We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kangaroo Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (459)
Filter reviews
459 results
Traveler rating
275
118
39
15
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
275
118
39
15
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshalong bayold quarterno elevatoropen bus ticketcheap pricehot waterbreakfast was includedrooms are cleanhoan kiem lakeawesome staffnight marketnice staybook toursday tourtop floorcentral locationstayed here for nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
322 - 327 of 459 reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed as a large group in April. We found the rooms to be adequate with the basic ammenities required. The staff were very helpful and courteous at all times, even allowing us to clog up their dining area with baggage for the day! We would recommend this as a place to explore Hanoi from and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickJs76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Very nice hotel in good location - about 5-10 min from Hoan Kiem Lake. Good breakfasts.

First room we've got was without window and sooo stinky that we couldn't stay there more than 5 min. But they changed us that room for better one - big with small balcony. If they hadn't do that, we would have find another hotel.

Room Tip: Choose rooms with window - those without windows are stinky.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mia_vallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Currently staying here and has been VERY comfortable (so far, of course).

Anna, the owner, tries and helps us in any way she can. And there are smiles all around.
It's located 10 minutes from Hoan Kiem lake so can be a bit on the noisy side.

The rooms and toilets can be a bit unclean but are completely functional though you might want to make a preference for the 'window rooms' when making a booking.

Room Tip: Say no to Room 101 !
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skahn22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here just before tet and while it was VERY busy outside this is not the hotels fault! The staff where amazing especially Anna and moon (pretty sure that was their names). Went out of their way to make sure we were welcomed and knew everything about the city. We used the airport transfer and it was great and cheaper than if we were to get a taxi ourselves! Breakfast was filling and we also booked Halong Bay tour through them and they gave us a great price! Cheaper than others on the tour! Would definitely recommend staying here! Should we return to Hanoi I know we will!!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peclark86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Stayed here last December. First, the negative stuff: We arrived pretty late, sometime around 10PM, but we had informed the staff about it so it should have been ok. However, when we finally got to the hotel they said that they didn't have any rooms, so they would have to move us to Kangaroo 2. We were a bit irritated since we had at that point travelled for 26 hours by bus from Hong Kong, but got on the bikes and they took us to Kangaroo 2, which was actually really nice. BUT, they told us that we had to move back to Kangaroo 1 the next day, which annoyed us even more. I realise this overbooking thing is pretty standard practice in Vietnam, but for tired travellers it's not really the best customer service. Other negative things? Well, in the Kangaroo 2 everything, including the aircon, worked perfectly, but in Kangaroo 1 the aircon didn't work at all. We did have a large fan so we didn't really get hot at any point, but there was quite a bit of unpleasant moisture in the air.

Other than that, no complaints. Even the staff who jumped us from one hotel to the next were really friendly, even when they saw we were clearly not very happy at arrival. Other than the facts mentioned above, the rooms were nice, hot water never ran out, location was really good and we didn't find the room noisy at all. The breakfast baguettes were delicious. Didn't do any tours with them, so can't say about their quality, but we did book bus tickets to Hue from the receptions and everything worked fine.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosettaxv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews