We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best we found in Hanoi!”
Review of Green Tangerine

Green Tangerine
Ranked #70 of 2,239 Restaurants in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
397 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“The best we found in Hanoi!”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

This is a first class restaurant, with a varied French menu. I'd go back any time. A little pricy by Hanoi standards, but worth every dong. Try the rabbit or duck dishes - stunning. Go early, or book in advance, as this place is very popular. Enjoy!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank EHinOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,418 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,140
    714
    340
    146
    78
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good set lunch and worth a visit”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We went for the set menu lunch today and had a good experience. I ordered the 2 course while my partner ordered the 3 course set and our bill came out to approx 500k.

-The portion size were substantive.
-The beautiful restaurant offered a quiet and peaceful reprieve from the busy, dirty street just outside it's door.
-Service was attentive.
- the presentation of the food was nicely done.

Overall, The food was good and nicely seasoned for the standards in Hanoi, but I will not likely return.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CDSKJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
94 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed this”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Great location in the 36 streets area, in a French villa with an enclosed courtyard. Really innovative cooking, Vietnamese with an international twist. Good service and really nice atmosphere. Not too expensive, although still the priciest place we eat in Hanoi. Mains are about 400,000VD ($20). I see some complaints about the pricing on Tripadvisor, but it easily delivers on the quality of Western restaurant so I don't think you can grumble. Interesting wine list, well kept so drinkable! Nice place for a romantic dinner. Recommended.

Helpful?
Thank HolidayJunkie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Memorable”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We chose Green Tangerine based on recommendations form Trip Advisor and Lonely Planet and were not disappointed. Great food and wine list, good service and overall a memorable night out. We sat in the "laneway" on a pleasantly balmy night and enjoyed the art work and ambience.

Thoroughly recommend

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maconnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“French - Vietnamese Fusion - yummy!”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

After snacking on street food most of the day we were in the mood for something a little different and a little more up market plus somewhere to spend the evening. This fitted the bill nicely! The courtyard is lovely - backlit and candlelit - and means you can sit outside without being on the roadside with the dust, fumes and noise that go along with that. Service is discrete and the table is yours for the night.

We started with cocktails. They offer wines by the glass (We had a nice NZ Sauvignon Blanc and Chilean Chardonnay) as well as a very decent wine menu with a range of price points and most regions, not just France, represented. (They will also decant the wines for you if ask - St Emillion Grand Cru at roughly $40 was very good.)

For the starters, the crab was more flavoursome than the beautifully presented, but slightly under powered scallop cervices - it was served on a checker board of mango, pineapple and beetroot and looked stunning.

For mains, the rabbit done two different ways was delicious as was my partner's pigeon in coffee. Deserts were slightly disappointing but desert wine was spot on and the expressos were excellent.

All in all, we left very replete and happy with our evening!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SarahPhilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Tangerine also viewed

 
Hanoi, Vietnam
 

Been to Green Tangerine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing