We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful surroundings and great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Green Tangerine

Green Tangerine
Ranked #68 of 2,206 Restaurants in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Beautiful surroundings and great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

We arrived late at night into Hanoi and this was the first restaurant on our hotel's list of recommended places. Initially we balked a little at the prices - they are expensive by Vietnamese Standard.

However, the ambience and beautiful service made it worthwhile.

My husband loved his Caramelised Pork loin, I was not so impressed with the vegetarian turnovers. They were coated in a very acidic sauce and lacked depth of flavour. I would've expected more. Saying that though, the other dish was perfectly flavoured. I think we would return and enjoy some of their other food when we get the chance.

The lunch set menu looked like far better value.

PLEASE be aware that the kitchen stops taking orders at 10pm

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gingamusings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,398 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,129
    710
    338
    144
    77
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
KL
Level Contributor
208 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“awesome dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

awesome! building, food & service....very impressive restaurant. it must be very expensive restaurant in local standard but convert into other currency, and their service, i think it is reasonable. restaurant exterior is very impressive, as well as interior. one negative comment....i wish menu items are more, current dinner menu was limited.

overall, we had a good dining time, thank you for your hospitality.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelhoneybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great food, attentive service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We went for dinner. 2 kids meal, 1 mains, 1 dessert, 1 set menu plus beer and wine set us back by about 60 USD. Now where in the western world would you get fine dining for that price? It is not a place you go for cheap food nor for authentic French cuisine. It's fusion. My mains was pork in an apple purée with mash potatoes and lotus seed crisps. Can't remember how they described it. The kid's meal was presented very nicely too and my kids wolfed down their meals. Portions are not large.
The restaurant is very tastefully furnished. Lighting dim. Great place to bring that special someone

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank HuiBs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“An Oasis in the middle of Hanoi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Having spent an exhausting day visiting the sights of Hanoi we eventually found what we had searching for and were not disappointed.We even got a complimentary cocktail just for going through the door.We wanted to sit outside in the pretty courtyard but the heat forced into the air conditioned first floor..heaven!We were waited on with precision and the food was exquisite the best since visiting the French Riviera.The ambience and decoration felt like we had gone back in time it was great.I only hope we haven't spoilt it for others by revealing our delight in visiting such a wonderful restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bridget P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Very nice lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

A quick lunch while touring in Hanoi. Excellent service and good food. We had lunch outside and had the set menu which gave a good feel of their cuisine. Excellent spring rolls!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nanard37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Tangerine also viewed

 
Hanoi, Vietnam
 

Been to Green Tangerine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing