We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
Nearby Hotels
$142
$121
JW Marriott
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$176
$112
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$218
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$35
$34
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$38
$37
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel(Hanoi)(Great Value!)
$29
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$54
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Luxury Hotel(Hanoi)(Great Value!)
$48
$37
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$47
$34
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,510)
Filter reviews
2,510 results
Traveler rating
1,420
777
202
65
46
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,420
777
202
65
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunset barmain buildingwest lakesaigon restaurantcafe du lacthe club loungelake viewpillow menuold quarterbeautiful hotela short taxi ridebreakfast buffetstar hotelthe hustle and bustleupgraded to a suiterooms are largebusy city
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,113 - 1,118 of 2,510 reviews
Reviewed June 28, 2014

This hotel is unique in Hanoi, it is a resort that you would not normally find in a city. If you are interested in lounging around the pool all day and other resort activities, then this hotel is great. If you prefer to explore Hanoi, it is not within walking distance of areas such as the old town and French quarter, which is where most other five star hotels are. Although, taxis are cheap and easy to get.

The rooms are big and well appointed. Service is excellent. There are good bars and restaurants at the hotel. Nice swimming pool. Very hard to fault this place.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matthew f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_Manager-ICH, General Manager at InterContinental Hanoi Westlake, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Dear Matthew F,

Thank you for sharing your stay experience at InterContinental Hanoi Westlake.
I am happy that we can meet your expectations. Our hotel has a unique location in the city which offers our guest an amazing beautiful panorama of the West Lake.
I will share this with my team to recognize their efforts.
We are looking forward to serving you in the future.

Adam McDonald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

This is probably best hotel to stay in Hanoi a.Staff is extremely polite and more than willing to help. part of hotel rooms are over west lake Hanoi so view is breath taking.Food at restaurant is excellent and reasonably priced for 5* hotel ,I guess its true for Vietnam in general .most surprising is exchange rate offered by hotel for local currency ,unlike other hotels who try to make money on cross currency rates this one gives rates which are closest to bank rates .

Room Tip: Always book room with over water pavillion
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chhatwalks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_Manager-ICH, General Manager at InterContinental Hanoi Westlake, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Dear chhatwalks,

Thank you for great comment for InterContinental Hanoi Westlake. It is a pleasure to have you staying with us.
We set high standards to ourselves as we believe our lovely guests deserve the best service.

I am looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Adam McDonald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Just stayed two nights with whole family (2 adults + 3 kids under 12 yrs) and really enjoyed the stay in this great hotel. Since we arrived till we left the hotel, personnel's service was excellent. Always with great attitude and nice smile give really good image of hotel's team. And not just an image, but the service was simply super!

We stayed in the 2 bedroom residence room in the last "island", and we really recommend those rooms to make your stay very pleasant. The location of the hotel is ok, few restaurants and shops around and just 10 minutes taxi drive to the centre of Hanoi. Water park was a positive surprise for us! We expected less reading previous comments, but kids really liked that and being almost only foreigners you feel funny. :)

We had lunches and dinners outside of the hotel in few places, but we also recommend to try & taste hotel's own dinner buffet. Lobsters on the table were nice & tasty! ;)

During our stay hotel even solved one cheating case of the taxi. This taxi was taken in the front of the hotel, and the personnel took this case really seriously, found the driver and returned the cheated money next day.

Once just positive things! :) Thanks for IC Hanoi for the good job - and hopefully see you soon once again!

Room Tip: Residence rooms on the last "island" are great. We had 2 bedroom residence, and for 5 member family it was perfect!
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aneirtov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_Manager-ICH, General Manager at InterContinental Hanoi Westlake, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

Dear aneirtov,

I am very pleased to read your comments. It is great to know that we can deliver the best service to you and your family loved your stay with us. We will make sure the continuous quality improvements.
Your comments will be shared with the team to recognize their efforts.
Thank you for choosing us and we are looking forward to seeing you again soon

Regards,

Adam McDonald – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

I arrive at the hotel 8.00 am after flight from UK. Staff were amazing. My double room was not ready so they upgraded me to a twin lake view room ready immediately. Fantastic room over the water with super views of the lake. That night there was a bad storm so ate in the hotel. Great food, had soft shell crabs. The hotel manager came round to see if everyone was okay given the weather. Grounds swimming pool and open-air bar all excellent. A lovely quiet retreat from the husstle of Hanoi. Certainly would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on "stilts" over the water. Look out for the vietnameses swimming and fishing in the early morning in the lake
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank britgalYorkshire_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_Manager-ICH, General Manager at InterContinental Hanoi Westlake, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Dear britgalYorkshire
It was a great pleasure to welcoming you and your family at InterContinental Hanoi Westlake.
We are happy that you enjoy the hotel’s unique over the lake design which brings resort feeling to our guests.
We are looking forward to your next visit.
Regards,
Adam McDonald – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Stayed three nights in Hanoi and chose to visit the InterContinental again. The property is stunning and offers a resort feel, while being located a short ride away from the Old Quarter. As an Ambassador member, my loyalty was recognized and the rooms are well appointed and was facing Westlake, with stunning views during sunset. I also chose to get Club Access which was great to start the day and end with a few drinks.

What was most exceptional was the service delivered by the team. I felt very welcomed by Nga in the Club Lounge and her team did a great job. Also I can't thank the concierge team (Xuan and Hue) enough for making my stay memorable, by recommending some fantastic restaurants and cafes out of the beaten path. Special mention to Xuan who recommended a little gem in the centre of town called Ca Phe Pho Co at 11 Hang Gai. Make sure you ask the concierge how to find it!

overall a great stay and I will surely be back.

Room Tip: Book a room with Club access, it's great value and offers a great place to relax and unwind.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frst_Cnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_Manager-ICH, General Manager at InterContinental Hanoi Westlake, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Dear Michael_Belanger

Thank you for such great comments about our hotel. It is delight to know that our team has impressed you with our service quality and their genuine, caring attitude. I will make sure our Club lounge & Concierge teams receives your recognition. At InterContinental Hanoi Westlake we always put our guests’ satisfaction at the center of our continuous improvement program, considering this as our major measurement for all services. I am glad that you had a great stay with us.
I hope to welcome you back to InterContinental Hanoi Westlake soon!
Adam McDonald,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews