We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here”
Review of Elizabeth Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hanoi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Elizabeth Hotel
Ranked #527 of 600 Hotels in Hanoi
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Although this place is cheap there are other places around much nicer for the same price. Manky rooms, mouldy and just plain dirty. Can't believe we stuck the night. Staff were unhelpful and didn't even chance the breakfast because I value my life!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loucorc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 12 of 94 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2013

Have read some of the horror stories on other reviews here. My experience was not that bad but he hotel was ok, cheap and aimed at backpackers/budget travellers. Would agree with the opinions of staff, vey nice and helpful to get you in, afte that forget about it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RM356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Save yourself the pain and just avoid it altogether. At first glance it looks reasonable, $12 for a double room in the heart of the old quarter. But at closer inspection we found bed bugs in the sheets! We were checked out within minutes. I don't mind slumming it but this was just unacceptable. Don't stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kristy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

After waiting for 3hours for 3 double rooms we found out that there will be only one room for 4people and one double room. Room was not in bad condition but we had to pay each one same price as if we were in double room. Staff is the other story, firstly they are kind and willing to help for only one reason - to sell you their very expensive trips (eg. one day trip to Halong Bay for about 42€, we went to this trip for 19 by other agency 100m far from hotel). Than every single day they bother you many times with trips and your program, if you say that you go with different agency in better situation you will hear some swearwords, in worse they will kick you out of the hotel !!! We experienced this situation with girl who acoomodated there but staff threw her out after they realized that she bought the trip somewhere else...

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vlado S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This place is infested with rats. Sadly the staff of this hotel are even worse than the presence of vermin.

We had been in our damp, mouldy room for under an hour when we first heard, and then saw rats run across our room. The hotel refused to give us a refund despite the fact that the room was in pristine condition. The staff also accused us of being "terrible people".

Elizabeth Hotel are also in connection/operate with tour companies such as "Elizabeth Tours", "Joy Tours/Joy Travel", "White Pearl Cruises", "Dragon Pearl Cruises" and "Gold Pearl Cruises".

We booked a tour to Halong Bay through this company(ies), without knowing the affiliation with Elizabeth Hotel. The cruise was absolutely dire. We were told that we would be picked up at 8am by minivan. Half an hour later a young girl showed up and lead us on a 20 minute walk through Hanoi with all our luggage. The bus was over an hour late and broke down along the way.

This meant that we were over three hours late in boarding the boat. The staff made no attempt to apologise for this and we were rushed through the days activities. I was also not allowed to check into my room in order to change into my swimsuit for the very brief kayaking portion of the afternoon.

The food was awful at best and drinks, particularly water, were extortionately priced. We were allowed one small cup of tea for breakfast and when the pot ran out, the staff flat out refused to make more.

In true Elizabeth Hotel style, the boat was also full of rats and cockroaches.

We payed 115 dollars for a three day cruise in which we were treated like animals and felt as though the staff actually enjoyed ruining our trip.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alix L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

we were dropped off in front of elizabeth hotel and decided to stay there as the price of 12 usd for a double room including breakfast seemed reasonable. our room was ok at first sight. however the a/c was leaking, so that the bed was soaking wet after a few minutes. additionally, the bathroom door couldnt be closed as well as the walls were full of mould.

we booked a trip to the halong bay at the hotel as well as the transportation to sapa, both of which worked out ok.

once we came back from sapa, we decided to staying at elizabeth hotel again, due to our budget restrictions. the receptionist told us we could get the same room (as this was apparently one out of two rooms with a window) for the same price as soon as it was cleaned. we were thus waiting from 6am to 8.45am, before he told us that the room wasnt available, but he could offer us one for 15 usd instead. even though we tried to bargain and discussed with him, he kept on insisting on this price. consequently, we left and booked ourselves into apple hotel, which was a great choice. even more, as one of our friends who stayed at elizabeth hotel with us in the first place got bed bucks there!

do not stay at this hotel, as they are only friendly when it comes to paying the bill or booking trips for you. the only positive things about this place are its location as well as the breakfast. there are much better options in hanoi!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guenge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Honestly the worst hotel I've ever been in. Rooms stank, air com broken and leaking. We decided to leave due to the conditions. This hotel truly reminded me of something out of a horror film - avoid at all costs.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Dani D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
2.2 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
0.4 mi away
Serene Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Emerald Waters Hotel Trendy
0.8 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#102 of 600 in Hanoi
2,297 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elizabeth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elizabeth Hotel

Address: No 30 Nguyen Huu Huan, Hanoi, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #527 of 600 Hotels in Hanoi
Hotel Class:1 star — Elizabeth Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elizabeth Hanoi hotel is placed in the Hanoi Old Quarter. That is an ideally location in the heart of Hanoi's Ancient Streets, just one minute’s walk you can reach to the famous Hoan Kiem Lake (Restored Sword Lake- The most attractive place for travelers in Hanoi), Elizabeth Hanoi Hotel offers a modern and diverse range of facilities and services ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Elizabeth Hotel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing