We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food & tight service”
Review of Restaurant Bobby Chinn - CLOSED

Restaurant Bobby Chinn
Price range: $5 - $50
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Open throughout Chinese New Year Celebrations for lunch and dinner. We have special set menus featuring both Vietnamese and International cuisine as well as a kids menu and an extensive drinks list!
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
455 reviews
288 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
“Great food & tight service”
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Yes I'm a fan so it was a no brainer to go when in Hanoi. It was near our hotel on the lake so convenient. Despite being close to the lake its not an outdoor or al fresco venue which I guess surprised me. Beautiful entrance and greeting, walked up stairs to the very small dining room. It was very very dark, so romantic and not suitable for family dining. We had the set menu which was very good and found the cocktails wonderful! We loved our picture was taken and emailed to us. If you've gone to big flashy celeb chef restaurants in US or UK you might be dissapointed, but after 2 weeks in Vietnam this was luxury with attentive service, think rustic and homely with a western plating of SE Asian ingredients (starch, protein, veg). We had a fabulous night, thank you!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SumoDoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    61
    41
    26
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
perth
Level Contributor
136 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Bobby chins "we wish you were there"”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

What a dream come true going to bobby chins restaurant.....
Drinks at the bar
Then onto a 3 course meal and it was Devine , as was the hummus and bread given complimentary.
It was surreal and if bobby chin had of walked in it would of made my day as we are huge fans.(where were you bobby lol)
This restaurant did not disappoint the food is amazing.
We payed about $118 for 2 and that was with a bottle of French wine. And I'd do it all again....
Next time we want a visit bobby......do yourself a favour, treat yourself and go
Also the staff are a1

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank guildfordians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice athmosphere”
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

The famous Bobby Chinn restaurant surprises with a very uncommon and charming atmosphere. Dozens of rise petals and Ted curtains drive the guest in a magic experience but not so functional for the restaurant.
The rooms are a little bit dark (restaurant provides torches to the guest) and reading the menu is not so easy. The food list is organized in a funny but confusional way and order a dinner is not a really comfortable action to perform.

The food quality is quite good but, at the end, nothing special, to be honest.

The service is a little bit pushy, adding water and wine in your glass even if is not necessary, but this excessive effort by the staff could be appreciable.

The value seems to be not so good in comparison with other restaurants and considering the location.

To conclude, an average dining experience with a superior and particular atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Very disappointing...”
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

We have been here several times over the past 3 years, and well, we were very disappointed yet again... What a disgrace that the food at such a reputed restaurant is so bad, especially for the prices. Fish was like cardboard. Steak wash over coked and tough ... Totally tasteless and obviously previously frozen. We will not come back again, sorry bobby, and won't recommend it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank han0i10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
199 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Very Disappointed”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Heard about this restaurant from friends in Hanoi and wanted to eat there after reading its good and interesting cookbook. The bar area is quite attractive in a euro way. The dining areas are overly "done".

Our food was disastrously poor.... nice to look at but tasteless, cold when supposed to be warm and frozen when supposed to be cold. Service was lousy although there were only 2 other tables of guests. But then a waitress came to snap our picture so we could receive & cherish it on the web! Honestly this was like the Hard Rock Cafe in wherever!

Hanoi has many culinary wonders. Why would you eat here?

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank idefixaegean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Bobby Chinn also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing