We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting historically inspired restaurant”

Cua Hang An Uong Mau Dich So 37
Ranked #826 of 4,015 Restaurants in Hanoi
Restaurant details
Reviewed August 23, 2016

Very interesting dishes that are difficult to know what they are despite the English text. Tried the fried frog, sweet potato leaves, and fried rice. Fried rice was something like a paella with a very crispy shell and a soft inside that was shaped like an upside down bowl and strangely enough tasted vaguely of popcorn. Vietnamese apple wine that we drank was very interesting, basically just apple moonshine served in a glass bottle with a palm leave "cork". A bit of a novelty experience, but a fun one nonetheless.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank faintasticduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviews (54)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 54 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2016 via mobile

Unique food, upscale pricing, boutique restaurant with good selection of cuisine that cannot be found easily on the street

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank surf_surgery_sufery
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 5, 2016

I get that So 37 is supposed to be a time machine back to the dark years of Vietnam when rationing was common and people were grateful to have some burned rice or boiled yams, but is it really worthwhile to overpay for everything on the menu? To have to pay in cash every time you want a new drink or plate? And to generally be treated badly by the staff because 'thats how things used to be'?

On my most recent visit taking guests there, I could not help but wonder about the logic of the place. We ordered the duck for some 150k and got some burnt wings, the neck, and a bit of the area around the spine. I could only wonder if all the meat of the duck was similarly absent during the war years? And where does the duck breast and the legs go now???

All around, for some vietnamese there are some dishes on the menu that may remind them of basic foods from childhood and for tourists they can enjoy the concept and nice decorations with mementos of the 70s decorating the place, but i must say the novelty wears off quickly......as does the food.

Date of visit: January 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Confused_ExpatHanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed April 17, 2016

We´ve been to the restaurant the 5th of April 2016. That was a Tuesday and so it was not that busy. The furniture and the exhibits were very interesting, all from the communistic times after 1976. We wend there because it was a recommendation in our guidebook an we read some thinks about it in an article of the New York Times and it sounded really interesting and different. It´s not in the old town, but not that far, only a 2,5 km walk from the Hoan Kiem Lake away.

We first ordered some apple wine and some tasty vegetarian dishes. They were served in enamel tableware, what was typical in the communistic times. The apple wine is very strong and more like a schnapps, but made the evening pretty funny. During our dinner a vietnamese customer came to our table and asked, if we like snails. He would like to spend us some snails, because it´s the speciality of the house. So we tried it and it was surprinsingly delicious. After that he introduced us to the owner and we drank some rice wine together. The owner did not speak a lot of englisch but was very glad, that we as tourists came to his restaurant.

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Maggie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed March 29, 2016

Took 35 (thirty five) people in our group out to dinner at State Run 37, and the tab came to USD $250. That was for more beer than anyone could finish, and tons of food, very local in preparation and flavor. GREAT stir fried morning glory, and all the dishes were well enjoyed.

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 416robertm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travelers who viewed Cua Hang An Uong Mau Dich So 37 also viewed

 

Been to Cua Hang An Uong Mau Dich So 37? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.