I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tessa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Asia Guest House
Hanoi Asia Guest House
#162 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Little Center Hotel
Hanoi Little Center Hotel
#164 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hanoi City Hostel
Hanoi City Hostel
#22 of 341 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Happy Moon Guesthouse
Happy Moon Guesthouse
#21 of 341 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Brother Inn & Travel
0.2 mi away
Little Hanoi Hostel
Little Hanoi Hostel
#11 of 341 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kangaroo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kangaroo Hotel

Property: Kangaroo Hotel
Address: 71 Hang Luoc | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 341 Specialty Lodging in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kangaroo Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kangaroo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing