We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perhaps the fog got in the way!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
Ranked #65 of 588 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perhaps the fog got in the way!”
Reviewed January 16, 2011

Having read guide book reviews I was expecting a lot from this hotel but for some reason was a little disappointed. We were in one of the island pavilions. The rooms were great and as we found in other Vietnamese hotels the service was excellent. It is out of town but taxis are cheap. The sunset bar looks fabulous. Whether it was the fog, I’m not sure, but the design of the hotel was a little severe. My other concern was the large number of mosquitoes in the wardrobe. Staff very quickly came and gave them a good spray and on request did so on the second night but I was surprised that a hotel built over a lake didn’t do this as standard. On a positive note it had excellent food and the toiletries were very good.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gatleymagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_Manager-ICH, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Hanoi Westlake, responded to this review, May 6, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback, we appreciate the comments.

Please do let us know if we can assist in any other way

Regards

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,252
    722
    182
    58
    39
See reviews for
378
902
127
416
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (525)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2011

I actually filled the feedback from and placed it at the counter when I checked out but the service staff did not take the feedback form. So, here it is...

The hotel has a very nice ambiance and we have an excellent room with a good view (room 823), big bathroom and extremely comfortable bed and pillows (there is absolutely no need to request for any other pillows from the free pillow menu). We had 2 wonderful nights of sleep.

For a hotel with free pillow menu, 2 wash basins, a shower and a bathtub, you need to specially ask for toothbrush and toothpaste. The white robe and towels are off white (when I returned home, I realized that someone wrote about this too!!) and 1 of the complimentary mineral bottles was unsealed.

The hotel provided a beautiful map. Alas, do use it discreetly. Bobby Chihn's restaurant's address was printed as 77 Xuan Dieu St on one side of the map under the section "Where to eat and drink". On the opposite side is the map of Hanoi and the same restaurant is given a different directory - Ba Trieu. We only realized this after we took a cab to Ba Trieu and was told by his ex-neighbours that the new address is Xuan Dieu, which is some 20 min drive away. As it was getting late, we had to give the renowned restaurant a miss. The next point is just an update: the Pho 24 along Phan Dinh Phung has closed (I understand that the hotel can't be responsible for this, o it was no problem. We has a good cab driver who drove us to the next Pho 24).

On our first night, we had dinner at Saigon restaurant and the service staff ,Mr Linh, was industrious, attentive and proactive. When the dishes did not arrive after some time, he made it a point to inform us, chatted with us and made us feel comfortable. It was certainly a good distraction strategy! It was great service. After dinner, at around 9pm, we asked the concierge if there was a convenient store nearby. He told us there is one about 10 min's walk away. When we arrived at L's Place, it was shut. The service staff in the bakery store a few doors away told us that L's place is not likely to be opened by 9pm. Anyway, about L's Place. It sell's non-local food, drinks and ingredient. There is also sine shop and a couple of nice looking restaurants.

The location of the hotel: The taxi ride from old quarter cost between 80-110VDG. It was not a very long ride, so the location is not an issue. The taxi ride to the airport cost 322VDG (it cost 240VDG from the airport to Moevenpink Hotel when we arrived).

Well, this could have been an excellent hotel. It was recommended by 2 friends who stayed there 1 year ago. Looks like the standard has changed. This is also evident in some of the reviews (which I didn't read cos as it was highly recommended by my friends). Read my review on Moevenpick Hotel, Hanoi.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChilipadiYan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_Manager-ICH, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Hanoi Westlake, responded to this review, May 6, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback, we appreciate the comments.

Please do let us know if we can assist in any other way

Regards

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
213 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2011

The hotel is harmoniously build onto West Lake, Hanoi which gives me the impression that it's floating on water. However, only rooms with "lake view" will actually do that but they're overpriced! Other rooms are arranged in a way that their views are actually looking to those tasteless houses built along the shore so it's rather ugly! Room decoration is esthetically incorporated traditional Vietnamese art with contemporary design and furniture. The breakfast is quite sumptuous comparing with other same class of hotels in Hanoi. Staff at reception is courteous and helpful. The concierge staffs are exceptional in offering their true professional services to me.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathantran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_Manager-ICH, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Hanoi Westlake, responded to this review, May 6, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback, we appreciate the comments.

Please do let us know if we can assist in any other way

Regards

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Western Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 12, 2011

My wife and I booked into the hotel at 5pm and had to be awake at 5am the next day. We noticed that for a 5 star hotel a few of the basics were missing but this wasn't a problem because we needed an early night. HOWEVER, at 9pm the door bell awoke us with a porter wanting to mend our wardrobe lighting. We politely sent him on his way. At 10.30pm a ported awoke us with the missing slippers. The send off was a bit more forcefull. At 11pm the missing toothbrushes arrived and I didn't show any reserve in my displeasure. The porter said he was sent by reception. The reception didn't know anything about it. The manager gave his apologies but didn't offer any explanation. I suggested that items had been removed from our room so the porters could get tips for returning them. The managers command of English then failed him.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelS52_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_Manager-ICH, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Hanoi Westlake, responded to this review, May 6, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback, we appreciate the comments.

Please do let us know if we can assist in any other way

Regards

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2011

This hotel is located on the West Lake of Hanoi. It is a ten minute taxi trip from the old quarter and other tourist attractions, which is really not a problem. You get a peaceful oacis built out over the lake with great views back to the lights of Hanoi on the opposite side.

The lobby is slick and modern, seemingly the nicest hotel and only in competition with the Sofitel Metropole if you want classic charm.

The rooms are either off the main lobby with a Hanoi view – read watching streets around the lake while you regret not forking out for the lake view, pool view or the great lake view rooms located in separate villa complexes built on stilts over the lake. Your view includes local boat men rowing with their feet while they keep the waters clean around your room.

We opted for the Lake View Club room. The highlight was the spacious room with a modern and well appointed bathroom. The lake view was very attractive, especially at night with the distant lights of Hanoi. The French doors could not be opened for even a moment without an invasion of mosquitoes, which rendered the balcony a bit redundant. The air conditioner seemed to be turned off at the compressor, so it only blew 24 degree stuffy air. The air was cool and fresh outside but the mosquito problem did not allow natural ventilation. I suspected that the hotel may have turned off the compressors due to the cool weather, in the belief that no one in their right minds would need the air conditioner. I had experienced this once before in Asia.

The Club Lounge was a pleasant experience, you could fidn some decent wines and the food service was limited but high quality. The service was atttentive and prompt with only a couple of moments of inconsistency.

I would recommend this place if you have a few days in Hanoi and you don’t need to be smack bang in the old quarter. Be sure to visit the Sofitel Metropole for the atmosphere, ba

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiboTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_Manager-ICH, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Hanoi Westlake, responded to this review, May 6, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback, we appreciate the comments.

Please do let us know if we can assist in any other way

Regards

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lulamon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2011

Service, location, beautiful huge rooms and bathrooms, spectacular set up. We were treated with royalty, and found this to be an oasis away from the busy city center. I especially liked the hotel's location just outside of the old quarter past the bottleneck traffic jam which helps when getting to the airport on time. The hotel even helped us when we ran into language difficulties while shopping, one call to the concierge and all was sorted out. 24hour taxi service at the door.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lulamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_Manager-ICH, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Hanoi Westlake, responded to this review, May 6, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback, we appreciate the comments.

Please do let us know if we can assist in any other way

Regards

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2010

Booked on-line and was so very pleased to have gotten a room in the bungalows on stilts in West Lake. The alternative was rooms in the main building and really not sure how I lucked out!
Hotel was festively decorated for Christmas with what seemed to be a blind/ sight impaired group of teen carolers in the lobby Christmas Eve--nice touch!
Took me a while to get a grip on the usd/dong conversion but all receipts had the dollar equivalent on it as well.
Concierge desk had good suggestions.
Perhaps because I had also booked a limo pickup from the airport, when I arrived I was already checked in and escorted by "Twee" by golf cart to my room. She suggested a $60 a night upgrade for breakfast buffet, and access to the Business Center for computer access and nightly Happy Hour and all day snacks. A bit pricey but overall worth it!
Unlike previous posts, I found all staff interactions positive and English understandable,,,hey it's their country and can't expect perfect diction!
Had a massage out by the pool which was lovely too.
Would definitely come back,,,,if I had a compelling reason to return to Vietnam.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imfortun8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_Manager-ICH, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Hanoi Westlake, responded to this review, May 6, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback, we appreciate the comments.

Please do let us know if we can assist in any other way

Regards

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
2.7 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
0.8 mi away
Pan Pacific Hanoi
Pan Pacific Hanoi
#81 of 588 in Hanoi
1,753 reviews
4.7 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Hanoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery by Sofitel
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Hanoi Hotel
Sheraton Hanoi Hotel
#88 of 588 in Hanoi
1,417 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#94 of 588 in Hanoi
2,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Hanoi Westlake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hanoi Westlake

Property: InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
Address: 5 Tu Hoa street | Tay Ho District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#13 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#27 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#36 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Hanoi Westlake 5*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new InterContinental Westlake Hanoi overlooks the 800-year-old Golden Lotus Pagoda on Hanoi's largest lake. It is the only hotel in Vietnam to be featured on Condé Nast Traveler s 2008 Hot List, garnering the honour for a sublime waterfront locale. The historic city centre is within a 10-minute ride, as is a wide range of shopping and cultural venues. The hotel is just 40 minutes by taxi from Noi Bai International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Hanoi Westlake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Hanoi Westlake Hotel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing