We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Hanoi Westlake

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
Ranked #64 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Came here. Staying for just first few nights to visit family here in hanoi, rooms, breakfast, service was excellent. Had a lovely stay and would return. The views over the lake are beautiful and the whole place is very well organised..... sunset bar is lovely and make wonderful cocktails. Thank you

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amz103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_Manager-ICH, General Manager at InterContinental Hanoi Westlake, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay with us. I am very proud to know that you enjoyed your stay at InterContinental Hanoi Westlake.

We are looking to having you back in near future.

Adam McDonald - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,187
    707
    180
    55
    38
See reviews for
360
867
121
401
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (509)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

I spent 9 nights here. Outstanding service, food and comfortable rooms with large outside patio overlooking lake. Rooms are spacious (large bathroom with both tub and separately stall shower a big plus). Staff are very friendly and very helpful and food is good quality. . Definitely will stay here again in future (on business and/or vacation).

Room Tip: Rooms in units over the lake have more scenic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherri F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_Manager-ICH, General Manager at InterContinental Hanoi Westlake, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
I am very happy that our service meets your expectations. It is very pleased that you love our room, our food and especially our staff.

Thank you for your lovely feedback and we look for opportunities to serving you again at InterContinental Hanoi Westlake.

Adam McDonald - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parrotcay
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

We spent 3 nights there and wish to stay longer. The room is clean with the nice view, the service are excellent, the people are so nice and friendly.
Definitely will stay here again on my next rip in Hanoi!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N0ei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_Manager-ICH, General Manager at InterContinental Hanoi Westlake, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback. I will share your comment with my team to encourage them to bring the best service to our guests.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again at InterContinental Hanoi Westlake.

Adam McDonald - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
82 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

The hotel is nicely designed with most of the rooms would have lake view. There are two main zone; one is the big tall buildings and the other zone is buildings on the lake. I stayed in Deluxe lake-view room type which is the futhest away from the hotel lobby. The view is nice and the room interior is well appointed. Since the buildings are scattered around the area, the hotel has buggy service to drive you to/from lobby/your room. I had bad experience with this service though. Once I called them for a pick up at my building, it takes them 10 mins to come everytime and drivers don't look to willing to service so I stopped bothering them. I walked for the other two days which turned to be fastest than waiting them. Breakfast has a wide range of varieties but just ordinary 3 star food which i think it's very below standard of Intercon.

No wireless connection provided in guest rooms. The room has only internet cable with super high charge.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TONY_TravelLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_Manager-ICH, General Manager at InterContinental Hanoi Westlake, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Tony_travellover,

Thank you for the comments on trip advisor recently, it is always great to hear from our guests.

Disappointing to hear of your experience with the buggies, we do find most guests like to walk and enjoy the scenery out to the pavilions, it is only a short walk and allows them to escape the busy Hanoi life with the tranquillity the resort offers.

I have passed your comments onto the team and we will look to improve the service for those guests who need to use the buggy service. We can always look to improve and your feedback will help us to achieve this.

The hotel does offer complimentary WiFi in all restaurants and public areas in the main building of the hotel.

I look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Hanoi Westlake.

Thank you

Adam McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

Stayed three nights and was very happy with the room, food and staff. Thuy was a delight as she made us all feel special furing our stay. My 8 year old loved the buffet breakfast and poolside dining - the burger was great value.
We spoke to some people who stayed in the old quarter of Hanoi and they said it was noisy and they had trouble sleeping - that doesn't happen on west lake it is peaceful and quiet. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaolinhammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_Manager-ICH, General Manager at InterContinental Hanoi Westlake, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
It is great to read such a good comment. I am very happy that your family enjoy stay with us and you love our room, our food, especially our staff.

Thank you and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and your family again.

Adam McDonald - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel whilst visiting Vietnam, the location of the hotel is the best I've been in, in a long time.
Very good (and clean) room, good size and well laid out. Had a small fire in my room on the first night ( which I put out myself) the breakfast was okay nothing brilliant , the food and drink in the hotel was very, very expensive, way beyond western standards. Got a wee bit tired of being interrupted in the morning with staff at the door wanting to clean the room.
Evening buffet food was very good, pool a bit small but acceptable. If you book this hotel walk around the left corner about 300 metres and you can buy good wine for less than half the price of the hotel. Now to the main point, Would I go back???
Yes but only if I had to

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mikec-edinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_Manager-ICH, General Manager at InterContinental Hanoi Westlake, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay. I am pleased that you like our hotel location and our room. I will brief my housekeeping team about your comment.

Looking to welcoming you back with us.

Adam McDonald - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

We got a spceial promotional rate which included internet (plug in rooms only NO WIFI) and breakfast and 30% off room rate which made this hotel worthwhile. I thought being a big hotel most taxi drivers would know where it is but they didn't. It is out of the main part of town on westlake but you access it through a small alleyway like side street. You could walk to some restaurants on a street nearby otherwise it is pretty isolated but taxis to old town are aplenty.

We were in the main bldg facing the street but overlooking a narrow part of the lake. Since we were next to side streets lots of crowing roosters in the morning. You can even hear them with windows shut and AC on. We got up early so not a big deal but if you are a light sleeper it may be an issue for you on that side of the hotel. Other nicer bungalows (more expensive) on the water.

Rooms are Large with huge bathroom. Restaurants are nice if not a little pricey but it is an intercontinenal after all. Just hard being in a city where you can get super cheap meals then pay upper end US prices there. That being said, the food was great. Pizza restauarnt had thin crust delicious pizza!
Breakfast buffet is a real feast too. Local foods to Western foods with delicious array of juices and specialty cofee/teas as you like it.

Pool is small and shallow but still pleasant to use although getting a lounge chair at times is difficult as there aren't that many. Fitness room large and well stocked with equipment. Spa looked nice but didn't get any services.

Overall geat although when we left for airport the taxi driver we took from hotel overcharged us but he didn't speak english and couldn't really complain once we got to the airport. Obviously that is not the hotel's fault but just something to be aware of.

Worth a stay but you are not in the center of any action.

Room Tip: Don't get a room facing the side street- loud crowing roosters at 5am. Get a bungalow or pool, l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naturegirl70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_Manager-ICH, General Manager at InterContinental Hanoi Westlake, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your time to give us your feedback.
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake has a unique location which is on the surface of beautiful West lake in Hanoi. And we are very proud of it.
It is glad that you like our breakfast buffet and our delicious pizza at Milan restaurant.
Concerning the taxi service, we have a list of recommendation taxis in Hanoi which our Concierge gives to guests. This is reliable taxis and we advise guest to use them.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back with us.
Thank you

Adam McDonald - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
2.7 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
4.7 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Hanoi
0.8 mi away
Pan Pacific Hanoi
Pan Pacific Hanoi
#79 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection
2.1 mi away
Lotte Hotel Hanoi
Lotte Hotel Hanoi
#51 of 578 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#91 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Hanoi Westlake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hanoi Westlake

Property: InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
Address: 5 Tu Hoa street | Tay Ho District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#13 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#27 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#36 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Hanoi Westlake 5*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new InterContinental Westlake Hanoi overlooks the 800-year-old Golden Lotus Pagoda on Hanoi's largest lake. It is the only hotel in Vietnam to be featured on Condé Nast Traveler s 2008 Hot List, garnering the honour for a sublime waterfront locale. The historic city centre is within a 10-minute ride, as is a wide range of shopping and cultural venues. The hotel is just 40 minutes by taxi from Noi Bai International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your InterContinental Hanoi Westlake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Hanoi Westlake Hotel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing