We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A cozy homestay !”
other travelers have booked this property
Hanoi Old Quarter Homestay
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hanoi Old Quarter Homestay
Hanoi Old Quarter Homestay Hanoi Old Quarter Homestay
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Hanoi Old Quarter Homestay
Hanoi Old Quarter Homestay
Hanoi Old Quarter Homestay
Hanoi Old Quarter Homestay
Hanoi Old Quarter Homestay
Hanoi Old Quarter Homestay
Hanoi Old Quarter Homestay
Hanoi Old Quarter Homestay
Hanoi Old Quarter Homestay
Hanoi Old Quarter Homestay
Hanoi Old Quarter Homestay
Hanoi Old Quarter Homestay
Hanoi Old Quarter Homestay
Hanoi Old Quarter Homestay
Hanoi Old Quarter Homestay
Hanoi Old Quarter Homestay
Hanoi Old Quarter Homestay
Hanoi Old Quarter Homestay
Hanoi Old Quarter Homestay
Hanoi Old Quarter Homestay
Hanoi Old Quarter Homestay
Hanoi Old Quarter Homestay
Hanoi Old Quarter Homestay
Hanoi Old Quarter Homestay
Hanoi Old Quarter Homestay
Hanoi Old Quarter Homestay
Hanoi Old Quarter Homestay
Hanoi Old Quarter Homestay
Hanoi Old Quarter Homestay
Hanoi Old Quarter Homestay
Hanoi Old Quarter Homestay
Hanoi Old Quarter Homestay
Hanoi Old Quarter Homestay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Hanoi

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Portuguese first
Any
English first
Jacfernan...
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A cozy homestay !”
Reviewed November 15, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

My 1st home stay experience, all this while whenever I travel I would normally choose to stay in hotel and never a homestay.

But Hanoi Old Quarter Homestay really left a good impression on me especially their services, cleanliness, hospitality and many more. All of them in the family ( Luan, Hanh, Hui, and Uncle (Luan's Dad) were very approachable and willing to share with us any information we need as we traveled by ourselves.

I highly recommend this homestay to anyone travelling to Hanoi and trust me, you will not be disappointed with their hospitality.

Thanks again to all the family members at Hanoi Old Quarter Homestay and we hope to be back again !

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 27, 2016
Thank you very much for your recent stay. We are very happy when you enjoy the stay. We do hope to host you again. Best regards. Luan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMKNZ
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fabulous Family”
Reviewed July 11, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
5
people found this review helpful

I recently stayed at Hanoi Old Quarter Homestay with my friends from Christchurch, who have two children aged 7 and 8. Jane has already written a review but I wished also to do one from my perspective

My first impressions of this place was via my correspondence with Do Luan. Mr Luan was extremely helpful and after much correspondence I arranged 2 rooms for us plus airport transfers for my friends arriving from a flight from Hong Kong and me arriving on another plane via Ho Chi Minh. I also arranged a 2 night cruise on Ha Long Bay through Mr Luan aboard Stella Cruises which was very good.

I arrived at the Homestay around 1am and was greeted by Mr Luans father Mr Thuy. Although it was so late he was the first person I saw in the morning also as he is the chef of the outside and prepares a very nice breakfast with Vietnamese or western options on the menu. Despite the fact that he speaks no English he communicates wonderfully with a ready smile and helpful service. His cooking is good too! We were invited to a lovely meal prepared by him which was very much appreciated.

The rooms are very spacious, clean and comfortable and even for those that don't have a bathroom attached these are right outside your door and are exclusive to your room.

Despite the Homestay's central location the noise level is not too loud and it seems to disappear at night due to what seems to be a noise restriction on the surrounding backpackers in the area where the music cuts off around 10pm.

There are many places to eat, drink or shop in the area with plenty of ATMs and a minimart almost right outside the door to buy water and other bits and pieces also. There is also a reasonably price place to get pedicures and manicures which was a nice treat.

This is definitely a family run place with the family living on the top floors and the guest rooms scattered over 3 flights. Everyone in the family is very friendly and helpful and seemed genuinely interested in getting to know us. The girls had lots of fun with the 'baby' of the family a very lively, and entertaining young 3 year old, called An.

We booked a day tour to Ninh Binh which was a nice day out and did this through the family also in the Tour agency that occupies part of the ground floor.

In summation a great place to stay with a very gracious family

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pretty much everything but the family made this for us.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 30, 2016
Thank you very much for your review. Our family is very happy to read all the best words. We do hope to host you again
Best regards
Luan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RalphieG1
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“In the heart of old Hanoi”
Reviewed April 2, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Can't say enough about the warm hospitality we received from our hosts.Rooms were clean and comfortable however the beds were firmer than we preferred.Breakfasts were great and I would have to say you get a great deal for your money The home stay is situated in the heart of old Hanoi so it 's location couldn't be better. Our hosts were very helpful and accommodating. We would recommend this place to all travelers.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 12, 2016
Thank you very much. We are very glad to host you.
We are very happy to inform you that we just changed all the beds so now they are very comfortable. Hope to host you again my friend.
Best regards
Luan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MommaDeel...
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good value homestay”
Reviewed February 1, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Very good communication with the owner who booked us a taxi from airport and a local guide for the day. The homestay is in the old quarter and we were not really sure where we were going when the car stopped, someone magically appeared and took our bags and carried them up a little alleyway! We had a remarkably large room, the owner was very pleasant and we ate breakfast and were invited to eat dinner with the family. The room also had heating which was very welcome as the weather was unseasonably cold. The bathroom was not en-suite but this was not an issue as we were the only room to use it. Remember that this is a budget level stay and we thought it was good value. Owner very helpful in ensuring our pick up when we left went to plan.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 3, 2016
Thank you very much. We are very happy to read your reviews.
Yes, we have some rooms with en suite bathrooms and some rooms with private bathrooms but outside.
We really hope to wlecome you again and more and more guests.
Best regards
Luan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coco V
Clichy, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very quiet, clean and comfortable room in the center of Hanoi”
Reviewed November 8, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed 2 nights at Luan's and we appreciated it a lot.
The homestay is very well located, in an animated and central area, but at the time, the bedroom is absolutely quiet.
Luan was very friendly and helped us with many things.
I warmly recommend this place!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Avec mon époux(se) / partenaire
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 19, 2016
Thank you very much. Hope to host you next time at Hanoi Old Quarter Homestay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Begonia K...
Ubud, Indonesia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location, beautiful family and very new homestay, perfect”
Reviewed July 14, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We were on Luan homestay 3 nights and it was amazing experience. Just after to arrive, we were very surprise about how new is the home stay, very clean and really new.
We were welcome by the family and after one hour we realized how convenient the location is. The streets around the home stay are full of life and so much to see, feel, experiment, eat, look........very convenient to see all the interesting places around Hanoi and on a walking distances.
Luan was so helpful all the time, recommending us nice places to eat, changing money for us, buying tickets for the puppet water performance (we loved it!!!), buying tickets for the train and even going with us until we sit down on the train for our trip to Sapa, it was so nice to know he was there all the time whenever we need him.
Vietnam is not an easy country at the beginning especially because of the language barrier so to arrive to Hanoi and arrive to Luan Home stay and have him there all the time willing to help you it was a really great experience and we will be very grateful to Luan and his beautiful family for all the help they give to us.
They will be always in our heart, I couldn't imagine a better entrance to Vietnam in our trip.
I recommend this place 100%.
Big hug for the whole family!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and have Luan all the time willing to help us in anything
Liked least: We love everything
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 15, 2015
Thank you very much for your stay.
We were very glad to host you and also missed you all. It was really good to make new friends like you. Hope to see you again my friends. Keep in touch and facebook and anywhere you travel.
Best regards
Luan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhanLamIT...
Ho Chi Minh City, null, Vietnam
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A good stay for your trip”
Reviewed May 26, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I did stay one night here and this has been one of the most wonderful experience of homestay in Hanoi Old Quarter where you can feel close to the daily life of Hanoi local people.

The price is not so expensive and we can easily go to the center of Hanoi by walking or driving motorbike. You can feel the fresh air of early morning in Hanoi by wandering around Hoan Kiem lake and enjoy your stay here.

Strongly recommend for homestay in Hanoi.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 5, 2015
Thank you very much for your recent stay and your great review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing