We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Quiet”
Review of Restaurant Bobby Chinn - CLOSED

Restaurant Bobby Chinn
Price range: $5 - $50
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Open throughout Chinese New Year Celebrations for lunch and dinner. We have special set menus featuring both Vietnamese and International cuisine as well as a kids menu and an extensive drinks list!
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very Quiet”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Food and selection was great. Loved the rose petals everywhere. Staff were friendly. A bit too dark in the dinning area. A window would have been nice to lookout. Only two of us for dinner 7:30pm, we were the only ones in the restaurant for about an hour when another couple came in and ate very quickly and soon left...so it was a bit too quite which meant the staff were rather too atttentive and watched our every move! Thoroughly recommend it...particularly if you have a large group and can make your own noise!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    61
    41
    26
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Staff VERY attentive”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Went for dinner (party of 4), waiters were very attentive...maybe a little too attentive, felt like they were always ‘hanging’ around & watching on too much. Plus side was you were never empty of drinks! Setting was too dark...could barely see my dish but the layout was very beautiful & would be a nice romantic setting for couples.
Entree: beetroot & goats cheese salad (the goat’s cheese was covered in nuts, but can’t remember the nut name). This was a different type of dish but I enjoyed it, I didn’t eat it all though as the cheese was quite rich is flavour.
Main: the tea infused porkbelly, this was delicious. The pork belly melted in your mouth & the sauce was so tasty.
Dessert: Crème brulee – 3 small ramekins of different flavoured crème brulee. I really liked the mocha flavour although the consistency was too runny to be considered crème brulee.
Cocktails: 2 words - Passionfruit Mojito! These guys make them the best. By far the best Passionfruit Mojito i’ve had.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Daylight89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly staff, good atmosphere”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

It was a great evening spent at the Restaurant Bobby Chinn. Before the trip, I planned to celebrate boyfriend's birthday at the restaurant and the staff replied promptly to all my email enquiries. Upon reaching, we were greeted with friendly staff and we enjoyed delicious food in a very nice atmosphere. Dozens of red petals were placed on the table and as it was a dark room, customers were given a magnifying glass with light to read the menu. At the end of our meal, all the staff members surprised my boyfriend with a birthday cake and sang him a birthday song. My boyfriend commented that it was one of the best surprises. From the dishes served, we can tell that they are very sincere in delivering the best services and food that they can to their customers. We are very thankful for what they have done and definitely a place worth going!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank katwanxin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious food, sweet atmosphere”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

This was a good overall experience for my husband and me - we found the food to be well-portioned, carefully prepared and therefore great value although a couple of items were unavailable from the menu (annoying, given its eclectic mix). Good music mix and great desserts. We had the fresh viet. spring rolls, slow-cooked pork belly, viet. chicken salad, hot melting chocolate cake and trio of creme brulee. All were very very well executed. Atmosphere isnt as buzzing as it should be but good layout of tables (very spacious upstairs).
Will go again for sure.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arpitakhanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“"Average" sums it up”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Vietnam is a country of such wonderful cuisine, and so much of it can be had inexpensively. So the splurge at Bobby Chinn's should be really worth it, right? In a party of five, we all enjoyed our meals, but no one was raving, and the two who live in Hanoi won't be going back. Dark "nouveau bordello" interior requires lit magnifying glasses (provided) to read the menu. Go for good service; don't expect a hug. But really tasty food can be found elsewhere for less.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GLyons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Bobby Chinn also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing